We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great lanai, good value”
Review of Valley Isle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Isle Resort
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Great lanai, good value”
Reviewed December 2, 2006

I totally agree with the last reviewer from San Diego. The place is a good value, 180 degree view of the pounding surf for about $150 per night. The place is dated (very 70's)and there are no services. The pool is very small and the beach is narrow. After a hard rain the ocean looked brownish red (algea?). But if you are on a budget and do not need a big resort style pool (ie no teenagers with you), I think this place is a terrific value. I would rent here again, especially if coming for an extended stay. For that kind of view at a resort hotel you'd spend at least $400 per night.

  • Liked — Lanai and view
  • Disliked — a long drive to just about everything on the island, bad weather on that area of the island
  • Tips/Secrets — Snorkel Molokini
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank trvldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    78
    30
    23
    8
See reviews for
83
201
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CAlifornia
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2006

We have stayed at the Valley Isle 4 times in the past 6 years and each time we have been very pleased. The price is unbeatble for a fully equipped kitchen with laundry---about 150/nite. We've never stayed in the same unit twice but every one has been well equipped altho not upscale. This time we stayed on the top floor in a corner unit. They are the best because you get the oceanfront view from both the bedroom and living room...so no arguing over who gets to sleep with the sounds of the ocean! This unit came with boogie boards, beach chairs and other beach gear including a cooler. There is no A/C but we have never needed or wanted it when in Maui. We've visited in March, May, Oct, and Nov.

Beach is not the best as it is small and can be very windy but it will do. Can't really snorkel there but you can take a dip and boogie board or surf. Pool is very small and often very windy. No jacuzzi.

what you don't get here is service you'd get at a hotel since the units are individually owned. You need to do all your own "concierge" type work.

Location is convenient to kanaapali, kapalua and lahaina without all the crowds. There is a MacDonalds across the street plus the ice cream shop, a pub, an Outback steakhouse, the Maui brewery, and a Roy's. There are 2 small overpriced markets but just 1.5 miles down the road is the Star grocery store.

We recommend the Valley Isle for families and others who would rather spend money on activities and some nice meals instead of fancy digs.

  • Liked — VIew
  • Disliked — FRONT DESK
  • Tips/Secrets — GET A CORNER UNIT
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank SanDiego3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

The Valley Isle Resort was a very pleasant experience. It not only sold us on how affordable a really nice beachfront condo could be, but also reinforced our confidence in the ratings published here on Trip Advisor. So we say "thanks" to Trip Advisor and all the folks that wrote reviews for helping us find a true deal on Maui.

Admittedly, we were a little skeptical about the lack of air conditioning and the resulting possible problems with heat and humidity. But we found the day time highs to be in the mid 80's and the relative humidity to be much lower than what we experience in Tennessee in the summer. The plentiful ceiling fans and gentle Hawaiian breeze kept us deliciously comfortable as the temperatures dropped at night into the low to mid 70's.

The condo itself was spotlessly clean, and fronted directly on the beach. The only thing obscuring our view of the ocean and the beautiful island of Lanai were the swaying palm trees. Since we were on the third floor (unit 307), we slept with the doors opening to the lanai (porch) and enjoyed the restful sounds of the waves breaking onto the beach.

Although there is a great sand beach directly in front of the condo, there are several really spectacular beaches just a short drive from the condo. One highly rated beach for sunning and snorkeling is Kapalua Bay Beach and is a 5 minute drive from the condo. This beach is on a small, naturally formed bay that has beautiful sand and an abudance of coral and tropical fish. If you snorkel, you will flip out over this place.

We look forward to returning to this place again in few months - we will try for whaling season - we undertsand that it is common to see the whales form the lanai of the condo!

  • Liked — Fantastic views and very quiet - almost no noise from other rooms
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — Insist on a beach front room as the other rooms may not get the good breezes
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank snorkledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

We spent 5 nights in room 504. The condo was clean and well furnished. Much of it had been renovated, including the kitchen. The view was spectacular. We ate breakfast on the lanai every morning. For some the lack of A/C may be a turn off, but the breezes keep the place comfortably cool. There are great restaurants (try Maui Brewing Co.) and shops (try Cool Maui Stuff) within walking distance.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank YLDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

We made arrangements to stay in Unit #707, and the experience was smooth and easy from the beginning. The owners were very responsive to our questions and requests for information. We were visiting Maui for a wedding, and many that were in attendance also stayed at the Valley Isle Resort. Everyone was very happy with the property and would recommend it to others.

Unfortunately for us, we never made it to the resort as there was a massive brushfire on the date of our arrival, which shut down the only highway to Lahaina. But, given our experience with the owners, and our friends' experiences at the property, I would definitely recommend this place as a very nice alternative to a hotel (note the bonuses such as a kitchen and fridge).

They definitely embody the "Aloha" spirit that is often lost with larger hotels.

  • Liked — The "Aloha" spirit
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BIY808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2006

I am writing this on the owner supplied laptop on our next to last day. We are staying in #404 ...."Da Kondo in Kahana" (website).
Most of the reviews are excellent and this one is the same. I will address some of the comments on some of the more negative reviews.
I am not one of the owners. in fact you can email me at jmd1956@hotmail.com and I will give you as much information as possible. The first thing is to make sure you book directly with the owner. there are many websites that will put you in contact with them.
My wife and I turn 50 this year, all our kids are grown and we left them all behind for our first trip to the islands. I nearly went blind looking at all of the reviews and it seems no matter where you look there are good and bad experiences. Ours has not only been good, it has gone perfect. We were looking for a peaceful, relaxing vacation. We wanted to be close to the water and get some sun and we wnated to avoid crowds. The Valley Isle has let us do that. The beach is small which was great for us because there were few people. The water does get cloudy in the evening, but during the morning and into the late afternoon it was great. Rocks do get washed up here along with some great coral. The pool is small and away from the ocean which I thought was a good idea.
The condo was fine also. I would absolutely agree that you should arrange for one of the condos where the den and bedroom face the ocean. Deb supplied everything we needed and more. Here wahser dryer was out, but she let us know ahead of time and to tell the truth they were too small anyway. She is trying to get them replaced. (You must remember this is here home away from home also). the pay washers are one floor down. She also arranged 5 of the most beautiful sunsets we could have hoped for and did not charge us extra. The parking is easy and free. The Staff was very friendly to us. We did choose this weekend because most schools were starting both on the mainland and here in Hawaii. But again, like lost of the people, the kids were at the larger beaches.
The location is quiet but within minutes drive from everything. We visited the Kaanapali beach area. It is what most consider a typical beach. long, sandy and very busy. Not just with the beach goers, but this is where many of the large resorts are with the Whalers Village shopping and several places to dine. it is also the place where many of the activities are done. After going there we were even happier with the Valley Isle. My wife enjoyed the shops, there is a museum, and a great beach. Just to busy and too loud for what we were looking for. Today we found a little hidden treasure of a beach just a few minutes to the north. Instead of Kaanapali, if you want a larger beach with better waves than what is here at the condo, hit the DT Fleming beach on the road to Kapalua and you will be very satisfied.
Front Street in Lahaina is great, but gets very busy in the evening.But that seemed to add to the character. Shops, galleries, cafes and more.A great little beach community. All within 5 minutes of the condo with pleny of public parking. We never had a bad meal but here were our favorites.
Longhis. Like many of the places it is open air. This one is on the street and not on the water. We got the "Lobster Longhi" which is a huge tray with two Maine lobsters, jumbo shrimp, clams, mussles, calamari on a bed of pasta. This place was pretty pricey but what the hell. Buzz's Wharf, south of Lahaina at Maalaea Harbor. it is located on the way in from the airport so you might want to stop on the way in. Also the aquarium is close by and the harbor has many tour boats and charters. We loved Moose McGillycuddy's in Lahaina and had a great breakfast at Cheeseburger in Paradise. Tomorrow we are thinking about Koni's or Bubba Gump's. And my wife had a great time in the shops. We did not buy the $6500 rolex or the $3500 painting, but she did get a girlfriend a coconut shell bra. And we had great service from everyone at every place.
And that is the last thing. the cost. many reviews about Hawaii talk about the prices. To me it was no different than any other in demand vacation destinations. You can spend as much or as little as you want on anything whether it be food or gifts along with the accomodations. I did not play golf this time, but again, no higher green fees than other great courses. most of the hotels have golf packages. now don't get me wrong there are many places who are happy to take your money. You can ride a submarine, go on a snorkeling trip, parsail, dinner on the water, There are several places to go to a luau. There is an Outback Steakhouse within walkign distance of the condo.
But you can also stick to a budget, buy clothing including great skimpy swimsuits for the wife at good grices and there are several ABC stores (kinda of a general store) that are not over priced. This along with some very good low priced cafes are available.
Or you can soak up the sun for free and relax. Needless to say we will be back. There are hundreds of flyers and magazines to buy, but i would suggest "This Week Maui" ([--]) mainly for the listings and the maps and remember the local phone book has some of the best information on the beaches.
We might explore other islands, but it will be hard not to come back here........ i have to go now because I have an appointment to get my first tatoo.................

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — No Air Conditioning
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank golfgod1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

We stay @ 1001. What more can we say. This place is awesome. That's why we keep coming back. We come to Scuba Dive and we have to be on the boats @ 6:30am. Having the kitchen is great for those early morning breakfasts.
Every time we come I only bring 2 pairs of shorts 3 t-shirts and my surf trunks. They have a washer and dryer.
We will be coming back for years to come.
You can book this with Mike and Jeannette Wheelan @
[--]
Have fun!!!!
Kevin & Wendy Panizza


Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Kpanizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,079 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,029 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,507 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Isle Resort

Property: Valley Isle Resort
Address: 4327 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9213
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Isle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have many privately owned Valley Isle Resort Vacation Rental Condos. Our resort is in lovely Kahana, a part of Lahaina. Maui is the best island, and the West Coast of Maui is the best part of Maui. We are right in the middle of Maui's West Coast. We have many amenities such as our heated pool and barbecue area. When you contact an owner, know they own one or several of the condos in our resort and can refer you to other owners. Also, know that each condo is different and run differently. So make sure you get photo's of the condo you would like. Also, occasionally this site says we do not have availability. More than likely we most certainly do have availability. Just Google "Valley Isle Resort" and you'll see many of us who have open condos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valley Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Isle Hotel Lahaina
Valley Isle Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing