We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kulakane, a very pleasurable experience”
Review of Kulakane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kulakane
Ranked #17 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kulakane, a very pleasurable experience”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed in unit 302 with our friends from New Zealand. The unit was extremely well presented with every convenience included. The grounds were neat and tidy and groomed daily. Judith, at reception, was fantastic. The Unit was well appointed with amazing views. The Kulakane condo is a short distance from a small village and not to far from Lahainia. We enjoyed our stay in this quiet relaxing atmosphere while being so close to attractions at West Maui. Spent many evenings on the lanai and enjoyed snorkelling with the turtles, just a few meters from the sea wall. This was a fantastic location and we highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_travel_Bug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    28
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, tx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We really enjoyed the condo,,,,was right next to the ocean. We saw a beautiful rainbow just about every morning from our lanai, green sea turtles every evening next to the ocean wall, whales playing and even a pod of dolphins while we were sitting on the lanai.
The condo was equipped with everything we needed except food, which of course we knew we had to supply. There is no a/c, but none was needed. The only negative thing I have to say is that the bedrooms are on the street side. Most of the street noise was not a problem....however, the trash truck came by every morning around 6:00 and the loud beep, beep, beep would wake us up, but usually didn't have a problem getting back to sleep. We would stay here again...small quiet place just like we like. The parking & internet was included in the room price, which is not normally included in other hotels/condos.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walstonc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Kulakane, located in Ka'anapali, is a low density condominium community smack dab on the ocean. We stayed in a 2nd floor one-bedroom unit for a week. The good stuff: TRUE oceanfront, not just oceanview; clean, well-furnished unit; fabulous neighbors, many of whom are owners on long visits; fabulous views to Molokai and Lanai; walking distance to grocery stores, restuarants and great coffee; just 5 minutes to busy Kaanapli Parkway and 15 minutes to Lahaina; friendly and helpful staff; great rates! The downside: right on Lower Honoapiilani Road, which can get noisey; roosters and dogs across the street; loud waves if surf is up; small pool, if that is your thing. All in all, we will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We loved it. My wife and I spent 2 weeks there. We stayed in the end unit #201, very quiet, roomy and peaceful. There are 42 units, the views were incredible and every night the green sea turtles came in to the shore to eat the sea grass, they were only 2-6 feet away from the shore. When you were in the room you could hear some road traffic which turned into white noise after a day or two. Lots of places to eat close by and the staff was attentative. For $160 a night it was well worth it. The tradewinds blew night and day from the east coming through our back windows and cooling us down since there was no air conditioning which we did not really need. The humidity was a relatively low 40-60%, the air temp was 84 and the sun was out daily, only rained a little if any. We would go back just to sit on the lanai and enjoy the fabulous sunsets over Molakai and Lanai straight in front of us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnoMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecortez01
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We found the Kulakane (unit 114) after hours of searching VRBO.com. Kulakane represented an excellent value--a beautiful ocean front condo, with lots of recent updates, and genuinely nice people around us. There's a real sense of community in a complex this small, and I'd recommend it to pretty much anybody!

  • Liked — Everything, really.
  • Disliked — It would be great to have some kind of maid service.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ecortez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Excellent in all regards! As a middle age couple, we enjoyed everything about Kulakane. Judith Ann, the on-site manager, is a delight, and goes all out to make visitors feel at home and welcome.
The grounds are well kept, and the property is right at water's edge. Beautiful sunsets are guaranteed!

We will definitely stay at Kulakane on our next Maui visit.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank ridgefieldrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

We love the Kulakane so much because it is the closest condo to the ocean we have ever stayed. You could throw a rock off the balcony and hit the water. It is that close.
This time we stayed in Unit 303, which is a two bedroom and two bathroom loft unit, The decore is beautiful, granite countertops, up to date appliances, washer & dryer, ceramic tile floors. flat screen TV and nice stereo system. The theme is an Asian look, wich is beautiful, but not comfortable. The sofa is large and very hard, the bar stools are hard, the lanai furniture is uncomfortable and impractical. There is not a place to dine. We ended up sitting on the floor using the coffee table a couple of nights.
The views off of the balcony are magnificent. Whales and Turtles were continously entertaining. We pushed the uncomfortable furniture out of the way and relaxed on the folding chairs someone had left in the coset. The living area and Lanai is close to the water, but the bedrooms are close to the road, and no air condition so the windows need to be open. You had better get use to waking up at sunrise, because the garbage trucks come at that time every day as well with a lot of traffic. I found wax swimmer's ear plugs most benificial. There is one very comfortable oversized chair in the livingroom which has a twin pull out bed. One lucky person can sleep on that and only hear the waves every night.
The pool is very small and a lot of clorine. We avoided that and hung out on the beach just left of the property, and explored larger beaches in the area. I recommend buying beach chairs on your first day, they are only about $20 at the ABC stores, and well worth it! Costco has some but I did not check the price. Bring Binoculars, we only had one pair and we were almost fighting over them.
I would stay at the Kulakane again because of its location, but I would avoid 303 and go for a more comfortable, less fancy unit.

  • Liked — It was so close to the Ocean! Clean and beautiful
  • Disliked — No dining table, uncomfortable lanai furnitue, road noise from the bedrooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kathyfreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.9 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulakane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulakane

Property: Kulakane
Address: 3741 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kulakane 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kulakane resort is a low-rise oceanfront Maui condo rental property offering vacation condo rentals on the beautiful West Maui shore.These roomy one- and two-bedroom direct Maui oceanfront condominiums are beautifully appointed, with all of the luxuries of home. The spaciousness of the accommodations makes them ideal for families or couples on vacation.At the Kulakane Resort, every condo is just 50 feet from the ocean and has a direct, picturesque view of the neighboring islands of Lanai and Molokai and spectacular sunsets.When you stay at the Kulakane Resort, you can do it all or do nothing at all! Watch the whales, dolphins and sea turtles up close while relaxing at our oceanside pool, beach, or from your private lanai.Our oceanfront condo rentals are located on grounds featuring elegant gardens, gas grills, on-site laundry, free parking and free wireless Internet access throughout the complex. First class golf courses, fine dining, night life and shopping at Kaanapali Village and Lahaina are just a five-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Kulakane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulakane Hotel Lahaina
Kulakane Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing