We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as the sister restaurant, Mala Tavern next door”

Honu Seafood and Pizza
Reserve with OpenTable
Honu Seafood and Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 265 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kapunakea Street
Description: In 2010 Judy and Mark opened Honu Seafood & Pizza 20 feet away from Mala Ocean Tavern. A quintessential seafood eatery which has a fully unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean with 10 feet from waters edge.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Just as good as the sister restaurant, Mala Tavern next door”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have been coming to Maui for 30 years and have enjoyed lunching and dining at Mala Tavern for many years. We dined this evening at Honu and were delighted to find the same cool laid-back ambience, great ocean-side seating (but understandably first-come first-seated on the outdoor terrace), and good food. Following the review of another TripAdvisor, we chose the mushroom pizza - delicious. To start, we shared the Ahi Poke - extremely fresh and tasty. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank markjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,088
    430
    144
    43
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I made a reservation for my husband's birthday & requested to be seated near the water. We didn't get good seats at all! I don't understand why take seats request if it's actually a first-come-first-serve basis?? Why not just say on your website; "no seat requests". I'm sure those walk-ins got better seats than us even if they only ordered pizza! I think you should prioritize people with reservations first. If they cancel, then I'm sure you can fill those seats again coz the place looks very busy. I don't feel like we were treated like a valuable customer. Is it because we're just locals? I will never go back this place for a celebration of anything again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiPrecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Honu is a oceanfront restaurant where every table enjoys a view of the ocean and surrounding islands along with the sound of waves as background music. Both the food and the service are excellent. We had the lamb riblets, the tofu salad, the crab louis, a pizza and the Kobe burger. All were outstanding. Can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 8069sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful beachside lunch”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 visited and loved the balance of foods that allowed adults and children alike to enjoy the great location

Helpful?
1 Thank pos1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great little casual seaside restaurant on the water. Good for families or couples. Just a gorgeous view and good food! Has a very funky, fun vibe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honu Seafood and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Honu Seafood and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing