We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great. Don't bring kids. For relaxation only”
Review of Kahana Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahana Reef
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great. Don't bring kids. For relaxation only”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The units are good for 2 people and we have come here for 15 years. Great ocean front views. Very quiet with many units owner occupied. Kids will have nothing to do so leave them at home or stay in Kaanapali where they can find a buddy or two. Average age here is 60 years young.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank billkhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
95
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We just got back from Maui where we stayed at Kahana Reef unit #317. We travel frequently and this was our 4th trip to Maui in particular. We found this property to be the best value on the island and will definitely stay here when we return. The unit is exceptionally clean and updated with modern finishings, including a new kitchen and bathroom. The location is perfectly located half way (10 minutes) between the charming town of Lahaina and Maui's best beaches at Fleming, Kapalua and Napili Bay. Best of all, we could hardly tear ourselves away from the large, private patio situated just 20-30 feet from the water so we ate nearly all our meals there because it was just so beautiful. There is a small pool in the resort and a nice beach right next door with easy access. It's a short walk to stores, restaurants, water sports rental shops, and a fitness center. Although this condo complex is 30 years old (like most beachfront properties in Maui), it's meticulously maintained and has beautiful, mature trees and tropical flowers, so I would rate this unit as 4-star and the condo complex as a solid 3.5-star. We highly recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floors in the most northern building, which is closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NettieVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed 9 days in Room #313 which I found on VRBO. Great rate and fantastic view. This place is older and shows some wear, but it was very clean. What impressed us most was the grounds maintenance and manager - they kept the property looking so sharp. I think a good number of units are occupied year round. People were very friendly here. I was last here in 1978, and now there is no beach whatsoever. You can walk either direction and use public access to walk the beaches on Kahana, though. Every morning there were sea turtles swimming near the wall, and every evening amazing sunsets. There was an opportunity to pay for internet, but we were on vacation and didn't miss it - our unit did have a phone for local or phone card calls. They had beach towels and chairs to borrow as well. Last year we stayed at the Pohailani (oceanfront) and I have to say I enjoyed it so much more, even though it was a studio. It may be because of the brick and concrete lanais, but the sound echos a lot at Kahana Reef. We could hear our neighbor talking and in the evenings we could hear conversations of people out on their lanais - no one was obnoxious, it just gave you a "crowded in" feeling. People would go out by the bbq to use their cell phones and you could hear EVERYTHING they said, especially those who need to yell in order to talk on a cell. The lanais seemed smaller, too - less intimate. Again, our unit was very clean and had all the basics to cook - and it was a great rate. In 47 years of going to the Islands, I'm hard pressed to list off a better cared for condominium property (grounds) than Kahana Reef. Mahalo Nui Loa to the guys who kept the place so well-cared for -- you hold yourselves to a high standard and it shows!

Room Tip: Room #313 had a beautiful view, older decor, VERY CLEAN. Great air flow - good people to deal with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graceisenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We booked this condo not really knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised; our unit (#207) was amazing. It was very clean, the appliances and utensils seemed brand new. It felt like a home away from home. According to the manager we had one of the nicest rooms in the complex. From what I gather, this is an older building and some of the units have been renovated and some have not. It’s kind of a gamble as to whether you get a good room or not. The grounds were well maintained and all the units faced the ocean. You should really have a car if you’re staying here. There is no beach in front of this place but there’s one on either side of the property. Most of the rooms have phones, ours did not, which was bothersome considering I lost my luggage and the airline kept saying we’ll call you in your room. There are a few restaurants, coffee shops, a gas station and quickie marts nearby, but if you want to do grocery shopping you will have to drive. Pros: Out of the way, clean, great view of the ocean and sunsets, turtle viewing, quiet, safe neighbourhood, pool Cons: no phone, no front desk, need to rent vehicle, not on beach

Room Tip: If you have a choice in rooms take room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sport127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and i stayed at the kahana reef suite # 117 for our 2 year wedding anniversary. We couldn't of asked for anything more. The room was beautiful with a brand new remodeled kitchen. The views from every single room at the kahana reef is better than any view you would get from a high end hotel chain.

Everything worked great in our room, it was super clean and the bathrooms were very clean also. The bathrooms looked like they are newly remodeled also. They even provided the "Road to Hana" CD in the room for free. They also provided us with 2 beach chairs, umbrella, ice chest. These items were very convenient to have and was a nice additional bonus to our stay. I dont think i know anywhere else i would rather stay next time i come to Maui. This place is just phenomenal and the grounds that it is on are beautiful and well maintained.

Just wanted to mention that there is no AC but there is really no need for it since you are right off the ocean and get the perfect breeze everyday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We just returned home from a two week stay at Kahana Reef Unit #404. This condo is gorgeous with marble and wood floors, marble bathroom, granite countertops, and even crystal chandeliers throughout! All the furniture and appliances are new and the unit is very clean. The view is incredible with sea turtles peeking out at you in front of the condo and lovely views of Molokai and Lanai! We really enjoyed sitting on the lanai ( which also has a marble floor) and watching the sunset! The manager, Tim, is extremely personable and is quick to give helpful tips on what to see and where to eat. The staff is continually cleaning and maintaining the grounds. We couldn't be happier with our stay!

The pool was very nice, the grill immaculate, and the lawn furniture in great shape. Other units in the condo were not updated like ours, but there was work going on in another unit in our building. The permanent residents were friendly and helpful! The outside of the condo building looks a bit dated, as do most other condo units in Hawaii as they were built in the 60's and 70's. When looking for a unit... Look past that and consider the inside of the unit and the spectacular view that you would be paying big money for in a resort! No, there is no daily maid service, spa, or restaurant on the property, but this is a residential property, not a tourist resort. It is quiet and low keyed... exactly what we were looking for. There is no air conditioning, but none was needed as the Trade Winds were blowing and we were perfectly comfortable, even in the 89 degree temperatures. There are two ceiling fans in the unit. The condo has plenty of cookware and dishes and sufficient spices to get you by. Dishwashing soap and liquid detergent are provided, but there are no other cleaning products or basics, such as cooking oil etc. There is a Safeway store in Lahaina where groceries can be purchased. If you are staying for a long period, there is a Costco in Kuhului. The laundry is clean and well maintained. It does close early each evening, so be sure to plan carefully.

We enjoyed the sights and, especially, the Old Lahaina Luau! It is right on the beach and reminds you of a movie set with delicious food, nonstop drinks, and great entertainment. Parking is minimal, but you can park at the mall across the street. If you are adventurous, take the Road to Hana which is a thrill ride in itself, but very beautiful. Also, make the trip to the top of the volcano and see the crater. Take a jacket because you are 10,000 feet up and it gets chilly! There are many wonderful things to do on Maui! We will be eager to return to Kahana Reef on our next trip!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank offwegoMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We traveled to maui September 2011. This unit has been recently updated in every way. Granite counters new appliances new furniture etc. The view was wonderful. I will have to say we had an issue with roaches but when we called manager they immediately sent a pro over to spray. Other than that it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank county02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
2.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Noelani Condominium Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Reef

Property: Kahana Reef
Address: 4471 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9295
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kahana Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Reef Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Reef Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing