We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel unit”
Review of Kahana Falls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kahana Falls
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hotel unit”
Reviewed June 21, 2006

We traded 2 hotel weeks at Kahana Falls from June 1-8, and June 8-15. Both RCI and resort's websites warned us that the room is very small, 276 sq ft. Since we don't intend to stay in the room for too long, we confirmed the request. We don't usually cook while on vacation. A hotel room with light kitchen is good enough for us.

The first week we stay in room 105B. The room is smaller than average hotel room. The bathroom is quite large with 2 basins. There is a microwave, an under-counter fridge, a small bar sink, and utensils enough for 2 people. The dining table is very tiny about 3 feet in diameter with 2 small chairs. When we pull out a chair, it blocks the entrance door. The window is facing the hallway. So we had to close the shutter most of the time.

The resort is in a very convenient location. There is a public beach (Kahana Beach) access path immediately across the street, next to Sands of Kahana. Pohaku Beach is about 2-3 minutes walk.

The second week we were assigned to room 605B. The front desk told us to pack everything and leave in 105B. They will move the luggage to 605B when it was available. The setup of 605B is identical to 105B. This unit has a good view of the mountain. Once again, the window faces the hallway. All hotel room units have no sitting area. If we wanted to watch TV, we had to sit on bed. The furniture layout plan in Kahana Falls' website is not in proportion that gave us a false impression. Our neighbor occupied a studio unit. By combining the studio and the hotel room, they form a one bedroom unit. The studio is quite roomy because it contains a pull out bed. It also has a lanai and a good size of dining table with 4 chairs, a full kitchen and a dishwasher.

We don’t mind to go back to Kahana Falls. If we have a choice, we would request a studio or a one bedroom unit. But a hotel room is just fine for us too.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Stag88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    168
    67
    40
    46
See reviews for
110
227
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2006

We knew we were going to be in a very small room, but were taken aback when we walked in. It is SO TINY. The door when opened, hit the chair, and there was barely room between the bed and the kitchen to stand. And NO window. Well, that's not exactly true. The window was about 1.5 feet high, and 5 feet or so long, with shutters, but looked out onto the hallway by the parking lot.

The bathroom was GREAT! Huge big jacuzzi tub, 2 sinks, and Lots of room!!

All that being said, the grounds were beautiful, as stated by many others. Waterfalls cascading into the pools, and lots of lush gardens. Two Barbeques were available, and there were laundry facilities in a separate building.

The concierge staff were very helpful - attended the welcome orientation meeting and booked a couple of activities.

I called this "room" the Dungeon in Paradise. So, if you can get one of the larger rooms do so. But I'd still go back even if it was the only room available again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sierrasue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2006

Maui is the best and what makes partly makes it so is the Kahana Falls. A timeshare place that's a cut about the rest with a great staff, super accomodation, great grounds and a free form pool that while not big (in fact, tiny) is a joy to behold. If you're an architect then go to this place to see how many buildings can be squeezed into so little space and it doesn't look crowded. Be warned that there is no ocean view and there's a bit of noise from the constant plane traffic at the airport only a couple of blocks away but then you'll want to get in your rental car and drive down to where ten of the worl'ds best beaches are located south of Kihei and Wailea, particularily Makena (big and little) and Ulua beaches. Enjoy your trip to Kahana Falls and Maui.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kapulanikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2006

What a wonderful resort this was. We stayed here 4/13/06-4/20/06. We we in the 2 bedroom/2 bath on the bottom level (Aloha tower) that had a great pool view. We didn't spend much time in our room, but it was a great place to sleep, shower and relax. We loved the sand bottomed jacuzzi and the pool which was surrounded by waterfalls. Paradise!! We participated in the free Hula workout but missed the lei making, boohoo. Our hula teacher invited us to watch her free show at the Ka'Anapali beach resort, it was fun.
You recieve a mid week cleaning, they do the dishes, change sheets, more towels, ect. We also had to vacate one day for a few hours, ug, for the bug lady. We did have p--- ants in the bathrooms. Still saw some after the bug spray, no biggie. We live in Florida and are used to those critters. Our only complaint was that during two of our daily towel exchanges the maids help themselves to my Pineapple Wine in the fridge (I noticed two long black hairs closed in the cork, and my mother and I both have light blond hair) and they tried on my lip gloss (They blotted on a tissue and left it on the counter, and I have never blotted my lipstick in my life) and they tried on my mothers lotion in her bathroom. We notified the front desk and they are going to investigate which maids cleaned our room on those days. So to detour them the rest of our vacation I locked up my toiletries and jewelery in the safe and went ahead and finished my wine. Kathleen the concerge was so helpful. They cut you a small discount and help out with dinner reservations and activities. Mom left her a Thank you card. Overall we really loved our resort and location. JJust make sure you lock up your personal unless you want somebody snooping. Or better yet, just put the "Do Not Disturb" on the door.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2006

We came from staying at the Sheraton & Wailea Marriott so at first I was unsure!

We had a one bedroom 640 square ft room. The boys slept on the pullout couch which was big enough but very uncomfortable. It was nice to have the room for a week.

The room was not fancy, but it was fine. It had everything in it that we needed for the week. (e.g. laundry soap etc)Nothing gross about it except when we bought groeries we found a few bugs & ants come out on the cupboard so we just kept all food in the fridge. Problem solved.

The grounds where very well taken care of. The staff where very nice. It is located in a nice area and we found we liked the Kapuala area so it was close to some very pretty areas.

We would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mauilvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 2, 2006

We lived on Maui for several years and now take a yearly visit back to enjoy the island and friends. We love Kahana Falls. They are in the middle of a total renovation of the rooms and should be done by summer 2006. We stayed in the 2 bedroom lockout this time and it was perfect for 4 people. Its location in wonderful-walking to shopping and dining and a short drive to the large market. Lahaina and Kaanapali is just a few minutes by car. The complex is also very quiet and peaceful and the staff has been very accomodating and friendly. Can't believe another reviewer found the staff lacking. There is a small beach across the street--but get in your car and find the beautiful beachs all along the Maui coast. Just a short distance away is Napili with gorgeous sand beaches.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2005

Because of some of the negative reviews on here, I was very nervous about visiting Kahana Falls. It turned out that I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and efficient. We had a one bedroom unit with daily maid service. No bugs. There is public access to the beach across the street, and the beach is sand, not rocks. There is a great coffee shop within walking distance, as well as various other types of restaurants. The place is beautifully landscaped and the pool is small, but nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank stayput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
3.0 mi away
Maui Eldorado
Maui Eldorado
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Falls

Property: Kahana Falls
Address: 4260 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9308
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kahana Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kahana Falls rests just steps from the beach on the west coast of Maui. Enjoy the lush landscaping, splashing waterfalls and wonderful amenities of this tropical resort. Each one- and two-bedroom unit offers a partial or full kitchen, air conditioning, lanai and much more. Our on-site activities desk will help you see the best of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kahana Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Falls Lahaina
Kahana Falls Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Falls Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing