We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit for a week as a timeshare exchange and had a wonderful time. The resort is beautiful and very well maintained. Location is perfect - walking distance to the Whaler Village and a short drive to Lahaina.

Room: Very comfortable and a good size for 4 to 5 people. Having 8 in the room would be extremely crowded. It did feel a little smaller than the quoted square footage, but that is probably from the size of the lockoff. Having two kitchens and two washer/dryer units was a plus. We were given an "oceanfront" unit on the first floor, but it looked out onto the pool and had a building obscuring most of the view. You could get a peek of the ocean, but I would call it partial ocean view at best. It was nice to be able to walk from the patio directly to the pool. The only negative is that the carpet was dirty with several large spots on it.

Staff: Really great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Check in was efficient and the bell staff outstanding. We made the requisite stop at Costco and Safeway and they brought everything to our room. Concierge was very helpful and the pool staff were super. We received one message for our welcome gift, which we ignored since the timeshare presentation was sure to be pushed. It was quite refreshing to not have to deal with constant calls and pressure for timeshares.

Facilities: Resort was fairly busy but we never had any problems finding loungers by the pools. The nice size of the pools was really great and seemed to give a nice sense of variety. The onsite BBQ's were great and we used them often. They get quite busy in the evening, but we never experienced much of a wait and people were good about sharing. We did find a a couple burners that would not light. The beach is fantastic for both snorkeling and swimming. It never seemed to be very busy and you could always find a bit of shade (if you did not want to rent an umbrella). One other minor item is the parking for the north villas. The spaces are very small and lots of people took up two spaces. This was not to be selfish, but rather to be able to get in and out of your car.

Food: We did not eat at any of the restaurants but used the kitchen often, especially for breakfast. We did dine at Duke's (up one resort to the right at the next resort) which was a little pricey but good. Hard to pass up the view and convenience though. Our favorite was Aloha Mixed Plate behind Safeway which was, by far, one of the most reasonable places in the area. One other note on markets, the Times Market (left at the light toward Kapalua) was much closer and more convenient that Safeway.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will have much better views of the ocean, but may be harder to get unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slacker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review and your recommendation to other travelers. We greatly appreciate it and are happy to hear that everyone here was friendly and helpful. We have taken all of your feedback into consideration and are thankful that you have shared your comments with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again and wish you a wonderful Summer.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,166
    964
    349
    164
    121
See reviews for
1,655
1,449
44
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 5 trips and wouldn't stay anywhere else in West Maui. The one bedroom premium villa is a must. It has a full kitchen and washer & dryer. We always stop at Costco right from the airport and stock up. You can save a lot of money by not eating out most meals. There are bbqs down by the pool. The snorkeling in front of the hotel is outrageous. The other must have on any of the islands is Andrew Doughty's Revealed Books. We have discovered so much in Maui, the Big Island & Kauai from these guidebooks. We took 3 other families with us this April and they all absolutely loved the Villas.

Room Tip: premium rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheyshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa for your kind words. We can’t say enough how we appreciate being your home away from home for your past 5 trips to Maui. On behalf of our entire staff, thank you. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your time with us and look forward to yet another “perfect” visit.
Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were given vouchers with our stay at the Westin Villas and what a let know compared
to the Sheraton's which was a larger selection and much better quality. You can use
your vouchers at the Sheraton rather than the Westin so we know next time that's what we
will do. We did let the management know that the breakfast they serve is not Westin quality.

Room Tip: The only problem we had was this is a non smoking resort and their were people smoking on the lani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stropicfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom villa and 4 of my family members awoke with many red, itchy bumps/bites on their face, body and legs. My 2 year old had it the worst with 9 big red bites on one leg, 4on the other and 4 more on the arm. I called the front desk immediately and they sent up the assistant houseekeper manager who looked at both the beds and after 10-15 minutes of inspecting stated "well, the rooms are good and negative for bugs and those are propably mosquito bites". I was very disgusted at this point as how do you explain 4 family members all waking up with that many bites? Then he further said, that with that many bites, he would have seen a sign of the "bed bugs". I made a call to the front desk manager and explained. She wasn't much help either as I said I wanted a refund for our stay and she said she could not as they would have to have the bug specialist check the room and they will get back with me with the results. We have been very inconvenienced by this and she could not comp. us for anything!! I also asked if we could have an extra time to check out due to all the chaos in the morning. She said, "well we have someone checking into your room". I finnally said....Listen there are bugs in this room and you are checking people in??? I also mentioned to her that our rooms had ants and was not very clean. I think I do not need to say anymore. Very bad SERVICE!!! BED BUGS!!! DIRTY ROOMS!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rosalyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We regret to hear about this unfortunate event and have attempted to contact you regarding this issue and share with you the negative findings from our professional pest control vendor. Please know that your well being is very important to us and that we take issues such as these very seriously. While the meticulous investigation of your concerns resulted in a negative report, we would be grateful for the opportunity to personally discuss this matter with you further. Our Director of Rooms has left a phone message for you with information on how best to contact us. Mahalo for your understanding and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Sincerely,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is our 2nd stay. We prefer to stay in the North bldg, newer and nicer/bigger porches. We love all the pools, just wish the "adult" pool was located more in the sun! The only complaint we have had each time, with no improvement on our 2nd visit! The lack of signage in the hallways. We requested signs to indicate which way were the elevators, lobby, always going the wrong way when located way down the hallways! One day the elevator was broken and a sign said to use the stairway! OK where was the stairway, no signage!!! This can't be approved by the firecode! After getting lost in the hallways several times, I was ready to post my own signs to the elevator. Also the handicap room was wayyyyyy down a long hallway, how do you justify that being "handicapped accessible"?

Room Tip: be sure you know what kind of patio your room has, some are only big enough to stand on, no room for...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cinder838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We always feel like we are coming home when we visit the Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas. It was spring break, oh my goodness, yes, tons of kids the first few days! Early and mid-April might not be the best time to visit! We had mixed rain and sunshine! We had a wonderful room in building 8, room 8510 and 8509, great views! We were above the trees so had a great view of the islands from our lanais. Locals said the whales were there, but we had white caps and high winds most of the time so couldn't really see any whales from our lanai like we have before! Lunch at the pool bar was ho hum, mostly burgers, not my fav. The pool hut staff is awesome as usual, so is the front desk staff! One of the guests was telling us they wished the concierge would also share information about free things to do locally as well, so I shared some ideas with them about things for the kids to enjoy!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. Rooms in the south towers don't have balconies. But they are larger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your outstanding review. We couldn’t ask for a better tagline than, “Love the Villas.” We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with us and other travelers and hope to welcome you back to the Westin Ka’anapali Villas for another wonderful Maui experience.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and celebrated our 30th anniversary in Hawaii--our first trip there. A friend sold us his time share for a week at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas North. WOW! We've traveled four continents and stayed in some nice places but this one puts them to shame. I guess there is nothing that I didn't like about the property. Our view of the courtyard and pools, with the ocean and the island of Lanai on the horizon, were picturesque. Despite all the guests and activity, the spacious, royally equipped one-bedroom suite was remarkably quiet. Our bathroom with the jacuzzi, shower room, and enclosed toilet nook was ENORMOUS and elegant. The large balcony had entrances from both the bedroom and the living room. Two flat screen TVs and the free wi-fi all helped us feel more than comfortable. Hope to return some day!

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms open directly into the courtyard and could be entered by anyone passing by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimVBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Happy Anniversary! Thank you so much for spending this very special occasion with us. We are truly grateful. We hope to welcome you back to Maui again soon.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing