We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This was our second trip to the Ocean Resort Villas and it was great to be back. We exchanged in here via Interval International, which always represents great value but also extended our 1 week stay by 3 nights. The resort is stunning, rooms spacious and it would be hard to find fault with any aspect of our stay. Most people hire a car to stay here and so you're not far from anywhere but there is also a free shuttle bus for those who prefer not to drive. Lovely pool on site, including one for the kiddies and the beach provides a great place to snorkel from without having to swim too far out. Some of the earlier reviews talk about pricey food but it's a five star resort and pricing is quite normal from this point of view. Don't forget that you have the option to cook in, as all the units have kitchens and there are also barbeques on site, as well as there being a wide range of dining options within a short drive of the resort. Maui offers an amazing place to visit for those wanting to escape the ''in your face'' commerciality of Waikiki but also offers a classy place to party for those that want to. Amazing golf on the island too - don't forget to play the Kapalua Plantation Course for stunning views and a chance to play where the pros play. Enjoy your stay - no resort is going to please everyone 100% of the time - it's just a fact - we're all different with a variety of expectations but if you don't enjoy your stay here, then you'll struggle anywhere. Have fun! We won't hesitate to keep coming back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Overseas_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,383
    1,005
    362
    173
    133
See reviews for
1,811
1,550
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Westin Villas. We brought our 15 month old daughter. The room was very large. It had a kitchen, washer/dryer, seperate bedroom, and large balcony. The breakfast was included in our package booked with expedia. The breakfast was awesome. The pool and beach area were also nice.

It is a short walk to Dukes restaurant. There is also a walking path to Whalers Village or a free shuttle. We really enjoyed our stay. We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinderteacher4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We just got back from our stay here and remarked that this property probably had the most kids on it outside of a theme park hotel. The pirate ship and children's pool are both great as well as the waterslide. What really makes this place great is the access to the remote section of the beach. It is never crowded and you have good snorkeling and swimming options steps from your hotel room.

Bell desk helped store our fresh refrigerated groceries from Foodland Farms on the first day before our room was ready so we could head right to the pool and beach. Also, the valets helped put our soft top on our jeep when it had gotten stuck.

Not great restaurants onsite but you can head to Wailer's Village or Lahaina for that in just a few minutes. Also, many people made use of the grills on the property to make their own dinners as well as the full kitchens in your large rooms.

I would recommend this hotel to any family with small kids...it was a great enviornment for us where we didn't have crochety old 70 year olds looking for piece and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdudnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Currently staying here and its fantastic. There are loads of on site and off site activities to do. The rooms are very nicely appointed with everything you could want for an apartment. The pools are quite nice - although we preferred the adult pool away from all the kids. The beach is also quite good and had a great walking track. We had a couples massage in the tree house - Stacey and Luis both were brilliant - one of the best massages I have ever had!! There are three on site restaurants - a bit pricey but the food is ok. 10 minutes down the road (south) there are loads of great restaurants with excellent food and not as pricey.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluehadjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Aloha and thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that your stay here has been a relaxing one. I will be sure to send your kind words over to Luis & Stacy and the rest of our Spa Helani team. Your words of inspiration will surely lift their spirits. I understand that you are still on property, please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything else we can do to continue your relaxing Maui vacation. Thank you again for your comments.
Mahalo,
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Spent a week at the Villas with my family. Loved the resort, rooms were nice, modern, well.

Typical Hawaii overcharging for everything. Paid $6.75 for 1/2 gallon of OJ in the onsite market. Not sure how they can sleep at night charging these prices. Same exact product was $1.39 at the local Safeway.

Only serious issue was the maid service. Our room was never made without us having to call to complain. Every day, same ritual...we come back to the room at 3pm, realize they didn't clean our room, call down to house keeping, and they rush up at 4pm to clean our room (hastily).

We later found out that you could opt out of dAily maid service for a room credit or breakfast voucher. This option was never explained to us...but we really wanted daily service.

I am a Starwood Gold member...a fact that was never even acknowledged.

Really disappointing for almost $600 per night

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scootermc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulinn, Manager at The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Great facility – poor service – 4/9
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. As it is our commitment to provide renewing experiences for our guests, we are disappointed to have read your comments that stated otherwise and apologize for our shortcomings. Please know that our Front Office and Housekeeping Leaders are following up with the team to pinpoint the issues that occurred and prevent them happening again. We would be grateful for the opportunity to further discuss your recent stay at our resort in hopes we can restore your faith in us. I have sent you a private message requesting for your preferred contact information so that one of our Westin team members are able to reach out to you. Mahalo again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Sulinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Bellmen are excellent - front desk, pool staff, store and waiters average at best - given price you expect more. All in all a nice hotel - very crowded - Mexico is a better value.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dozeydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The property itself is very nice; clean lots of activities, close to Lahaina and the staff are extremely friendly and accomodating. We stayed in the studio, which for a family of four was much better than a hotel with two queen beds. The studios are comfortably furnished, kiids stayed on the hide-a-bed. Bathroom is roomy wih separate shower/tub and there is a small kitchen area with stove, fridge and microwave. Very good for breakfasts and lunches; and washer/dryer in the room was a nice feature also.

The one thing I didn't like was the beachside bar - sraff was friendly, food was way overpriced and not worth what you pay - $9 for grilled cheese; $11 plain hotdogs; $17 hamburgers. We spent $80 one night and had very little to show for it. Did not eat at the main restuarant in the facility, so don't kinow how that was. A word of advice if you stay here - walk 1000 feet horth and go to Dukes at Honua Kai. Excellent food, reasonably priced ($28 for prime rib) and don't leave without trying the Kimo's Hula Pie - only $7 and well worth it. Not sure why the Westin bar is so lousy; but with Dukes so close, it doesn''t matter.

Beers are $7 or so; best bet is to buy a 12-pack at Safeway, pick up a cheap cooler and bring your own beers to the beach or pool. No glass poolside, so bring cans.

So Bottom line, do stay at the Westin; go to Dukes for close-in meals.

Room Tip: Most rooms in the North property have decent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aspen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing