We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Best place to stay in Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 29, 2007

This is such a beautiful resort!! We booked an island-view studio condo and were upgraded upon check-in to a partial ocean-view. We stayed in KOR South (the older section, but in our opinion the best). The room had a small kitchenette (coffee maker, convection micro-wave oven, toaster, and full-size refrigerator). The kitchen was stocked with all the kitchen essentials (wine glasses, cups, dishes, ect). There was a washer and dryer, which was great for the long vacation. The heavenly bed was truly heavenly. Also, the bathroom was HUGE with a whirlpool tub and heavenly shower.

The only down-side of the room was the balcony, all studio condos only have a "step-out" balcony...there is not room to actually sit on the balcony. The condo was great for a couple, but I would recommend spending the extra money to get the one-bedroom and the full balcony (all rooms with the exception of studios have full balconies.

The beach is fantastic! The best area of Kaanapali. We snorkeled right in front of the resort and saw sea turtles and all sorts of fish. The beach is long and great for walking. The water ocean was calm and great for swimming. The sunsets are amazing!

The resort had several pools. There is a separate pool for children with a pirate ship. There was also other areas for the kids. This seemed like a great resort for families. My husband and I did not have kids and never felt overwhelmed by too many kids at the resort.

Almost every night there was live singing and dancing (including fire dancing and hula).

We had a great time in Maui and will be returning to the Westin KOR. Great places to eat in Maui: Okazuya Deli (take-out food from the former chef of Mama's Fish House...5 min from Westin KOR, by Star Market). Hula Grill is fun with live singing. Sensei's in Kihei or Kapalua is great and has a "reverse happy hour".

Stayed: October 2007
12  Thank Shea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,095 - 4,101 of 4,352 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2007

I booked the Westin Villas based on reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and unfortunately, I really did not enjoy this hotel. The Villas seem really geared towards families with small children - the pool on the property is dominated by a water slide and when you walked out of our building there was a large kiddie pool wil a pirate ship in the middle of it. Neat if you are 5, but not what you want for a romantic getaway.
The service at this hotel was pretty bad. Among other things, the first night there we went to use the jacuzzi in our room and it didn't work. We called and it took close to two hours to have someone come and fix it.
Also, I reccomend you stay away from the "concierge." The real reason they are there is to try to get you to buy timeshares. This was pretty disappointing to me as when I am on vacation I don't want someone trying to coerce me in attending sales presentations.
Finally, I found the look of the resort to be generic and plastic. The room was nice enough but was it $350/night nice? Not in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank magpie775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

I've attached two pictures of lanais at the Westin. The large one with chairs is what we had in our one bedroom (they upgraded us!). The miniscule, 12' "lanai" is what appeared to be in the studio's. Our room was great, the hotel was good. The 1 bedroom was very good sized, great bed, furniture needed some cleaning. We ended up with a great view of the prettiest pool/grounds as well as a great ocean view. Could have turned out badly because some other towers had only a kiddie pool with a pirate ship or no eating places in the immediate complex. We ended up in room 2319 which was absolutely perfect.

Also there was a great little reef directly in front of our complex with lots of colorful fish about 10 feet from the beach (great snorkeling). The beach was clean, pretty, and uncrowded. We even saw a green sea turtle who lives around there. Food was terrible and super expensive. You'd be wise to good into Lahaina via free shuttle.

Hawaii airlines worked out great - good staff, food, fresh pillows and blankets both directions. No problems

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SanDiegoPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

This resort is absolutely beautiful! It was the perfect place to spend a week for our honeymoon. The rooms are very well decorated, clean and comfortable. We were in a one-bedroom ocean view (building #3) with views of the ocean, pool and gardens. The staff was very friendly and helpful. September must be a nice time to visit because the resort did not seem overly crowded. There was a nice flow of people, including families with children, honeymooners and other couples. The weather was great. We loved the pool and lounge chairs. One bummer was that you had to rent chairs on the beach as well as snorkel gear. There was plenty of parking. The area surrounding the resort was very nice, and only a short drive to restaurants and shopping. If you don't have a rental car, the hotel also has a shuttle service. The food at the Ocean Pool Bar and Grill was good, especially for a lazy morning at the resort or a casual lunch after being on the beach. Our room was cleaned every day. The bed was comfortable and there is a cool whirlpool bathtub in the bathroom as well as a shower with double shower heads (my husband's favorite). I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Maui. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LLW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

The Westin Resort on Kaanapali Beach was amazing. The rooms are pretty standard for a Westin...pretty trendy and a great bed. We had a run of ocean room which had an amazing view of the ocean from the balcony.

The pool is fantastic. There are three separate pools connected together by waterslides. There are plenty of drinks and food to be had out there. The beach is then about 2 feet from the pool area and there is hardly anyone on it! Great views of Lanai and Molokai.

The town of Lahaina is about 5 miles down the street and has plenty of good restaurants and stores. The food at the Westin is good just expensive.

The service is great. Use the parking that is included with the resort fee...it's right next to valet and no reason to shell out another $10 or $15 a day.

Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Kaanapali Beach...

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank TKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

From arrival to departure we were treated with a friendly smile and helpful suggestions. We had a large ocean view room - although it could have used a little updating. Food was good on property. Pool, grounds, and all facilities were clean and pleasant. The Concierge desk is helpful - although the wait could at times be long. We felt right at home. Plenty to do for our 17 year old. A good time.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Suzyd1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

I booked our stay in Maui through the Westin Mau Web site, and thought we were staying at the hotel. I was surprised when we didn't have a reservation there, but at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas! But, I quickly got over my anger about the misunderstanding, as the Villas were fabulous and better suited for us! We liked that the property was set apart from the tourist area and string of hotels, and we had more space than an average hotel room.

We had one-bedroom villa on the north property with a small kitchen (granite countertops, stainless steel appliances), comfortable living room with flat screen TV and a huge bathroom with whirlpool tub. A large balcony off the living room and bedroom overlooked the courtyard. The bedroom space felt a bit tight, but I LOVED the bed. The room was nice and quiet, too. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping the place clean and tidy.

This portion of the property had just opened three weeks ago. As a result, the pool areas were quiet during the day, which we liked, and it was always easy to get a drink from the cocktail waitress or find an open lounge chair in the sun or shade. We had sandwiches by the pool one day and enjoyed them. In the evenings, we had the hot tubs to ourselves. The beach in front of the property is well-kept and there's great snorkeling off the beach!

We found the front desk staff helpful with questions about the property or things to do in the area. No one ever tried to sell us a unit.

If we ever return to Maui, we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Audie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.3 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $378 - $836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing