We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view! Delicious food! Fabulous staff!”

Honu Seafood and Pizza
Reserve with OpenTable
Honu Seafood and Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 263 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kapunakea Street
Description: In 2010 Judy and Mark opened Honu Seafood & Pizza 20 feet away from Mala Ocean Tavern. A quintessential seafood eatery which has a fully unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean with 10 feet from waters edge.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic view! Delicious food! Fabulous staff!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Ready for dinner early after a day spent snorkeling around Makena, we planned on arriving just as dinner started at 4:30, not realizing Honu was open for "Happy Hour", so, when we arrived at 4:15 we hungrily headed on in! As soon as we entered, we were greeted with at least three "Alohas!" from staff and were taken to a table right along the shore. While too early for prime sunset watching, the view of the water from our table was fantastic. We were quickly brought a bowl of fried, seasoned chickpeas, which were delicious, and our incredibly personable waitress arrived soon after with the pared down 'Happy Hour' menu to take our order. Having eaten fish at most prior meals on the trip, we went simple with the Kobe Burger and Margherita Pizza; both arrived quickly and were delicious. Next time we're in Maui we look forward to returning to Honu!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug_J_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    422
    140
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Kept going back cuz I loved it so much! Everything was unique, fresh and delicious! Made reservations easily for sunset multiple nights!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hlckids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous view, delicious food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed a spectacular sunset while eating a terrific meal. Our waitress had a great personality, encouraging us to capture the perfect sunset photo and making us feel very welcome. And nice to be a short distance from the hubbub of Lahaina. We'll go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder..and Fish!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We either eat here or next door (Mala's) as soon as we get off the plane! But since the have a Mala's in Wailea, we came to Honu! The food and service is simply the best. My wife and daughter always order the Clam Chowder ( warning..it's rich), We also had the octopus appetizer. It was so tender and had great flavor with the edmame mash. We ordered the fish specials..they were so flavorful and tender! By far the best meal on the island and a great way to start the vacation

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fooddentista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Right on the Beach with Pizza and Local Beer”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Honu gets high marks for the fantastic view. We had a table right on the water's edge. Simply wonderful. Ordered the lamb riblets with honey and greek yogurt sauce - tasty. Enjoyed local beers on tap - Longboard and Bikini Blonde - fantastic. Shared a white shrimp pizza with cilantro pesto. Again, went great with the beer. The Turtle cheesecake we had for dessert was less than memorable. Actually, it was a bit dry and did not have an outstanding flavor. I love cheesecake - the texture - when it's done right - should be silken and creamy. This cheesecake definitely was not. Would I recommend this restaurant? Yes. Have not tried Mala next door so can't compare. But the oceanside dining helped smooth out some of the rough edges here. Bill for 4 beers, pizza, rib lets, and cheese cake and coffee - $97.00. View made it worthwhile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLeiSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honu Seafood and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Honu Seafood and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing