We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great beach”
Review of Ka'anapali Beach

Ka'anapali Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.53*
and up
West Maui Snorkeling Adventure
Ranked #1 of 124 things to do in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the best beaches in Maui, a favorite for relaxation as well as water sports.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“What a great beach”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Water is warm and crystal clear especially down the Sheraton end
Crowded on the beach but why not share such a beautiful location with others

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,833
    1,480
    335
    61
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
478 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Signature Beach....”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This beach defines West Maui...Black Rock on one end and endless sand on the other. The day we spent here the beach was sparsely occupied for such a popular beach. Snorkeling around Black Rock we saw 4-5 large turtles and many big fish. It was over 90 degrees the day we visited with little wind. What made the experience enjoyable was the staff at the Sheraton renting out their umbrellas and chairs...all we had to do was listen to the endless waves and enjoy the view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Takarehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite Beach”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

we love staying on the beach in Ka'anapali. There is over a mile of varied beaches connected by a a safe walkway. On the Sheraton end are great body surfing waves and some of the best snorkeling areas on the Island. Yes the green turtles swim there..Do not touch or bother. Dec thru March., the Humpback whales are in plentiful evidence. You are greeted with great whale shows off your balcony or while beach combing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ByBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise with turtles!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa on Ka'anapali beach. Spectacular view of Lanai and Molokai! Cliff divi9ng off of Black Rock and 2 Massive Sea Turtles swimming by to check out all us tourists. It was quite a site to see them. At least 5-6 feet long and 4-5 feet wide. You can look but don't touch! $10,000.00 fine!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank esegrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend a day”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We took the free shuttle to the Whalers village and walked through to the beach and found a place in the shade. We just lay in the sand because the sunbeds were about $40 for the two and we weren't there too long. There were huge turtles feeding off the rocks very close to shore and the water was lovely for swimming. The hotels nearby were beautiful, a very nice place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank amazonlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ka'anapali Beach also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Ka'anapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing