We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Spankys Riptide

Spankys Riptide
Ranked #102 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
536 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Local Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This restaurant is an average bar which serves tourist but mostly the local crowd. The service was ok. The food was average bar food. Nothing bad but nothing spectacular! I was a bit concerned with the 3 big dogs that were running around inside the restaurant. They were friendly, but the one begging at our table was soaking wet!! I like dogs, but I could have done with out the wet dogs in a restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A MUST do in Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is as relaxed and friendly a place as you can get. Is a semi locals watering hole type place with tourists warmly welcomed. The Hawaiian people are always warm and welcoming, but this place goes above and beyond. It became our every day happy Hr stop. Drink prices are the best we found. About the only think you can't do in the bar is smoke . You can bring your dog. Let him/her have a beer with you seated at/on a table, be a male in only a thing playing pool, enjoy a top shelf drink deck out head to toe in overpriced Tommy Bahama duds, Etc.. If it is legal and don't bother any anyone, Spanky's staff and/or patrons will have most likely seen and/or done it before. Just a fun place. And a must do is the you garnish it hotdog bar. Spanky's has a huge "kiosk" type thing on the wall with every hotdog garnish, sauce and flavoring known to man. Is a big, good quality dog that will hold a lot of fixings.. The menu has a lot of good locally inspired bar food too. The seared tuna is outstanding. Everybody can find something to eat at Spanky's. The menu proudly offers Franco American SpaghettiOs warmed in a microwave. Our server said she had only served it once...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmc505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Spot in Lahaina to let your Hair Down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spanky's was right next door to where we stayed at Lahaina Shores Beach Resort. The staff there were all amazing to our large group of Canadians!!! The atmosphere was super cozy and laid back. The food is amazing and priced very reasonable. The always have specials and the beers are always nice and cold! If you are lucky enough, you will get a visit from Spanky the dog himself..... such a beauty! Everyone has to check out Spanky's!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tv's, so-so service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stopped in for a few drinks and to watch the final four game. The bartender started out good, but after 15 minutes we couldn't seem to get any service and she stayed behind the bar only paying attention to the locals whom she knew. It's a great place for drinks and sports games, however the service could have been better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fishin_fool15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had a quick stop here, my server as from Santa Barbara, had peel and eat shop that were really good. Allot of local flavor great place

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnynlajolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spankys Riptide also viewed

 

Been to Spankys Riptide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing