We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food for a Splurge Dinner”
Review of Honu Oceanside

Honu Oceanside
Ranked #12 of 206 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $150
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kapunakea Street
Description: This property is temporary closed Due to the wildfires in Lahaina, Maui Honu Oceanside will be closed for an uncertain period of time. We will do our best to keep you updated on when we can reopen. Located steps from the ocean in Lahaina, Maui, Honu Oceanside invites guests to enjoy world- class ocean views, accompanied by a menu selection featuring fresh fish, incredible seafood, locally-sourced produce, inventive craft cocktails, and more! Join us for a casual family lunch while watching sea turtles from your table, or enjoy sunset accompanied by a worldly bottle of wine for a luxurious dinner or date night on the water. We can’t wait to wow you with our tide-to-table menu, complemented by globally sourced wines, stunning scenery, impeccable service, and Aloha!
Reviewed July 22, 2016

I visited Honu on recommendation from a local friend, and it did not disappoint. I was particularly impressed by the staff, who were warm and helpful. As some reviews mention, the prices are quite high, even for Maui. I had the large bowl of seafood chowder (a very reasonable $13) and as a native New Englander, I have to tell you I know chowder and this was truly memorable. The fish and chips (with three generous pieces of fresh ono, and a mix of sweet potato and regular fries) was $34, which definitely made me pause, but it was flawlessly done and delicious. Overall, I would go back in a heart beat, but I'd have to save up some cash if I wanted some of the more expensive entrees and/or a dessert... :)

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank disastermatt1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 836 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Return trip to Maui means a return to Honu! Fantastic service with an exquisite view, and then there is the spectacular food. Started off with local Maui beers, Bikini Blond Lager, and Washington Oyster Shooters. I had the Dungeonas Crab Sandwich which was marvelous, Boss Lady had Ono Fish & Chips which she loved. May go back in a few days, or visit the sister restaurants next door. Can't miss with this family chain of Maui restaurants.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank jmac1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

This was our second time to Honu and it was as delicious and memorable as the first time! A great variety of local fish--all prepared perfectly. We love how this restaurant sits right on (over) the water for an especially spectacular view and dining experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

We were only in the area for one week and we ate at this place twice! They offer gluten free options as well! We enjoyed the GF pizza, fish and chips and desserts on our visits. The staff are very friendly and the view could not be better. We were feet away from the ocean! If we return to this area, we will be returning to this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CaperinCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner at Honu Seafood and Pizza. The service was excellent and highly attentive (water was filled well before empty and plates where cleared in an efficient and non-intrusive manner). The food was also top notch. We had one of the specials of the day (lobster pizza) and it was delicious! The Ono fish and chips also were out standing. Not a cheap meal, but you get your money's worth.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Honu Oceanside also viewed

 

Been to Honu Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.