We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of kids and families but great location and beach. Expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We came here for our honeymoon, and after a quiet week in Kauai, were initially overwhelmed by all the families and children running around. However, we grew accustomed to it and ended up having a great time - we loved the beach and saw turtles snorkeling right off the shore. The pool was nice though often crowded and it was hard to get chairs by the pool. People seemed to be in the habit of hogging chairs and saving them all day. (The hotel threatened to enforce this but didn't seem to actually DO it. Lame.)

We weren't in the (studio villa) room much, which was fine since it was pretty standard, though not tiny. The kitchenette, however, was basically only good for simple meals - the sink was smaller than any sink I ever had while living in NYC walk-up apartments for 6 years. You could basically not fit a pan in it. We appreciated the other amenities in our apartment (big shower, washing machine, fridge), however, and were lucky to have an ocean view. If we'd had one that looked over the road (noisy!) or the pool (noisy, too!) we wouldn't have enjoyed it as much. If noise is a concern I'd suggest asking for a higher floor. We were in 3427 and could see the ocean pretty well and had no noise issues from either the park nearby or the neighbors (though initially we found it odd we shared an entryway with another unit, but we never saw or heard them once we settled in...)

The hotel wasn't cheap - we had a Starfriends Rate but honestly otherwise may have stayed somewhere else, since we didn't really need the fancy restaurant options. (Also, restaurant prices were expensive - we had an $11 hot dog at the beach bar/grill one day but otherwise didn't eat on site. We went to Lahaina Pizza, Cheeseburger in Paradise, Cafe O'Lei, and Duke's, all of which were quite good and fun changes of scenery.)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rggr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Aloha and congratulations on your very special celebration. We are honored that you have chosen us for this joyous occasion and wish you a lifetime of love and happiness.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings in service or product that enticed you to rather stay somewhere else, if not for the StarFriend Rate that was honored to you. We appreciate your honest feedback and will address them with our staff.

Thank you for your fair rating, as we do strive to provide you with a better, special and unique experience.

We hope to be a part of your next celebration, next year perhaps, for your first wedding anniversary and provide you with ever lasting memories to last a lifetime.

Mahalo,
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,188)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,149 - 3,155 of 4,189 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

This Westin Timeshare property is a good place to stay but does have its drawbacks.

Rooms- the North Tower had new rooms with great fixtures and a limited kitchenette that was good for snacks but not for doing full meals. There is no traditional housekeeping - they come only once per stay.

Service- the concierges are some of the worst I've encountered. All they care about is trying to get you to attend a timeshare presentation. They Do NOT care about helping you plan activities!!!! This was highly disappointing.

Pools- beautiful grounds

Beach- Rocky, not good for swimming, but good for snorkelers. The beaches were not crowded.

Overall, a good resort, but the service is not up to par. Stay here if you get a good price, but definitely not worth a $250/night price tag.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rorothedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments on the drawbacks that you encountered during your stay. Please accept our apologies. We can understand your disappointment and would like to ask if we could have the chance to contact you on this matter. I have sent you a private message with my contact information. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Mahalo,
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I had booked 5 nights at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas from October 15 through October 20th and used EXTRA points to book an Ocean View Room for a total of 90,000pts. The room assigned 3116 had a sliver of Ocean that can be seen if standing on the far left side of our balcony and leaning around a tree. After complaining to the manager I was credited 10,000 points which was the difference between island view and ocean view. Our room was right by the only 24 hour jacuzzi and our nights were interrupted by loud patrons right outside our window. Our third day there, we were notified that there would be a COMPLETE power shutdown of our building from 10am to 2pm that day. Though the power went off at 10am, it did not still return when we finally left at 2:45pm. When I called that night to find out if we needed to throw out the contents of our refrigerator due to loss of power I was told by the front desk manager that the power was out for "three hours" which is a complete lie! We were in our unit the whole time and finally left at 2:45pm, a full 4 hours and 45 min after the power shutoff. This from a resort that charges 600/night? What a joke. The manager stated there were no alternate rooms available as they were fully booked. I also noticed the "cut and paste" standard response from management to poor reviews on Trip Advisor. Is that really how much you think of us, your clients? You can't even individually address any of the complaints? Pathetic!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cath_jockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations to provide you with an ocean view and understand your frustration after spending extra SPG points that you have earned as a loyal Starwood guest. Please know that the way in which your issue was handled is not representative of our standards. We would be grateful for the opportunity to recover from this service mishap and discuss more in detail about your experience. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. Again we apologize and look forward to hearing from you soon.
Mahalo,
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the Westin on our last night of a 14 day trip to Maui. This resort is in sharp contrast to our previous accomodations, which was a small timeshare walking distance to two fantastic beaches near Kapalua.

The Beach at the Westin Villas is quite long and relatively narrow at the same time. The real attraction is the number of pools, the size of the suite, and the overall service and ammenities available to you.

In a nutshell, you have lots of space within your room, relatively good amount of space in the public areas, and little reason to leave the resort.

Our kids enjoyed the pools, and found the beach itself quite boring. The water was very calm, which would be great for small kids and snorkeling.

We started our vacation at the Fairmont, and I would say this is similiar to the size and ammenities there. The pools at the Westin were better, but at the same time, there were alot more people (even though the Fairmont was quite crowded as well).

What took us by surprise was the absolute number of people at the resort. After spending days in sleepy Hana at a private villa, and then at a small timeshare, the size of the Westin and the absolute energy was a little bit overwhelming at time. There is no doubt kids will have fun here. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to soak up Maui, you would either need to go to your suite, or find another place to stay.

Don't get me wrong. The beds were wonderful, the amount of space in the room was great, the view from our room was nice, and everywhere was clean. We did enjoy it. I just feel that this resort could have easily have been in Southern California or Florida. If you are looking for an authentic Hawaiian experience, I would look elsewhere or spend a lot of time outside the resort.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are the way to go
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We PRE-PAID a 1 bedroom DELUXE OCEAN VIEW room for 10 nights. Received a 1 bedroom PARKING LOT VIEW room. Front desk and hotel manager showed us 3 other rooms, none that had an ocean view and hotel refused to refund us the difference. After one month, we are still struggeling with the Travel Agency and the Hotel. Our first 2-3 days were wasted trying to get a room that we paid for. No follow-up from the hotel manager.

Although room service was included daily, the maid forgot to make the bed once and did not clean the surfaces in the bathroom....$20. a day tip is way too much for what we received.

Nice property - lousy customer service from front desk and manager.

Room Tip: Beware.....this is a TIMESHARE...they "reserve" their best rooms for their timeshare owner...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VitaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

Aloha and mahalo for your comments. We are sad to hear about your stay and truly empathize with the issues you have experienced. Please accept our apologies. We would be grateful for the opportunity to further discuss the occurrences you faced. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that we may reach out to you. Again we apologize and thank you for your review.
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed 5 nights and had an excellent experience. we enjoyed the fact that it had a kitchen and we could cook our own breakfast. They also have great dining options if you wnat to eat out. The beach abd pools are lovely and the staff is friendly and well-trained. Overall -a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GardeningBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the North Villas in a One bedroom with an attached studio lock off withour brother and sister in law. The location is GREAT if you wish to be on this side of the island. We have stayed at the Grand Wailea a year ago and found the two sides of the island to be very different. This side of the island is much more busy and you can find a lot of neat local spots. Also, we thought the beaches and snorkling was better. The Wailea side however is very nice as it is much more upscale and has great places to eat if you are willing and wanting to spend even more money. The thing we really enjoyed about the Villas was the chance to get a larger room with a kitchen and living room for a decent price. It was so nice to be able to cook breakfast and some lunches in our room and just hang out. If you are looking for a true vacation where you eat out every meal and aren't in your room much I would not stay here. The property is very nice but I have seen pools with more slides, swim up bars etc. Also, the dining onsite is very limited.

The property is HUGE, so there is some walking but even at 6 months pregnant I didn't really think it was all that bad. The parking is a nightmare for a normal size car or larger but never did we not find a spot. We didn't have that much of a problem finding pool chairs either. The italian restaurant was just okay, everyone seemed pleased with their dished but not overly impressed. I do have to say that the bartender at the Sports Bar and Grill noticed that I was pregnant and made me a local juice drink for free which I thought was really nice and actually made my day. You can also have a photographer take pictures of you out near the beach and you can purchase them for a decent price. One complaint was that our internet was not working in our room. After sitting on hold for 20 minutes the guy simply told my husband "sorry, some places the service signal is pretty weak."

All in all we were impressed and the villas were exactly what we were looking for for this vacation.

Room Tip: The North side seems better for people without kids. We stayed in building 8 in rooms 8210 and 8209...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine5711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2011

We are happy to hear that we were a part of your “WOWED AT THE WESTIN” Experience. We appreciate your kind words and recommendation to travelers. Thank you for choosing us as your “home away from home.” We can’t wait to welcome you and all your friends to Maui.
Mahalo,
Sulinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,182 reviews
23.6 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $311 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing