We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great site, fatally flawed unit (103)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Isle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley Isle Resort
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great site, fatally flawed unit (103)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2007

The Valley Isle condo complex is in a very convenient location (across the road from the Kahana Center which has several good restaurants). It has a nice beach and the grounds and pool area are well kept. Unfortunately, the unit we stayed in (103) is in the worst location in the entire complex—right in front of the elevators which 90% of the residents must use to get to and from their units. The concrete walls and ceiling of the elevator lobby amplified the voices of people waiting for the elevator, and the noise made it pretty well impossible to leave the door open for ventilation. As well, there is a garbage room beside the elevators and the crash of the trash hitting the bin, followed by the slam of the door reverberates around the elevator lobby. I’m sure that most of the residents would be shocked at how loud they are from inside unit 103.

Condo 103 is a two bedroom unit, but the second bedroom is adjacent to the front door, and has a window that looks out to the elevator lobby. This window is one of those old fashioned glass slat designs (see photo) which provides no sound insulation whatsoever, so anyone trying to sleep in that bedroom will have to listen to the aforementioned voices and crash-slams from the elevator lobby.

The master bedroom has a sliding patio door that opens to a grassy area between the condo building and the beach. It is a nice view, but the sprinkler systems come on at night and they seem very noisy. There is no air conditioning in this building, so sleeping with the patio door open and fans on is definitely necessary.

This condo was recently renovated, but I would say the people doing the work were not very skilled. The kitchen had decent appliances, but was woefully underequipped in terms of cooking utensils and dishes. Bring your own wine glasses and steak knives if you stay in 103, and you’ll have to toss your salad in a cooking pot because there are no large bowls.

The doors and windows of this condo are in terrible shape. The screen of the lanai door was ripped and the windows and doors didn’t close properly and were generally filthy. There is a 1/2 inch gap at the bottom of the front door, and this is probably where the mice get in (several previous renters complained in the guest book of mice). We stuffed newspaper in the gap and didn’t have any problems.

The queen bed in the master bedroom was OK, but the twin beds in the second bedroom were awful. The mattresses were sitting on a hard platform (not a proper box spring) and were extremely uncomfortable. We put one mattress on top of the other to make our daughter more comfortable, but if you need both beds they are going to make for a very uncomfortable stay.

The living room furniture was OK, and the bathrooms were acceptable. One problem with Valley Isle is they have a common hot water system, and there isn’t much of it. Get your shower early in the day or it will be a cold one.

We would definitely return to Valley Isle, but not unit 103. We heard from a number of other residents that many of the units in Valley Isle are overdue for refurbishment (the complex is quite old), so if you want to stay there try to get a recently renovated unit and avoid the ground floor.

One final tip: the Maui Brewing Company and Roy’s restaurants in the Kahana Center are both really good, and if you really want a treat, splash out on Mama’s Fish House (on the road to Hana about 5 miles east of Kahalui). It’s really expensive, but unlike many really expensive restaurants, it’s really worth it.

  • Liked — Grounds and beach
  • Disliked — Condo location (noise) and condition
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VictoriaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    78
    29
    22
    8
See reviews for
80
195
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2007

This review represents an update of our stay a year ago.

Four of us recently stayed in units 610 and 106, both owned by the same people. The contrast between the two units is striking.
First of all, however, praise must be given to the gracious owners who provide a wealth of information not only about the complex itself, but also about West Maui. And it must be said that these units, especially 610, are booked up regularly, sometimes as long as a year and a half in advance!

Unit 610, a sixth-floor corner unit, has one of those in-your-face views of the ocean and islands of Lanai and Molokai. It is this vew which compensates for some of the shortcomings. Like some units in the building, #610 is definitely showing its age. With its ecelctic 70's style furniture and furnishings, the effect is that of a cluttered stage setting. Although the bed is quite comfortable, from which one can also take in that superb view, other areas have really not been cleaned. On the kitchen floor was debris left from previous guests. Dishes needed to be rewashed and dust was piling up on wall fixtures. But oh! That view! This unit is recommended.

#610 is a gem compared to #106, a studio on the ground floor. With broken furniture, a malfunctioning refrigerator, and enough dirt on the floor to stick to shoes and turn bare feet black, this unit was clearly in need of attention. Unfortunately, attempts to contact maintenance went unheeded, and a phone call to the owners produced no results. There are nice views from the terrace, and one can easily walk to the communal grill areas. But with other studios in the building, one can surely do better.

  • Liked — The in-your-face views from upper corner units
  • Disliked — The dirt and lack of response to fix broken appliances
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIR-Rental-Owners, Valley Isle Resort Vacation Rental Owners Group Leaders on behalf of the owners of these units at Valley Isle Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2007
Over the past 2 years, the owners of 610 upgraded the unit with new tropical furniture, new carpeting and all new paint. Thus, we are uncertain about the “eclectic 70s style” comment from these guests. (Pictures of condo 610 are available on the owner's website which can be accessed through the official Valley Isle Resort website.) We realize everyone has different tastes in furniture, and the owners have tried to select furniture they felt would appeal most favorably to the majority of their guests and fit the tropical mood of the location.

The unit 106 refrigerator has been replaced and the broken lanai furniture is in the process of being replaced. These were issues the maintenance company and/or previous guests failed to communicate to the off-island owners.

Within the last year the owners were forced to change cleaning/maintenance companies since the previous company no longer cleans vacation rental units at the Resort. The owners have been working closely with the new cleaning company to resolve cleaning, maintenance and support issues. The cleaning company has agreed to be more diligent in their cleaning and maintenance responsibilities, and to be more consistent and prompt in responding to calls from guests. The owners will continue to work with the company to insure that the quality of service that both they and their guests expect is being provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed at this resort and rented a private condo #402 (owners also have 401) for 10 days. View was great and complex was very quiet. Condo had everything you needed to make any meal. There was even a washer/dryer in condo which was good, because you need to bring your own beach towels because the pool does not provide them for you. We rinsed ours nightly and dried them. There is no daily maid service unless you pay additional for it with your stay, but there is no need for it if you can moderately clean up after yourself. Condo 401 has lani's in the living room and bedroom, 402 does not. Condo is in a good location just outside Kanapali, Kapala and 10 minute drive to Lahaina. I would recommend this condo and stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Condo needed a little sprucing up
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank rfriedri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2007

Hubby and I stayed here in January 2007. Went through the Valley Isle website, which lets you book directly through the owner. We stayed in unit 1001, on the 10th floor, which gives you amazing views of the ocean and the island of Lanai. And whales!! We brought our binoculars--a must--and saw so many spouts and breaches and fin flaps and tails...amazing. And surfers congregate out there too, and are fun to watch. Paid $165 a night plus $75 cleaning fee: unbeatable deal!!!

Our bedroom and living room both had balconies...too cool! Ate breakfast on the balcony every morning, then lowered the blinds to keep out the afternoon sun. No AC, so necessary to keep the unit cool. Lots of fans though--ceiling and floor--for keeping cool. Left the bedroom balcony door open all night (with screen) to hear the ocean waves...aaaah. Perfect temperature, without a fan--great breezes at this height.

Dining table with 4 chairs, sofa with chairs, coffee table. Kitchen has dishwasher and washing machine/dryer, complete with dishwashing soap and laundry detergent. (Nice touch!!) The sink is in an alcove outside of the bathroom--nice--and there are mirrors all over the condo to add to the spacious feeling. It's a corner unit, so there's window looking off to the mountains as well. Boogey board provided here. Lots of books, too.

The condos are actually a good ten-minute drive from Lahaina, though there's food here as well. But we ate in Lahaina mostly, and mostly at Maui Tacos and Penne Pasta (owned by the same genius). Unbeatable taste, quality, quantity at such low prices! We once ate at Thai Chef, that was a good change.
Highly recommend canoeing in a traditional outrigger canoe with Kimokeo and his Maui Nui O Kama Canoe Club...learn about the traditions of the Hawai'ian people--and actually chant in unison with them!

Also, check out Makena State Park: Big Beach, Little Beach (nudist) are gorgeous.Great snorkeling at Black Rock near the condo: huge corals, lots of turtles, and lots of fish (though lots of people, too--but not nearly like Hanauma Bay people-wise). Watched surfers just past Honolua Bay--wow! And the Pacific Whale Foundation really does have the best whale watching tours...and the money goes for a good cause.

Highly recommend this unit, and the whole building is well-run and maintained. Though if you look straight down from the balcony, there's a shack at the corner of the beautifully landscaped property with bins of recyclables and shells and piles of junk---put a roof over that!! :)

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank nancyandashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

Booked directly from owner and everything was great, price is right, several places to eat within walking distance. Condo had everything, books, mats, fins etc. View is great, beach is a little small, but OK, don't plan on snorkeling here. Whales everywhere.

Also if you get the chance, hike to the Waimoku Falls, the most remarkable place you will ever go.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Kentucky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2007

We had an excellent time at the Valley Isle. My family and I stayed
here from jan6-jan20. The unit we stayed in could use a little updating but was not a problem for us. There was everything you could possibly need while on vacation,boogy boards, beach chairs,umbrella. The kitchen was well eqipped. As we did do some of our own cooking, having the BBQ area was great.Enjoyed the view from the lanai watching the sunset, eating supper. The pool area is a little small but it was never busy.When I orginally booked I was lttle concerned with no A/C but the winds cool it down in the evening so it wasn't a problem. All in all for the price of the resort it is an excellent deal for a oceanfront unit.

  • Liked — beachfront resort,close to shopping
  • Disliked — small pool area
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 69chev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2007

Great value. I've stayed at the Valley Isle 3 times (Condos 1207, 1001 and 404). Each stay was very pleasant, and each owner has been easy to deal with. These three condos were very well maintained and lived up to (even exceeded) the descriptions on their websites. Having a kitchen for cooking is a real $ saver (local restaurants are nothing special but for some reason pricey). The grounds are immaculately kept. The beach is nice for relaxing and swimming for exercise. Lack of water clarity and excessive amounts of sea kelp often make snorkeling less than ideal. However several GREAT snorkeling sites are near by. The location is primo. The west side of the island is by far the best. A trip to the east side will make you appreciate your choice. The best features are the sunsets and moonlit nights. My only gripe is the lack of A/C. Fortunately there are constant ocean breezes. I always keep all windows open and all fans blowing. This makes the nights very comfortable. It doesn't help during the day, but I'm always out exploring the island anyway.

Summary: I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great place to stay for a reasonable price. The money saved over hotels with smaller rooms can be used for island activities.

  • Liked — Location & price
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank osiris369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Kahana
Royal Kahana
#11 of 42 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Isle Resort

Property: Valley Isle Resort
Address: 4327 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Kahana, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9213
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Isle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chase 'N Rainbows (CNR) Real Estate, Inc. is a Maui based, family owned company established in 1980 with two divisions: vacation rental management and real estate sales. For the past twenty years, CNR has been offering visitors and Kama'aina alike, affordable and luxury accommodations at a very competitive price. All of its vacation rental units are carefully selected, meticulously inspected, attractively furnished and well maintained to the highest standards. CNR is committed to providing the finest product and unsurpassed personalized service in the industry. These condominiums come highly recommended by leisure, business, and family travelers with distinctive tastes. A significant number of satisfied, return guests speak for the company's service commitment and quality product. Chase 'N Rainbows is a proud member of the Hawaii Visitors & Convention Bureau (HVCB), The American Society of Travel Agents (ASTA), Maui Visitors Bureau (MVB), Hawaii Association of Realtors, Maui Chamber of Commerce, and Vacation Rental Managers Association (VRMA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Valley Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Isle Hotel Lahaina
Valley Isle Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing