We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Lanai!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What Lanai!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

I've attached two pictures of lanais at the Westin. The large one with chairs is what we had in our one bedroom (they upgraded us!). The miniscule, 12' "lanai" is what appeared to be in the studio's. Our room was great, the hotel was good. The 1 bedroom was very good sized, great bed, furniture needed some cleaning. We ended up with a great view of the prettiest pool/grounds as well as a great ocean view. Could have turned out badly because some other towers had only a kiddie pool with a pirate ship or no eating places in the immediate complex. We ended up in room 2319 which was absolutely perfect.

Also there was a great little reef directly in front of our complex with lots of colorful fish about 10 feet from the beach (great snorkeling). The beach was clean, pretty, and uncrowded. We even saw a green sea turtle who lives around there. Food was terrible and super expensive. You'd be wise to good into Lahaina via free shuttle.

Hawaii airlines worked out great - good staff, food, fresh pillows and blankets both directions. No problems

  • Liked — Newer facitlity and North Ka'anapali location.
  • Disliked — Quality of food terrible.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SanDiegoPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,230
    971
    352
    165
    123
See reviews for
1,698
1,470
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,080)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

This resort is absolutely beautiful! It was the perfect place to spend a week for our honeymoon. The rooms are very well decorated, clean and comfortable. We were in a one-bedroom ocean view (building #3) with views of the ocean, pool and gardens. The staff was very friendly and helpful. September must be a nice time to visit because the resort did not seem overly crowded. There was a nice flow of people, including families with children, honeymooners and other couples. The weather was great. We loved the pool and lounge chairs. One bummer was that you had to rent chairs on the beach as well as snorkel gear. There was plenty of parking. The area surrounding the resort was very nice, and only a short drive to restaurants and shopping. If you don't have a rental car, the hotel also has a shuttle service. The food at the Ocean Pool Bar and Grill was good, especially for a lazy morning at the resort or a casual lunch after being on the beach. Our room was cleaned every day. The bed was comfortable and there is a cool whirlpool bathtub in the bathroom as well as a shower with double shower heads (my husband's favorite). I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Maui. We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Rooms, Pool, Beauty of resort, Laid back atmosphere, Not crowded
  • Disliked — Beach chair rental
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LLW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

The Westin Resort on Kaanapali Beach was amazing. The rooms are pretty standard for a Westin...pretty trendy and a great bed. We had a run of ocean room which had an amazing view of the ocean from the balcony.

The pool is fantastic. There are three separate pools connected together by waterslides. There are plenty of drinks and food to be had out there. The beach is then about 2 feet from the pool area and there is hardly anyone on it! Great views of Lanai and Molokai.

The town of Lahaina is about 5 miles down the street and has plenty of good restaurants and stores. The food at the Westin is good just expensive.

The service is great. Use the parking that is included with the resort fee...it's right next to valet and no reason to shell out another $10 or $15 a day.

Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Kaanapali Beach...

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank TKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brockton, ma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

From arrival to departure we were treated with a friendly smile and helpful suggestions. We had a large ocean view room - although it could have used a little updating. Food was good on property. Pool, grounds, and all facilities were clean and pleasant. The Concierge desk is helpful - although the wait could at times be long. We felt right at home. Plenty to do for our 17 year old. A good time.

  • Liked — Beach Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyd1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2007

I booked our stay in Maui through the Westin Mau Web site, and thought we were staying at the hotel. I was surprised when we didn't have a reservation there, but at the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas! But, I quickly got over my anger about the misunderstanding, as the Villas were fabulous and better suited for us! We liked that the property was set apart from the tourist area and string of hotels, and we had more space than an average hotel room.

We had one-bedroom villa on the north property with a small kitchen (granite countertops, stainless steel appliances), comfortable living room with flat screen TV and a huge bathroom with whirlpool tub. A large balcony off the living room and bedroom overlooked the courtyard. The bedroom space felt a bit tight, but I LOVED the bed. The room was nice and quiet, too. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping the place clean and tidy.

This portion of the property had just opened three weeks ago. As a result, the pool areas were quiet during the day, which we liked, and it was always easy to get a drink from the cocktail waitress or find an open lounge chair in the sun or shade. We had sandwiches by the pool one day and enjoyed them. In the evenings, we had the hot tubs to ourselves. The beach in front of the property is well-kept and there's great snorkeling off the beach!

We found the front desk staff helpful with questions about the property or things to do in the area. No one ever tried to sell us a unit.

If we ever return to Maui, we'd stay here again!

  • Liked — Modern space.
  • Disliked — Nothing, execpt for the confusion about being at the villas vs. the hotel.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Audie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2007

A Great resort right on the beach! You can expect the quality beds, linen and service you get at the chain! The check in staff upgraded us to a 1 bedroom, they had a crib ready with lines! I was impressed! THe down side is the food here isn't good! It is a little drive into town for dining and shopping, they do run a shuttle but the times may not be convient. A car is a MUST!
The rooms offer a kitchen as well as washer and dryer which is a real plus with kids...easy to pack light! The pool area is beautiful, chairs can be a tough find if it is busy!
Overall a great spot for a perfect MAUI vacation!

  • Liked — washer and dryer and comfortable bed!!!
  • Disliked — construction
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melisacnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

My wife and I stayed at The Westin Villas as a part of our wedding/honeymoon. The resort was very nice and a lot of the summer traffic had left when we stayed here (8/26-9/2/07). We stayed in Building 5, which is the north complex, and I must say it was awsome. The staff was very friendly and they really take care of you and make sure you are having a nice time.

The room was beautiful. We had a jacuzzi tub, that the wife absolutely loved, and a small kitchen area that we used to cook several meals. The bed was awsome (Heavenly bed) and the room was very well maintained and cared for. We overlooked the small kid's pool with the pirate ship and you could not hear the kids playing with the door shut. It was very quiet and comfortable inside.

Overall, the trip was comfortable and nice and we really enjoyed are stay at the resort.

  • Liked — Well kept grounds and rooms.
  • Disliked — Still some construction going on at the resort...but the noise was not an inconvience.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank presch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas

Property: The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Address: 6 Kai Ala Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-5915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 1021
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Pacific Ocean and West Maui Mountains, makes The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas the perfect island retreat. Each spacious and stylish one and two-bedroom villas include private lanais, full-sized kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Hotel Lahaina
Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Westin Lahaina
Westin Ka Anapali Ocean Hotel
Westin Villas Maui
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Villas
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing