We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding I love Pie Shops”

Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop
Ranked #3 of 26 Dessert in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop is casual family style dining in a comfortable plantation era atmosphere. Our menu features an assortment of hand-crafted sandwiches, salads, baked goodies, daily specials and of course, sweet and savory pies. Our focus on farm fresh and sustainable ingredients is important to us and we work with our local providers to ensure we are offering the best product available to our customers.
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding I love Pie Shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

And they have very good lunches as well. If you are heading out to see the petroglyphs stop here first or after your visit. If you are not going to the petroglyphs stop here first and ask for directions.

Great place will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WobblyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,488
    428
    109
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pies are good, but those scalloped potatoes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Enjoyed a couple of meals here on our trip to Maui in 2013. We found the pies good, some more than others (we each ordered a different mini-pie so as to sample). I had a burger, which was good. But the surprising stars of our meals for the 4 of us, were the scalloped potatoes and the fried brussel sprout salad. Now please know that I loathe brussel sprouts, but the ratings on TA were so great on this salad, I had to try it. Very much enjoyed it! It's a nice, fresh salad with little individual fried sprout leaves tossed in.

Leoda's is in Oluwalu, and quite easy to miss on the road between Lahaina and Maalea. It's on the makai (mountain) side of the road.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Southerngirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Late lunch after snorkeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Snorkeling down the street worked up an appetite for the five of us and upon recommendation from one of us who is local, we went. Overall tasty food and great pies. Well packed to go and take back to beach. Very good bread on the sandwiches and with the side salad. Expensive cheesesteak sandwich ($16) and pies (average was $8 a slice). Good food, pricey though.

Helpful?
Thank SimplyPleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You'll come back for more pies...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem, very easy to drive right by it while on the highway
Definitely a must try
Bought 5 pies to try and the favorites are the banana cream, apple crumb and key lime
The ladies in the group are going back for more tomorrow

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Way over rated and over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

As far as I can tell, you have two choices for this restaurant. If you get to the restaurant around lunch time you will have your choice of rather pricey meat pies and desert pies. You will find this to be one of the most expensive lunches you will buy in Maui. I had a cheaper lunch at Dukes.

Dinner is also a problem in that this restaurant regularly will run out of food around 630pm. Our group of 5 got to the restaurant just after 6 and they had already run out of chicken pies and all of the desert pies other than apples ones.

The beef pies were at best "OK" others in the party were happy with their dinner, mine was overly oily with a soggy crust and more gristle than meat. If you want a meat pie and a desert pie you can expect around $20-22 per person plus drinks and this is a walk up self-serve "counter" restaurant.

Once and Done. Not worth the price or the drive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MauiFam83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop also viewed

 

Been to Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing