We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific experience right on the water !”
Review of Kulakane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kulakane
Ranked #16 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Terrific experience right on the water !”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Kulakane is a 70's era condo that sits right on the water. The newer resorts on Maui are not close to the water. The rooms of these newer resorts are even further back. Not the Kulakane. You could toss a dried palm frond from your lanai and hit the water from any room. A little dated but very clean and very well maintained property. This is really a gem in Maui. You can walk to breakfast, stores etc. Beach is not perfect here but seeing turtles every day at the sea wall is a great experience as are the sunsets and the blowing of the conch shells. Debbie, the manager is very helpful and helped me with some printing issues. She is terrific. I would highly recommend this to any couple are small family.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two "double wide rooms" (#209) and had an expansive view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PogoSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassygirl2011, Public Relations Manager at Kulakane, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Mahalo for the review and visiting with us!! One of the most frequent questions we hear is from potential guests wondering how close we REALLY are to the ocean. Your review can't make it more clear - each unit is right on the ocean! That's one of the things that makes it so special. We hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    28
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Aloha! We are here now as I type this review from the lanai of unit 213. The pictures are exactly what you get when you come to this condo. We, like the owners will not ever stay anywhere in Maui that is not directly ocean front. We love the sound of the crashing waves to lull us to sleep at night and this unit does not disappoint. Just because the bedroom is in the back of the unit, do not assume you will not hear the surf, it can be heard loud and clear!

The complex is very well maintained with lush plants and flowers, we especially like the BBQ area that has many potted plants and an herb garden for use in cooking.

The parking lot and back of the complex is right on the street but thus far we have not been bothered by any street noise whatsoever. Others have noted loud roosters but we barely noticed them. Let me just say they were no louder (and actually quieter) here than any other condo we have stayed on Maui
The ceiling fans in the unit cool things nicely, as a matter of fact when it gets warm on the lanai in the late afternoon it is still nice and cool inside. We were here in March so time of year may change that.

This unit is comfy, clean, quaint and nicely decorated. It has not had a major upscale renovation but is still really nice, and I am pretty picky!

The Friday night pupu's and cocktails with other residents was fun. Everyone brings a dish and their own drink. It was certainly enough for us for dinner.

The owners and staff are very responsive and nice. When we arrived, on the board at the office was a sign welcoming my husband and I and wishing us happy anniversary. There was also a bottle of champagne waiting inside, personalized with a label with our names on it and a box of macadamia nut Caramacs! What nice personal touches that have made our stay so wonderful!

The condo is very close to shopping, Times Market and the Farmers Market health food store (which also has an outdoor farmers market MW&F mornings). It is also close to the Fish Market and Honokowai Okazuya Deli, which both get high marks for their wonderful fish.

Just up the road 5 or so minutes is Napili bay and to the south is Kaanapali (8-10 minutes) which has every kind of restaurant and shopping you could want.

Overall this is a wonderful place for 2, for us it would be a bit small for any more but then again we spend a lot of time in the condo......or actually on the lanai watching the water.

Speaking of the water, we have seen so much whale activity we are amazed. This morning a juvenile did 42 tail slaps in a row only stopping twice for air.....what a treat. We have also seen many, many breaches and I cant leave out the turtles that come right up to the sea wall just mere feet away and stay for hours.
Aloha!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryannmgointomaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassygirl2011, Owner at Kulakane, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your trip! Thank you for confirming that we truly are a completely oceanfront property; that is one of the best features of the Kulakane, and it is at a very affordable price as compared to the major resorts. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is our second year here. Many here have been coming for over 10 years. Pu Pu party every Friday night. Very relaxed, just bring anything in your fridge (cheese and crackers) We had our two married kids come this year. They had a 3rd floor unit, like a little 2 floor town house with two bedrooms. All units fully equipped. Only 41 units and all look onto the ocean and about 50 feet from the ocean. Have been here 2 weeks and everyday we sit on the lanai and watch whales breaching. Great snorkeling and beaches only minutes away and can get there by bus if you don't have a car. Snorkeling out front is ok but a bit ruff. Tons of turtles to see out front. Pool here is just for cooling off or kids to paddle in (so small) and some traffic noise at night as close to the road but neither an issue for us. We think the price for what you get in Maui is amazing. We did not have a car last year and were able to get anywhere on the island by bus. Some waiting mind you but we were on holidays! Aloha.

Room Tip: Corner units are more spacious. Total condo only 3 floors high so no elevator. All units look onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassygirl2011, Owner at Kulakane, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Mahalo for staying with us at the Kulakane, and thank you for the great review. We do have many guests return each year to stay with us, so we encourage you to book early when you plan your return trip. This is especially important during the high season, which runs from December through April. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our first visit to Kulakane, but will not be our last. Stayed at the recommendation of friends who have stayed here in the past. We have to send them a case of wine as a "Thank you". A great location, great staff, great room, and outstanding views and location.

We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiadawg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassygirl2011, Owner at Kulakane, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We completely agree - a week really is too short! We are so glad you had a great time. Mahalo for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I really enjoyed the Kulakane and would stay there again. We had a two bedroom, two bath loft on the 3rd floor. It was far more space, at far less money than we could have gotten at a hotel.

I usually had the pool to myself, but happily shared my ocean swim time with turtles. The view and sunset were breathtaking. I loved their ritual of blowing conch shells at sunset.

The only drawback was the early wake-up "call" by some local roosters, but I don't fault the Kulakane for that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassygirl2011, Public Relations Manager at Kulakane, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Mahalo for visiting with us! So glad you enjoyed the Kulakane. We would love to have you back again! Please keep in mind that the Winter/Spring is high season, so book early to ensure your preferred suite. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kulakane in unit 108 from Dec 17-27, 2012. It was just lovely! Sherri and Leo, the folks that look after this unit and others, obviously care very much about their guests. The condo was better than expected and perfectly clean. The other renters and owners in this complex were just wonderful! The Friday night potluck was so lovely and unexpected! And the evening conch ceremonies were so great. We loved walking to the coffee shop & farmer's market and the beach. We drove around the island and found the location of the Kulakane to be a great homebase. The pool is tiny and chilly, but great for kids. The turtles, whales,. rainbows and sunsets were almost too good to be true. Thank you for the great stay. We would recommend this condo to anyone.

Room Tip: We loved being on the 1st floor because our daughter could run around yard & jump into the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sassygirl2011, Public Relations Manager at Kulakane, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Mahalo for staying with us at the Kulakane!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at a 2 bedroom unit (#302) for 2 weeks in November 2012. The weather was perfect. Not very humid, great trade winds daily, a couple of showers, but didn't stop you from doing anything. We relaxed and read many books, but also saw turtles daily in the water in front of the complex. We were able to snorkel right out front and see the turtles in their home area. It was amazing and I understand they are ere all year. We also took walks daily either up toward Kapalua or toward the reports in Ka'anapali. We also saw whales and dolphins on a whale search out of Lahaina. This was a perfect location, the unit was very comfortable for 4 adults. The weekly FridY night "pupu party" with all staying was a fun bonus!!

Room Tip: The units have basically the same layout with a few larger ones. We did not stay in a larger 2 BR a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,986 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,072 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulakane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulakane

Property: Kulakane
Address: 3741 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kulakane 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kulakane resort is a low-rise oceanfront Maui condo rental property offering vacation condo rentals on the beautiful West Maui shore.These roomy one- and two-bedroom direct Maui oceanfront condominiums are beautifully appointed, with all of the luxuries of home. The spaciousness of the accommodations makes them ideal for families or couples on vacation.At the Kulakane Resort, every condo is just 50 feet from the ocean and has a direct, picturesque view of the neighboring islands of Lanai and Molokai and spectacular sunsets.When you stay at the Kulakane Resort, you can do it all or do nothing at all! Watch the whales, dolphins and sea turtles up close while relaxing at our oceanside pool, beach, or from your private lanai.Our oceanfront condo rentals are located on grounds featuring elegant gardens, gas grills, on-site laundry, free parking and free wireless Internet access throughout the complex. First class golf courses, fine dining, night life and shopping at Kaanapali Village and Lahaina are just a five-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kulakane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulakane Hotel Lahaina
Kulakane Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing