We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveler rating
269
85
34
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
269
85
34
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews screen door murphy bed beach chairs corner unit ocean front herb garden living room beach erosion the trade winds boogie boards minute drive cross breeze there is no air conditioning sea turtles sound of the waves whale watching bbq area
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 421 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

As mentioned in other articles, a fire here has hurt the complex somewhat. On the negative side, it is the windier rainier side of the island compared to Kihie or Lahaina. The unit was minimally stocked with dishes utensils etc. On the positive side, you do get an ocean front condo for good value. If you just want to lounge around for a week or more this may be the place. Beach is adequate but there are lots of better ones. Snorkelling is too shallow and water is cloudy.(no fish) Lots of turtles in the area though. Not many whales to be seen as it's too shallow on the reef.

Room tip: Groceries at Safeway or Costco are your best buy. And you will need a car here
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SocoboyRegina_Sask_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Valley Isle is a resort that works. This condo-high rise is represented by anyone from the individual unit owners to time shares to vacation realtors. The true beauty, we came to realize, is the individuality of each condo in this building. Although the building is over 35 yrs old, each unit has been upgraded and given its own individuality. It suffered a fitness / shops fire last September but the condominiums hold their own quite majestically and this building will rise once again from the ashes and reign this area. In an area with hit-and-miss beaches, this quite possibly has one of the best. There is no shortage of lounge chairs or soft sand. In addition, it has a sheltered pool and BBQ area (with high end Weber grills envied by most wanna-be chefs).
We waited until the very last minute to book our week in Maui and as a result, were really hurting to find a weeks accomodation. However, Chasenrainbows' network enabled us to find 3 units in the same resort this week. All 3 units were well equipped with the essentials; corkscrew, kitchen utensils, video, audio, WIFI, comfort, space, ambience, privacy.
Our first 2 nights were in unit 205...a very nice 1 bdrm just above ground with comfortable wicker, spacious kitchen / dining / living and upgraded lanai furniture. Nice touches such as telescope, granite and a wine fridge were welcome...a great stay.
Our next 2 nights were spent in unit 1207...a spacious studio as a result of a Murphy bed near the patio doors. Incredible views were afforded from this elevation (binoculars were supplied but we would have loved to steal the telescope from 205). Although the height may be un-nerving to some, sea turtles were constantly viewed just offshore and whale spouts & fins always in the distance. The somewhat common lanai furniture was outspoken by a very unique & beautiful wall size whale scene night light on the north wall that really set the mood. Although the condo was well appointed throughout, the Murph needs a softer matress and a few more pillows...still another great stay.
Our last 2 nights were spent in unit 806...another studio set midheight in the building. This was a rather nice compromise between low level convenience and top floor view. The king size bed fit well and still allowed lots of room for living. Once again the essentials (and then some) were there to make this a complete and enjoyable vacation...one more great stay.
During our 1 week stay (Feb 11-17) we were amongst unit owners and return guests (some have been coming back here for 20 years) and bonded with them. Check out their nightly sunset ceremony. We really recommend this resort to anyone from singles to couples to families.

Room tip: Any rooms from ?04 to ?10 are outright winners. Rooms fro ?01 to ?03 are OK but less private and more ocean view than front.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIR-Rental-Owners, Owner at Valley Isle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

We would like to thank Kendal M. and all of our reviewers for their consistently positive reviews of the Valley Isle Resort since the September fire at the health club located in a separate building on the Valley Isle Resort property. Our staff has done an excellent job in making alterations wherever needed to ensure there is minimal impact on our guests and their vacation stays, as is evidenced by the recent reviews.

The Association has been restricted from proceeding with the clean-up processes because of legal challenges from the owner of the health club. We hope that those hurdles have now been overcome and that we can now proceed with clean-up and, eventually, full restoration of the Resort property. Until then, whether you rented directly from an owner from the Resort website, through an agent, or through your timeshare company, we thank all of you for your understanding and loyalty. You are the greatest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Valley Isle Resort on Kahana Beach from Jan.22-Feb. 1, 2013. We booked unit 1105 thru VRBO. It is a one bedroom condo which had great amount of room for 2 of us, as oppose to staying in a small hotel room at resort. Owners are Jeff and Trisha. The condo is gorgeous as pictured on VRBO.
The condo is beachfront with breathtaking views with its floor to ceiling windows and lanai off living room area of islands Molokai and Lanai! We were there during humpback whale season. We saw from the balcony humpback whales daily, along with sea turtles below, people on kayaks, surfing or paddle boards. We ate breakfast daily on the lanai soaking in the gorgeous views! Almost every night we were there for sunset and sometimes ordered take-out dining on the lanai (balcony) watching the spectacular views. It was very romantic. We were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach.
The condo is in a great location. It’s in Kahana which is right above Ka’anapali and Lahaina and right below Napilii and Kapulua, great beach and tourist areas. The beach right in front of condo has reef, water pretty calm to snorkel, paddle board and kayak. Little bit out is great surfing.
The people at the condo complex are very friendly and nice. The complex has a pool and gas bbq grills. Free on site parking.
The unit is extremely well kept, with lovely remodeled kitchen with stainless steel appliances and lovely tiled shower. It is decorated with tasteful Hawaiian décor. They gave great attention to detail to make our stay absolutely wonderful. The kitchen had good array of cookware. There were beach chairs, umbrella, and other beach items for use during our stay. Free hi speed internet. The owners had binoculars in entertainment center in living room which we used for whale and spinner dolphin watching. They have 2 TVs. 1 in living room and 1 in bedroom. Both have DVD players and living room also has video player and CD player. They have an assortment of videos, DVDs, CDs and books to enjoy while staying there. Why, the owners even provided CDs of Hawaiian music to enjoy!!!
Jeff was very accommodating to us before and during our stay. He gave great advice and service. We highly recommend this great value condo if staying in Maui.

We plan on going back again, and will certainly rent from these owners again.

Recommended restaurants:
China Boat which is right down the road, you can walk to it.
Seahouse in Napilii, lovely beach views, great service, ambience, live entertainment and food.
Tiki Terrace Restaurant, outdoor dining with great service, Hawaiian ambience, live entertainment of bands and hula dancers, plus dancing for guest, older crowd

Room tip: Unit 1105 is beautiful with breathtaking views!
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dreamkitaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

While Valley Isle is not a 5 star resort, it is RIGHT ON THE OCEAN. It is clean and you can't beat the prices for a stay in Maui. We've stayed in several of the units when adding to our scheduled timeshare time in Maui. The Maui bus stops right in front and for $1 per person you can go anywhere. We never rent a car. These units have complete kitchens if you want to help the budget. Look on their website. Prices differ with each unit. Some give discounts for a full week or more. Have fun.

Room tip: Look at the website.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovinMaui_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Another wonderful stay at Valley Isle #804. Yes, there was a fire that destroyed the health club next door, but the condo's themselves are unaffected. There are repairs in the works for the lobby area, but other than that, everything is wonderful! The turtles visit every day, and the sunsets from the lanai are spectacular. The condo is super clean, and has everything you need for your stay including coolers and beach chairs. The kitchen is stocked with more than expected. Very peaceful, no street noise. We enjoyed take-out from the China Boat just down the road, and the Sands of Kahana next door has breakfast and dinner specials. Went to Roy's for a special anniversary dinner, was wonderful! The craft show in Lahaina on Sunday was the best, lots of local vendors. New poolside furniture was delivered during our visit, very comfortable! We already have our reservations for next year, thanks Janet!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerBoiseID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews