We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must try this place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop

Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop
Ranked #3 of 26 Dessert in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop is casual family style dining in a comfortable plantation era atmosphere. Our menu features an assortment of hand-crafted sandwiches, salads, baked goodies, daily specials and of course, sweet and savory pies. Our focus on farm fresh and sustainable ingredients is important to us and we work with our local providers to ensure we are offering the best product available to our customers.
Dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You must try this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We ate at all the popular spots in Lahaina and this was my favorite smaller restaurant. It's located along the highway and easy to miss, but don't! There is a parking lot at the end of the building if you can't park in front. I found this on our 3rd visit within 6 days :-) We tried several things including the pies (both the dessert and meat) and the sandwiches. Everything was delicious!! I will say that the small meat pies were not enough food for my husband but when he added the regular pie to this meal he was just fine. We even stopped on our way back to the airport to get food to take on the plane. Go early in the day if you want a selection of pies as the selection is low later in the day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank minnie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,451
    427
    107
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is a must in West Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor's list of best in Maui, we had a wonderful lunch at Leoda's Kitchen today. Hub had the Spicy Tuna, which of course is fresh, line caught with avocado - yum and I had the, get this, Pork, Pork, mmm, Pork Sandwich - homemade bread grilled, prosciutto, Duroc ham, applewood smoked bacon, salami and swiss - delish. And, in case these don't entice you, there are incredible mini pies like Macadamia nut chocolate praline, banana cream, and Olowalu lime. Just sayin - if you're in Maui, stop by. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodiefromTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“I bet Simple Simon did not meet this pie man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

When we first stopped by a few weeks ago, my wife emerged with three pies, one savory and the other apple and berry. The berry pie easily rivals that served at Lahaina Grill. For just a couple dollars more than the single slice served at LG, one can order the whole pie! Don't stop at their pies. Think of the freshest ingredients for their salads and sandwiches. If you arrive early enough, pick up a loaf or two of bread. We make this a "must do" stop on our way to our unit in Napili.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Have to go get a pie!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Leoda's is a fairly new addition to the "Lahaina area" restaurant scene. Though it's about 5 miles outside of Lahaina it is definitely worth the trip! We stopped in for a pie, couldn't decide on which ones to try as they all looked so good, and ended up buying several small ones to sample. I think they have three sizes: mini, regular (which was fairly small too) and a large one. We bought a Coconut Cream, Banana Cream and a Chocolate Macademia Nut pie. They were all freshly made and were ridiculously good!!! You have to get there pretty early to get your choice of all the pies they make fresh each day. I'm sure we missed out on some, but they did have fruit pies too. We didn't get to try the sandwiches and other food they serve but, if the quality and taste of their pies are any indication, the rest of the food is probably awesome too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetfan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This little place is literally in the middle of nowhere, alongside the highway on the way into Lahaina, and we almost didn't stop... are we ever glad we did. It's a bit hard to get to, and parking is difficult, but it's worth it....the food is out of this world.
Two of us split a reuben, and we shared a small chocolate praline macadamia nut cream pie among myself, my husband and daughter. We were blown away. The reuben was pefection - according to my husband, the 'best he'd ever had' - and the pie was incredible. Perfect crust, flavours, everything - just amazing. We ended up coming back 3 more times during our trip to eat here as it was just so good.
The menu has good variety - lots of sandwiches and salads, and more than enough treats! The prices are reasonable for the quality - a little high, but not nearly as high as some of the other restaurants in Maui that aren't as good. They have a small kids' menu but the portions were enough that we could easily split something (and my 8 year old was fine with most of the sandwiches on the main menu). You can take out or eat in - they had a great variety of freshly made breads, pies, etc., but go early because they do run out (I have yet to get my mini coconut cream pie, but will be back this year for sure!) The atmosphere is busy and can get fairly noisy, but we always seemed to hit right in the middle of a rush hour / lunch. When we went for dessert one night it was much quieter. Staff were friendly and helpful, and seemed to enjoy being there. Overall, our family loved it and it's definitely our favourite place on the island to eat. There's a little farmer's market /fruit stand next door worth checking out.
One note: if you are entering the parking area coming from Lahaina (travelling towards Kihei), be very careful entering and exiting the highway - it's almost a blind corner and it's a busy highway, and we found it a little difficult to turn left out of the parking lot. During busy times it was easier to exit to the right, drive a little ways down, and do a u-turn where it was safer to do so.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VancouverHolidaymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop also viewed

 

Been to Leoda's Kitchen and Pie Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing