We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great host , lovely accom.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penny's Place Inn Paradise
Ranked #10 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Whanganui, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great host , lovely accom.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

would definatley stay again. maui was gorgeous and penny was a very helpful/friendly host .
shared breakfast every morning was delicious(homemade cinnamon rolls and fresh fruit) a great chance to meet other travelers and hear their recommendations aswell , stayed at a 5 star resort before pennys and enjoyed pennys so much more !

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meltapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
85
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful house which is used as a bed and breakfast yards away from the ocean but along way from a beach. There is a busy highway on one side of the house and a busy street on the otherside which means you hear traffic all night and we were unlucky enough to stay there when they were doing major roadworks at night. The room we stayed in was small but charming but the bed was very noisey and you can hear everything That is going on in the other rooms.

Room Tip: If you are up after 10 pm like having a party and watching tv late at night give this place a miss o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelseaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Loved the view from the balcony. Whenever we had a chance we would hang out on the balcony have cocktails and a snack. One night we even saw a whale breech. The room we had was small but comfortable. The price was right. Penny gave us breakfast vouchers to a restaurant called Lulu's. Although this is a b&b there was no breakfast on Sunday. Not sure why.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite, it has more room and lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidewallcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Edwina and I really enjoyed our stay at Penny's Place in Lahaina. Penny was a very friendly and helpful host. The room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend Penny's Place for couples looking for a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_Middleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days at Penny's Place. It was the best choice I made on this vacation. Her B&B is very clean and comfortable. Penny is a wealth of information and we were happy with all of her recommendations. She is restricted on the breakfast that she can provide by law--we had a wonderful plate of fresh fruit, pastry, juice and either coffee or tea each morning. And, this was just the right amount since lunch on Maui can be very large. The location at the end of Front Street was perfect. We were in the perfect spot to reach all of the sites on the island. I give this a two thumbs up and will recommend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speeder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Pennys Place in late November 2012. The whole facility was immaculate. While the house is next to the highway and allows easy access to it the room was very quiet. Penny was extremely helpful with local travel advice, even lending us her guide to Maui. When we told her we enjoyed her banana cake, she printed a copy so we can make it at home.
We enjoed our stay and highly reccomend Pennys Place Inn Paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place has a good location,but its for sale and the owner seems kind of burned out. There were bug traps in our room and breakfast consisted of a couple pieces of fruit and a microwaved frozen croisant. Lots of rules everywhere, no breakfast on Sunday???? Beware of this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#15 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,409 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.2 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny's Place Inn Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny's Place Inn Paradise

Property: Penny's Place Inn Paradise
Address: 1440 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1728
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Penny's Place Inn Paradise 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Penny's Place Inn Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny`s Place Inn Paradise Hotel Lahaina
Penny's Place Inn Paradise Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing