We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Wonderful month in unit #402”
Review of Valley Isle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Isle Resort
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful month in unit #402”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here from mid February to mid March, 2013 and totally enjoyed our stay. The beach is lovely, not crowded and we saw turtles everyday,either sunning themselves or we snorkeled with them. Saw some beautiful angel fish and other kinds as well.
The unit is well stocked with everything you need to cook a big meal or to simply relax. It's clean and very comfortable. A couple of small issues we found with the unit were dealt with quickly and to our total satisfaction by the owners, Jan and Paul.
We definitely will be returning and have already recommended it to our friends and family.
G and A Grant

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    78
    29
    23
    8
See reviews for
82
200
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Sask.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

As mentioned in other articles, a fire here has hurt the complex somewhat. On the negative side, it is the windier rainier side of the island compared to Kihie or Lahaina. The unit was minimally stocked with dishes utensils etc. On the positive side, you do get an ocean front condo for good value. If you just want to lounge around for a week or more this may be the place. Beach is adequate but there are lots of better ones. Snorkelling is too shallow and water is cloudy.(no fish) Lots of turtles in the area though. Not many whales to be seen as it's too shallow on the reef.

Room Tip: Groceries at Safeway or Costco are your best buy. And you will need a car here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocoboyRegina_Sask_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Valley Isle is a resort that works. This condo-high rise is represented by anyone from the individual unit owners to time shares to vacation realtors. The true beauty, we came to realize, is the individuality of each condo in this building. Although the building is over 35 yrs old, each unit has been upgraded and given its own individuality. It suffered a fitness / shops fire last September but the condominiums hold their own quite majestically and this building will rise once again from the ashes and reign this area. In an area with hit-and-miss beaches, this quite possibly has one of the best. There is no shortage of lounge chairs or soft sand. In addition, it has a sheltered pool and BBQ area (with high end Weber grills envied by most wanna-be chefs).
We waited until the very last minute to book our week in Maui and as a result, were really hurting to find a weeks accomodation. However, Chasenrainbows' network enabled us to find 3 units in the same resort this week. All 3 units were well equipped with the essentials; corkscrew, kitchen utensils, video, audio, WIFI, comfort, space, ambience, privacy.
Our first 2 nights were in unit 205...a very nice 1 bdrm just above ground with comfortable wicker, spacious kitchen / dining / living and upgraded lanai furniture. Nice touches such as telescope, granite and a wine fridge were welcome...a great stay.
Our next 2 nights were spent in unit 1207...a spacious studio as a result of a Murphy bed near the patio doors. Incredible views were afforded from this elevation (binoculars were supplied but we would have loved to steal the telescope from 205). Although the height may be un-nerving to some, sea turtles were constantly viewed just offshore and whale spouts & fins always in the distance. The somewhat common lanai furniture was outspoken by a very unique & beautiful wall size whale scene night light on the north wall that really set the mood. Although the condo was well appointed throughout, the Murph needs a softer matress and a few more pillows...still another great stay.
Our last 2 nights were spent in unit 806...another studio set midheight in the building. This was a rather nice compromise between low level convenience and top floor view. The king size bed fit well and still allowed lots of room for living. Once again the essentials (and then some) were there to make this a complete and enjoyable vacation...one more great stay.
During our 1 week stay (Feb 11-17) we were amongst unit owners and return guests (some have been coming back here for 20 years) and bonded with them. Check out their nightly sunset ceremony. We really recommend this resort to anyone from singles to couples to families.

Room Tip: Any rooms from ?04 to ?10 are outright winners. Rooms fro ?01 to ?03 are OK but less private and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIR-Rental-Owners, Owner at Valley Isle Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We would like to thank Kendal M. and all of our reviewers for their consistently positive reviews of the Valley Isle Resort since the September fire at the health club located in a separate building on the Valley Isle Resort property. Our staff has done an excellent job in making alterations wherever needed to ensure there is minimal impact on our guests and their vacation stays, as is evidenced by the recent reviews.

The Association has been restricted from proceeding with the clean-up processes because of legal challenges from the owner of the health club. We hope that those hurdles have now been overcome and that we can now proceed with clean-up and, eventually, full restoration of the Resort property. Until then, whether you rented directly from an owner from the Resort website, through an agent, or through your timeshare company, we thank all of you for your understanding and loyalty. You are the greatest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Valley Isle Resort on Kahana Beach from Jan.22-Feb. 1, 2013. We booked unit 1105 thru VRBO. It is a one bedroom condo which had great amount of room for 2 of us, as oppose to staying in a small hotel room at resort. Owners are Jeff and Trisha. The condo is gorgeous as pictured on VRBO.
The condo is beachfront with breathtaking views with its floor to ceiling windows and lanai off living room area of islands Molokai and Lanai! We were there during humpback whale season. We saw from the balcony humpback whales daily, along with sea turtles below, people on kayaks, surfing or paddle boards. We ate breakfast daily on the lanai soaking in the gorgeous views! Almost every night we were there for sunset and sometimes ordered take-out dining on the lanai (balcony) watching the spectacular views. It was very romantic. We were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach.
The condo is in a great location. It’s in Kahana which is right above Ka’anapali and Lahaina and right below Napilii and Kapulua, great beach and tourist areas. The beach right in front of condo has reef, water pretty calm to snorkel, paddle board and kayak. Little bit out is great surfing.
The people at the condo complex are very friendly and nice. The complex has a pool and gas bbq grills. Free on site parking.
The unit is extremely well kept, with lovely remodeled kitchen with stainless steel appliances and lovely tiled shower. It is decorated with tasteful Hawaiian décor. They gave great attention to detail to make our stay absolutely wonderful. The kitchen had good array of cookware. There were beach chairs, umbrella, and other beach items for use during our stay. Free hi speed internet. The owners had binoculars in entertainment center in living room which we used for whale and spinner dolphin watching. They have 2 TVs. 1 in living room and 1 in bedroom. Both have DVD players and living room also has video player and CD player. They have an assortment of videos, DVDs, CDs and books to enjoy while staying there. Why, the owners even provided CDs of Hawaiian music to enjoy!!!
Jeff was very accommodating to us before and during our stay. He gave great advice and service. We highly recommend this great value condo if staying in Maui.

We plan on going back again, and will certainly rent from these owners again.

Recommended restaurants:
China Boat which is right down the road, you can walk to it.
Seahouse in Napilii, lovely beach views, great service, ambience, live entertainment and food.
Tiki Terrace Restaurant, outdoor dining with great service, Hawaiian ambience, live entertainment of bands and hula dancers, plus dancing for guest, older crowd

Room Tip: Unit 1105 is beautiful with breathtaking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreamkitaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

While Valley Isle is not a 5 star resort, it is RIGHT ON THE OCEAN. It is clean and you can't beat the prices for a stay in Maui. We've stayed in several of the units when adding to our scheduled timeshare time in Maui. The Maui bus stops right in front and for $1 per person you can go anywhere. We never rent a car. These units have complete kitchens if you want to help the budget. Look on their website. Prices differ with each unit. Some give discounts for a full week or more. Have fun.

Room Tip: Look at the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovinMaui_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiseID
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Another wonderful stay at Valley Isle #804. Yes, there was a fire that destroyed the health club next door, but the condo's themselves are unaffected. There are repairs in the works for the lobby area, but other than that, everything is wonderful! The turtles visit every day, and the sunsets from the lanai are spectacular. The condo is super clean, and has everything you need for your stay including coolers and beach chairs. The kitchen is stocked with more than expected. Very peaceful, no street noise. We enjoyed take-out from the China Boat just down the road, and the Sands of Kahana next door has breakfast and dinner specials. Went to Roy's for a special anniversary dinner, was wonderful! The craft show in Lahaina on Sunday was the best, lots of local vendors. New poolside furniture was delivered during our visit, very comfortable! We already have our reservations for next year, thanks Janet!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerBoiseID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Unit 109 is an ocean front, ground level condo only steps from the beach. My husband and I love that we can walk directly out to the beach from our lanai so much that this was our 5th consecutive year of staying in Unit 109. The views of the ocean, Molokai, & Lanai are spectacular from both inside the unit and the lanai. The snorkeling was great right outside the unit and we saw turtles every day the in the shallow surf while sitting on the beach. The condo came equipped with a washer/dryer which allowed us to pack lightly (which we love!). There is convenient shopping and several great restaurants in walking distance. We highly recommend staying in this unit!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKM-PMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,072 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Isle Resort

Property: Valley Isle Resort
Address: 4327 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9213
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Isle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have many privately owned Valley Isle Resort Vacation Rental Condos. Our resort is in lovely Kahana, a part of Lahaina. Maui is the best island, and the West Coast of Maui is the best part of Maui. We are right in the middle of Maui's West Coast. We have many amenities such as our heated pool and barbecue area. When you contact an owner, know they own one or several of the condos in our resort and can refer you to other owners. Also, know that each condo is different and run differently. So make sure you get photo's of the condo you would like. Also, occasionally this site says we do not have availability. More than likely we most certainly do have availability. Just Google "Valley Isle Resort" and you'll see many of us who have open condos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valley Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Isle Hotel Lahaina
Valley Isle Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing