We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay at the Westin Kaanapali North Villas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plano, texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay at the Westin Kaanapali North Villas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We own an oceanfront timeshare at the Westin Villas North. For the last 5 years we have come to this property in January for 2 weeks and we have had the best services and quality stay everytime. The comforts of the villa (especially the Heavenly beds and jaccuzi tubs are great) and the resort aminities are first class all the way. This year we brought our daughter and son-in-law and our 1 1/2 years old grandson with us. The General Manager of the resort, Angela Nolan went out of her way to accomodate our needs and I can't thank her enough for making our stay at the Westin North Villas a stay to remeber for a life time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamilshakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Aloha! We greatly appreciate you sharing your Westin Villas experience with other travelers and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Maui vacation with your daughter and her family. How wonderful! Thank you for your kind words about Angela. We feel very fortunate to have her as part of our ohana, and she truly is passionate about providing unforgettable experiences for our guests. Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Maui soon. Happy New Year!
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,186
    964
    349
    165
    121
See reviews for
1,664
1,454
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,065)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I love everything about this resort, people go out of their way to make sure you are happy. The whole experience was very positive, the restaurant has delicious food all day long. the pools and hot tubs clean, lots of towels everywhere you look. nice cabanas. I am looking forward to go back some day. Shuttle to Lahaina is is free almost every hour.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icreasor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent a week at the Ocean Resort Villas with a couple of good friends and had a fantastic time. The hospitality on Maui is first rate. We enjoyed the restaurants at the resort and in Lahaina where there is fantastic variety and had a great game of golf on the nearby course. We own a vacation unit at the resort, so may be biased, but recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ocean view have the best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

As a Westin Vacation Owner I had not had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas until this past fall. What a treat! It was all that I expected and more! The check in process was seamless. all through my stay I found the personnel in the lobby area friendly and eager to help, whether it was to simply answer a question, provide directions, or to discuss activities for the week. The rooms are well planned, clean and have all that one needs to vacation: a huge kitchen in the 1 bedroom, with a slightly smaller one in the studio; a washer and dryer in both; a lovely balcony facing the pool and courtyard with a limited view of the ocean from where I was located; very comfortable beds; fabulous shower and tub in a huge bathroom. There is once a week maid service to freshen the room and provide clean linens. The grounds are magnificent with beautiful flowers and trees, a well-manicured lawn area, playground space for young children and the beach and ocean just a few feet from the hotel. There are restaurants on the grounds to satisfy ones needs: the Ocean Pool Bar and Grill is located poolside between the two South towers and is easy for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Pailolo Bar and Grill is located in the North Towers area near a pool; The Pulehu Italian Grill and Cafe sports an outstanding Italian menu and seems to be busy everynight. I came in one night after having eaten in Lahaina and wanted some of their sorbet. There was a long line waiting, but when I told the hostess what I wanted and that I was alone, she accommodated me within minutes. (I was dressed nicely, not in shorts and a T-Shirt like many who were waiting. I have to believe that had something to do with the quick service, as this is a restaurant where one should not come in from the beach or trekking all day and expect to eat.) It was the best sorbet I have had! In addition, there is the General Store and the market where one can buy limited food items as well as sundries and souvenirs. There are programs for everyone at the Westin! Many programs are designed specifically for children, while others appeal to adults only and then for all ages. There was ample room for all programs to be held with out infringing on the space of others. Free shuttle service is provided to the other Starwood properties on the island, to Whaler's Village and to Lahaina, the Cannery and Hilo Hatties. Being an owner, I chatted with the sales staff about the property and the options available. There is no high pressure and they are there to serve. Because I had such a great time, my daughter, son-in-law and I are going back this coming June for a week's stay. We anticipate it will be a great week!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We appreciate having the convenience of a nice hotel in a Condo type setting (room service, Spa, etc. ) but keep in mind that the Resort Villas are primarily time-shares. The "guests" bring down coolers of drinks and food around the pool deck, along with BBQ items etc. It seemed chaotic and over-populated every where you went. Good luck trying to find a deck chair after 10am.
We will choose a real condo resort next time or a real hotel that allows guests some solitude. The fusion of the two didn't work for our family.

Room Tip: Ocean view /ground floor are the best but the pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 593Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I am a travel agent and selected this property for my family based on location, condo amenities, and recommendations of people I know who own there. Well....it was quite simply the worst place I have ever stayed. Not for more upscale travelers with no little kids. The building and setting could be in anywhere USA. No Hawaain feel, charm, or hospitality. Examples: couldn't sit on our balcony as so close to the highway, felt like back in LA...cost $100 for us to sit on beach with chairs and umbrellas per day!!!...pool heater broken so couldn't swim once...17 turns in hallway to get to our room- like a rat's maze...I could go on and on. Checked out and moved to the Ritz Carlton- best thing we ever did! Hoping for a refund of our pre-paid last 3 nights. Also, need to mention....I have never seen so many posted rules everywhere!!! Felt like Big Brother...really appalling.

Room Tip: You need to stay in ocean front buildings. Otherwise terrible highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KweenKayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are troubled to read about your stay and would be grateful for the opportunity to contact you directly to discuss the details of your experience that led you to move to another resort. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings on our behalf. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I was very pleased with this resort. We requested an ocean view and what a beautiful view we had. We watched the humpback whales (pack some binoculars) every morning from the balcony. We (a family with 4 teenagers/young adults) booked a 1 bedroom with attached studio suite. Each suite had a pull-out couch. The studio suite also had a queen size bed. We also requested minimal housekeeping service and for that received 10 coupons for buffet breakfast. Check-in was quick and the staff very friendly and helpfull. We did not use the pool (s) as we preferred the beach. Snorkeling is great right in front of hotel but we also walked to the other side of Black Rock (15 min walk) and it was also great snorkeling. I found the beach very busy on that side of the rock and was glad we had a quieter beach in front of our hotel.

Room Tip: Building No 4, top floor south end had excellent oceanview and was quiet. Worth the extra price to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarahwinter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing