We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let Web Marketing Deceive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
Ranked #31 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't let Web Marketing Deceive”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This timeshare looks better on its web marketing than in reality. The stated location on the Kapalua golf course is deceptive. Two of the buildings back up to the course's driving range and you're looking through the protective net. The oddest thing is it adjoins a lot with a ramshackle house having many chickens, including several constantly crowing rosters, even during evening hours. The chickens roam the property and coming begging with chicks onto the lanais. The good part is the resort's location directly across a narrow road from Napili Resort and the beach- beautiful. The restaurant on the beach is quite good with moderate prices. We ate there often during our stay. There's a nice pool over the fence from the rosters. This place appears to be built in the 70's with no updating. I won't go into the problems with the toilet in the joint bathroom. but the attempt to "fix" it using a tank lid from another toilet instead of a complete replacement caused problems.

Room Tip: The golf course facing building farthest from the parking lot and crowing rosters is best. The last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy you were pleased with our location and onsite restaurant. Conversely, we regret to learn where your experience fell short and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
29
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Quiet small complex, except for rooster in the am. Napili bay is an awesome beach: boogy board, turtles, 2 great restaurants and other great shopping areas with in walking distance. Beautiful sandy beach and awesome tide pools. Condo is located right next door to beautiful Kapalua golf course.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Gardens at West Maui and hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our family of 4 spent 3 weeks here and enjoyed our time. Other reviews complained about the roosters and the "views," but we found the place to be very good. The roosters weren't that loud. We stayed in building 1 and were right across the fence from the roosters. When compared to the noise that people make at other resorts, the roosters were quite mild. The staff was excellent to our family, and went overboard to make sure that we had everything we wanted. The room was great. Two bathrooms and a washer/dryer along with a kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, stove, made the room even better. We traveled with a son and daughter, and our daughter slept on the couch cushions on the floor. We were provided with the extra linens. It was a very good arrangement. All of the incidentals were provided, laundry soap, dishwasher soap, paper products, and more. Our lanai looked over the "parking lot," which hardly ever had any vehicles in it. We looked past that to the golf course and enjoyed the view. There were also mother hens and chicks running around, always fun to see. The beds were comfortable, and the unit was roomy. The furniture was very comfortable with a nice dining table. They provided beach towels as well. The pool was nice with gas BBQ's available to use (which we did). There was always parking available. There are two very nice beaches within walking distance, which was convenient. They also had an assortment of beach gear left by previous guests to use. We were more than pleased with this timeshare.

Room Tip: Higher units have less A/C noise, but any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastorbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Aloha! Thank you so much for your generous review. We are thrilled we could earn your highest rating. It is gratifying to know that we met your expectations for spacious and comfortable accommodations, and that you were satisfied with our pool, barbecues, parking and proximity to a pair of beautiful beaches. Thank you once again for sharing your comments. We truly appreciate your complimentary remarks and hope you will consider us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My mom and I the pleasure of staying at this lovely place for a week. The room was very clean,with the Hawaiian touch in furnishing and photos.
The kitchen had everything needed if you wanted to cook. Very nice,we would stay here again. The two bathrooms had full showers.The office was always open for any questions. The staff was very nice. I really liked not having maid service every day( mid way thru your visit they change the bedding and towels).
There are beaches just across the road, turn right or left and you will find a beautiful beach. We had the privilege of seeing turtles in there natural habitat.
Yes there are roosters, people have them as pets, similar to people who have cats and dogs. And yes they make noise, if your a light sleeper use ear plugs.
There are lots of places to eat, grocery stores a short drive away.
Please don't dismiss this lovely getaway because of rooster noise, your in paradise. Aloha

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonned1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy you found our accommodations clean and well equipped. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and location. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice, small timeshare. Perfect for families. Nice change for the fancy resorts. Spacious. Kitchen fully furnished. Washer and dryer (detergent included). They also include beach towels for your use. There is free Wi-Fi. Easy parking. 2 flat screen TV's. 2 bathrooms. Brand new king size beds and new memory foam mattresses for the sofa pull out bed. Easy walk to the beaches and bays. Clean. Safe area. Shopping center down the street with food and grocery store. Nice small bay across the street. Easy drive to other beautiful beaches. Nice place to relax and slow down. The only problem is there are roosters! Yes. Roosters and they are loud. Round the clock. There is a rooster farm or something near by. If you can get past that, it is perfect. I would stay again, even with the roosters.

Room Tip: something away from the roosters, maybe near the back to the golf course side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundevilRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy you found our resort perfect for families, and that our condo-style accommodations were spacious and convenient. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Most Hawaiian condos have louvered windows to allow for cross ventilation and no AC. That works great especially with ceiling fans. This condo has no fans or cross ventilation, and relies on AC. Therein lies the problem. These AC units are old, and the bearings in the fan motors whine day and night. I mean whine like a motel 6 in podunk city. You will not sleep a wink. The multitude of roosters next door are nothing compared to the AC units. The condo units are dated, have no ambiance, and you either look out your lanai at the parking lot, or a hedge. Oh did I mention the noise from the road in building 1? Believe me on this, pass this condo by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucyandpaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Gardens at West Maui. We regret to learn of the noise-related issues you experienced. We would like to further discuss. Please contact us at 800-775-8463. Your feedback will be helpful in ensuring a pleasant stay for all guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at this timeshare for 2 weeks having traded two five star resorts for it. The first week we were placed in building 1 where the lanai overlooks the parking lot. The roosters woke us every morning about 5am and several times during the week at 3:30. The second week we asked to be transferred to building 3 where our patio overlooked the garden, and the chickens were no longer a problem. However the air conditioning units for our condo and the one above us were located right under the bedroom windows and kept us awake for much of the night.

Our main issue was how uncomfortable the furniture is. The chairs and couch in the living room cannot be tolerated for very long. I've never tried to sit on anything so uncomfortable. The sheets and blanket were too small for the bed. The kitchen is very small and only can accommodate one person at a time - less than that if the refrigerator door is open.

We received no mid- week maid service the second week. When they missed our Tuesday towel service, I went to the office on Wednesday and was assured the change would be made that day. Not so. Thursday the office was closed and still no service. Friday we checked out.

One of the worst timeshare exchanges we've ever made.

Room Tip: Stay away from building 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keeper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Gardens at West Maui. We regret to learn our resort did not leave you with a more favorable impression. We are committed to providing our guests with a carefree vacation experience, with quality and cleanliness among our highest priorities. We would like to further discuss your particular concerns. Please contact us at 800-775-8463. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.1 mi away
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
0.2 mi away
Napili Sunset
Napili Sunset
#5 of 41 in Lahaina
152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#15 of 41 in Lahaina
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#21 of 41 in Lahaina
140 reviews
20.5 mi away
Maui Beach Vacation Club
0.2 mi away
Hale Napili
Hale Napili
#17 of 41 in Lahaina
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens at West Maui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

Property: The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
Address: 5500 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9051
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardens at West Maui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gardens at West Maui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens At West Maui Hotel Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing