We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Wouldn't change a thing! Perfect Condo.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Valley Isle Resort 401 & 402
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
BoiseID
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wouldn't change a thing! Perfect Condo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

From the moment we arrived we knew we had found the perfect place! We have been in numerous condo's on several different islands, and Valley Isle is on top of the list. The location is quiet,grounds are beautiful, and the pool area is clean, the water is warm. Condo 804 is super clean, beautifully updated with the most comfortable couch ever. It is nicely stocked with an ample supply of paper products, soap, etc. We did not see one bug of any kind. The view is spectacular (the pictures speak for themselves) . MaryJane in the activites center was very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed the Sunset Dinner cruise that she set up for us on our anniversary. We enjoyed watching the whales and turtles from the lanai , and falling asleep to the sounds of the waves. The beach was a few steps away, and not crowded. Nice restaurants nearby- China Boat for fabulous Chinese food (great take-out too) and Cafe O"Lei in Napalli. The Sands of Kahana next door has a nice breakfast, great happy hour, and 1/2 price dinner specials too. The owner of the condo is great to work with, and we already have our reservation for next year! Mahalo, Janet for a wonderful 2 weeks. We wouldn't change a thing!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerBoiseID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    78
    29
    22
    8
See reviews for
80
198
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Upon our arrival we found out the front desk was closed. It is closed daily from 12:00-1:00 for lunch and is only open from 8am-5pm daily. We attempted to call the phone number that was provided to use by the timeshare company we booked it through but no one answered the phone. So we had to wait in the parking lot for 50 minutes. While we were waiting we ran into another guest and he mentioned that he has arrived at night and no one would answer the after hours number.

Our room 503

Bathrooms
-There was absolutely no ventilation whatsoever in either of the bathrooms. They become very steamy and you must open a door while taking a shower to even breathe.
-The towels are very small and rough, the type you would find at a cheap motel.
- The water in both showers takes 5 minutes to warm up.
-The closet in the main bathroom became jammed several times and needs to be replaced.

Bedrooms
-Both bedrooms including the Murphy bed are very uncomfortable. The bed in the master bedroom sinks into the middle.
-The smaller bedroom is a wind tunnel. The windows rattled every single night and when you opened the window everything blew.

Kitchen and dining area
-All of the knives were dull and we had a very difficult time cutting anything
-The front room television has a limited amount of channels yet the bedroom has a lot more.
-The décor is very outdated and some of the chairs were broken.
-The sliding glass door in the front room was very heavy and needed to be greased. It took two adults to open and close this door.

Building, Location and other stuff
- The location is great...off the beaten path and away from the chaos and traffic.
- The pizza place across the street is pretty good and the snorkel shop has great rates.
- The building isn't anything exciting; cement building with black iron gates. It is very unattractive but what plant life they had was well groomed and very lush.
-Inside the Valley Isle resort is a local gym where anyone can work out. It also has an old sign posted on the glass windows which states "Kahana Grill". I asked the front desk what type of food the Kahana grill served. I was informed that the grill is no longer there and that the new owner had not taken down the sign.
-On a Saturday morning we attempted to empty the garbage cans before we left but the garbage shoot was locked. I guess the garbage is closed on the weekend?
-The lounge chairs that are available for guests to use are in very poor condition and should be replaced.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmama79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

We like the Valley Isle Resort, the pool area and beach are great!
We stayed in condo #605 which upon arrival looked fantastic, but shortly after our arrival we found cockroaches. We found the cockroaches in the kitchen and in the bathroom. They were in all of the drawers, the cupboards and in the dishwasher. The second day while I was taking a shower there was a cockroach climbing up the wall. Despite the owner’s claims that he did all he could, the cockroach problem was not solved during our stay. We stayed in the condo for one week. The resort staff was very nice and tried to help by spraying and placing bait. Our family stayed at the Valley Isle Resort the same week as we did in another condo and found no cockroaches.
The condo was otherwise clean and beautifully remodeled, but that did not make up for the cockroach problem. This was my second time visiting the Valley Isle Resort, but our first time staying in #605.
I have enjoyed staying in condos when we vacation, but this experience will make me reconsider on future visits. In my opinion the issue would have been handled very differently at a hotel.
I was never offered any type of refund, the only offer the owner gave me was to stay in another condo for a few nights. However that condo was not available for the remainder of our stay. So we would have had to move all of out stuff for a few nights then move it all back for the end of our trip. I go on vacation to relax, not to deal with bugs or to pack up and move every few days.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notabuglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIR-Rental-Owners, Owner at Valley Isle Resort 401 & 402, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Response from the owner of Valley Isle Resort condo #605:

It is so unfortunate that this guest had a bad experience even though they stated
the Resort was great and our condo was fantastic noting the beautiful remodeling and
cleanliness. A pest occurrence could arise at any Hawaiian resort or condo at any
time-not just VIR#605. Extreme & severe rains brought out pests & created a rockslide
closing the main road to West Maui. No professional exterminators were available until
the day of the guest’s departure although we did address the problem during their stay.

On the first day the guest was immediately offered alternate accommodations or a refund.
They CHOOSE to remain in the condo reporting that the Resident Manager had sprayed & baited the condo & they wouldn’t let a few small bugs ruin their vacation. They were happy and the pests were gone. However, upon their return home the guest changed their mind & demanded a refund in lieu of posting a bad review.

Being in the Tropics, our Resort makes a concerted effort to keep pests at bay with
regularly scheduled fumigations, spraying and additional combative efforts whenever necessary. The Resident Manager has now obtained an emergency supply of the same product the professionals use, to use
as a back-up in the future.

We do our best to maintain a beautiful oceanfront vacation condo rental at the lowest price possible for all our guests to enjoy. But Maui IS an island in the Tropics & sometimes things happen that we can not control. I am sorry the guest was unhappy & provided low Trip Advisor ratings (even though they seem contradictory to their own review).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

The Valley Isle Resort is located in Kahana, Maui. It is situated right on the beach, so if fun in the sun is what your looking for, this is a great spot. We stayed in #1108. It's a 2 bedroom. The view is magnificent!! Waking up to the ocean waves and watching the sun come over the West Maui Mountains & hit Molokai was like a dream every morning. And the sunsets over Lanai were incredible in the evening. People have left boogie boards & binoculars in the suite which was an added bonus. The binoculars were used every morning while I had breakfast on the lanai, whale watching! Mary Jane from "Tickets On The Rock" located on the premises, was a delight to deal with in hooking us up with various activities. The grounds and pool area are meticulously maintained and the staff were very helpful when needed. They even checked us in on our airline and printed our boarding passes before we checked out :) I Would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaws1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon,Sask. Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

We have stayed in 306 for 3 years in a row and are going back again in March 2011. The owners are fantastic to work with and the condo is newly renovated and has everything and more to have a wonderful relaxing vacation. There are coolers,chairs and towels to take on day trips.But you can stay and enjoy the fantastic view of the islands and see whales,turtles,dolphins right off your lanai.
We absolutely love it here and plan to return for many years to come.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We just got back from Maui, and our families had two rooms, 1005 and 704....both rooms were oceanfront (704 was corner room). Everything you would need, we made breakfast almost every morning, BBQ'd twice by the pool and had easy access to mini market, bars, etc., all within walking distance. Short trip to Lahaina and Kaanapali. The pool is extremely small, that is the only relatively negative thing I can think of to say, but even that is not a problem, because everyone is usually right on the beach. Would definately return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyW2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

This past summer we stayed in 705. The place was beautiful, they had everything one would need for a vacation! We rarely cook at home, but because of the awesome view, we made use of the facilities including the BBQ. We even grilled lobster, and ate on our balcony every morning and almost every night! The sunsets were absolutely gorgeous. The wi-fi worked great too. The bathroom had plenty of space including a washer and dryer. We've been on Maui a minimum of 10 times and this place was definitely the best place we have stayed at, much more relaxing than a top notch hotel. We stopped off at Costco and the local market to bring our food in. We'll definitely return again! Aloha

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alohaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Kahana
Royal Kahana
#12 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#9 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Isle Resort 401 & 402? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Isle Resort 401 & 402

Property: Valley Isle Resort 401 & 402
Address: 4327 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Kahana, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9213
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Isle Resort 401 & 402 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our two condos are one bedroom, side by side, fully remodeled condos. We have full kitchens, washer and dryers, beautiful view of the ocean, showers with shower massages, double sink dressing rooms, sofa sleepers, large lanai's with rattan furniture! We have a heated outdoor pool, and a large barbecue area. Wake up and go to sleep to the sound of the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Valley Isle Resort 401 & 402 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Isle Hotel Lahaina
Valley Isle Resort 401 & 402 Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing