We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
85
33
7
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
33
7
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconch shellspupu partyconch blowingbeach chairspupusturtle watchingair flowevery morningocean wavesthe ground floorboogie boardsliving roomscreen doornice beachsmall kitchenfamily vacationpotluck
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 133 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We really enjoyed the condo,,,,was right next to the ocean. We saw a beautiful rainbow just about every morning from our lanai, green sea turtles every evening next to the ocean wall, whales playing and even a pod of dolphins while we were sitting on the lanai.
The condo was equipped with everything we needed except food, which of course we knew we had to supply. There is no a/c, but none was needed. The only negative thing I have to say is that the bedrooms are on the street side. Most of the street noise was not a problem....however, the trash truck came by every morning around 6:00 and the loud beep, beep, beep would wake us up, but usually didn't have a problem getting back to sleep. We would stay here again...small quiet place just like we like. The parking & internet was included in the room price, which is not normally included in other hotels/condos.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walstonc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

Kulakane, located in Ka'anapali, is a low density condominium community smack dab on the ocean. We stayed in a 2nd floor one-bedroom unit for a week. The good stuff: TRUE oceanfront, not just oceanview; clean, well-furnished unit; fabulous neighbors, many of whom are owners on long visits; fabulous views to Molokai and Lanai; walking distance to grocery stores, restuarants and great coffee; just 5 minutes to busy Kaanapli Parkway and 15 minutes to Lahaina; friendly and helpful staff; great rates! The downside: right on Lower Honoapiilani Road, which can get noisey; roosters and dogs across the street; loud waves if surf is up; small pool, if that is your thing. All in all, we will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryPat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We loved it. My wife and I spent 2 weeks there. We stayed in the end unit #201, very quiet, roomy and peaceful. There are 42 units, the views were incredible and every night the green sea turtles came in to the shore to eat the sea grass, they were only 2-6 feet away from the shore. When you were in the room you could hear some road traffic which turned into white noise after a day or two. Lots of places to eat close by and the staff was attentative. For $160 a night it was well worth it. The tradewinds blew night and day from the east coming through our back windows and cooling us down since there was no air conditioning which we did not really need. The humidity was a relatively low 40-60%, the air temp was 84 and the sun was out daily, only rained a little if any. We would go back just to sit on the lanai and enjoy the fabulous sunsets over Molakai and Lanai straight in front of us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnoMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We found the Kulakane (unit 114) after hours of searching VRBO.com. Kulakane represented an excellent value--a beautiful ocean front condo, with lots of recent updates, and genuinely nice people around us. There's a real sense of community in a complex this small, and I'd recommend it to pretty much anybody!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ecortez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Excellent in all regards! As a middle age couple, we enjoyed everything about Kulakane. Judith Ann, the on-site manager, is a delight, and goes all out to make visitors feel at home and welcome.
The grounds are well kept, and the property is right at water's edge. Beautiful sunsets are guaranteed!

We will definitely stay at Kulakane on our next Maui visit.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank ridgefieldrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews