We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gardens at West Maui Hotel
Ranked #33 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was a nice condo experience. It is not the Ritz. There is no view. You are about 1/2 mile walk from the beach. The condo itself was clean, well stocked with plates and pans, beach towels. They do towel service mid week. The washer and dryer availability made life much easier. Was disappointed there were no cooking spices.
The chickens are way over rated. There are roosters and we did hear them in the early AM, but they did not wake up us. We were in a room directly behind them I think and it really was not a big deal. I promise it just was not that big of a deal. The only slight problem was there were bugs in the condo- like BIG water roaches- like size of a man's thumb or bigger. But talking with the locals, it is a problem all over the island. If this bothers you- you should think 5 star resort, not condo.
We were very happy with this experience and would do it again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy you enjoyed our condo-style accommodations and proximity to the beach. We are glad having a washer and dryer available made life much easier! We are committed to the highest standards of quality and cleanliness, and regret you were subjected to an unwanted visit. We have in place a comprehensive pest control program that has proven effective in keeping bugs at bay. We are happy the exception didn't serve to negatively influence your opinion of our resort. Thank you once again for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 104 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for about 5 days. We had no issues the rooms were nice and the internet was reliable. I would stay here again for sure. They had a small selection of beach accessories and toys. The Napili beach was close enough to walk to also. Kapula beach was with in walking distance also.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Mrvaperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation and would choose to stay with us again. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Perfect location for exploring North end. A couple of great snorkel beaches within walking distance, Napili and Kapalua Bays. Quick access to Hwy 30. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Try not to get building #1 as the view is the parking lot,so we never use our lanai. The other units have the golf course views. The roosters crow, but that is part of Hawaii. The unit was spotless and had everything you need. I would give it a 5 if the one building was not on the parking lot.

Room Tip: avoid building one if you spend any time in the condo or like having your adult beverages on the Lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank inheritsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Gardens at West Maui. We are glad our location was perfect for exploring the surrounding area. We are happy our staff was friendly and helpful, and that our accommodations were clean and well-equipped. We hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Didn't expect too much from this resort place but turned out a good surprise.

Location is a little further north of lahaina and other big resort and hotels. However, it is just half a block away from lovely Napili Bay. We went to that beach every day during out stay. We love that it is more quiet and less crowded than the main town resort area.

The suite is very clean and equipped with everything u need for the whole week. Very thoughtful. Big screen tv in bedroom and living room. their web site mentions only wired Internet at the office but surprisingly there is now complimentary wifi and it is fast! Comfy bed and air conditioning. The plus plus is the in suite laundry - love it!

The down side is the noise from the road. The roosters are still here (next door) but they r not that loud compares to ppl talking on the phone downstairs and garbage truck. The other thing we don't like about this place is that the entrance is in the back and we have to walk thro' a dark alley (by the building) and pass the laundry trolley and air conditioning fans. Not very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agentCodyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We are thrilled your stay at The Gardens At West Maui exceeded your expectations. We are happy you enjoyed our location, which allowed for a beach visit each day. We appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodations. We love knowing our guests have everything they need and more. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We exchanged our timeshare week in Western Australia for a week at this lovely location. We arrived early for our check in and although our unit was not ready it was no problem. We completed the check in documentation and were asked if we had eaten and were referred to a nice reasonable priced restaurant at the resort across the road.
When we returned the unit was ready for us to book in and we what a pleasant surprise we had when we went up. Everything we needed was there. The unit was spotlessly clean and there generous supplies of detergent, soap etc.
Yes the roosters were a little noisy, however if we kept the bedroom windows closed they did not bother us.
Both the receptionist and the concierge were helpful and knowledgeable.
The resort is a little way out of the main area so a rental car would have been good, however we did one tour (the Road to Hana), went to a Laua and the rest of the time caught the local bus.
The beach at the front of the resort across the road was beautiful and we spent a lot of time there as will as in the pool of our units.
We would love to go back, but this time for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the_retirees_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for exchanging into The Gardens at West Maui. We are thrilled you were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our accommodations. We love knowing that our guests have everything they need. We appreciate your compliments about our staff. We hope to welcome you back for an extended stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We bought here in 1998 and have used it six times and traded all other times. We own a studio but upgraded to a one-bedroom this time. First trip back since 2003. Still a nice clean place with a pool and a hot tub. This is a perfect place if you want a quiet place close to world-class beaches. All rooms have a full kitchen and washer and dryer. This is useful in saving money. Nice place for a couple to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iowaref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that you find our resort to be the perfect place for peace, quiet and world-class beaches. We look forward to welcoming you back and appreciate your ownership! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a very spacious one bedroom room. The ladies at check in were very friendly our plane was late coming in and they stayed there for us to check in.
The room was very nice and clean. Its the first time we've stayed in a timeshare and actually cooked in the kitchen. It had everything we needed.
The location was amazing it's not right on the beach like their sister property. Which was the ONLY thing going for it. This one is across the street from one of the best beaches in the world. Great snorkeling too. This is one of the cleanest and nicest timeshares we have traded ours for.
Now the bad news is that it's surrounded by rooster farms. I was really nervous to stay reading the other reviews on the roosters but, I did not hear them at all. My mother- in-law slept on the pull out bed in the living room and said she heard them but they didn't keep her up. The same for my husband and daughter. We really enjoyed our time at this timeshare. My daughter and I even took lei making and hula lessons by the pool. This is a really nice property. The only draw back is that I don't think they have 2 or 3 bedroom rooms. We didn't need it but, in case someone should have a large family it would be nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was nice we had a big lanai and we could have a nice dinner out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Gardens at West Maui Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy that you found our accommodations spacious and our staff friendly. We are glad that you used the kitchen, which was equipped with everything you needed. It sounds like you had a great time exploring the surrounding area. We hope that you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
8.4 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#22 of 43 in Lahaina
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#8 of 43 in Lahaina
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#14 of 43 in Lahaina
718 reviews
20.5 mi away
Maui Beach Vacation Club
0.2 mi away
Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens at West Maui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens at West Maui Hotel

Address: 5500 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9051
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $195 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardens at West Maui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gardens at West Maui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens At West Maui Hotel Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing