We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oceanfront restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honu Seafood and Pizza

Honu Seafood and Pizza
Reserve with OpenTable
Honu Seafood and Pizza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Soups, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kapunakea Street
Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oceanfront restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Ate at Honu last week and it was very good. The menu is a little ecclectic but should be something for everyone. The portions were large. Prices were a little high but worth the money. Our table was oceanside with great views. Make a reservation because it is a small restaurant and very crowded.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiigirlDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,029
    401
    135
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Delicious vegan lunch of butternut squash soup and whole wheat/nut/cherry bread! A little pricey, nice to sit right by the ocean shore.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pratice Aloha Expands in Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Sister restaurant to Mala, next door, Honu is a more stylish and expanded version of the same. We enjoyed it so much, we went back twice in a week, with plans for more trips the following week. The Kale salad is fantastic, and a nice change to the standard greens on most menus these days. The fried pork ears are also an unusual inclusion, and worth a try, as long as you have a group to share them with (it's a large serving!) The lobster sandwich was voted superlative, as was the crab mac and cheese, and the kobe burger was rated to be every bit as good as the one served next door, though slightly more sophisticated. The roasted beet salad was the only thing we tried which did not get rave reviews. It was fine, but rather lackluster compared to everything else, and lacked a distinct character of its own.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank myzkyti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just ate dinner at honu last night. This is a great restaurant for a special dinner. Had fresh oysters and the wok fried whole crab......amazing. Do get reservations so that you can get a Oceanside table.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolanikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pizza with a Maui Sunset View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Shortly after we were seated at our ocean front table on the back patio we realized why the restaurant is called Honu, hawaiian for "turtle". While alternating our gaze between the fabulous Maui sunset and the crashing waves, we noticed a few sea turtles pop up in the surf, which was no more than 20 or 30 yards from our table. It was a great way to start a great meal. We each started with a salad. Both salads were generous portions and made from locally grown ingredients. I had the roasted beet and ricotta salad and my wife had the kale salad with pomegranates, dates, walnuts and pecorino cheese. We found the salads to be perfect starters for the pizza that followed. We ordered the "special" pizza for that day which had Thai peanut sauce and Thai spices with chicken and Thai vegetables. The brick-oven-baked crust was perfect to our taste. Not so thin like eating a cracker, and not too thick to be "doughy". It was thin, yet with a slight chewy texture. We thought it was fabulous. We both ordered a draft beer, Castaway IPA, which we also enjoyed. I finished with an Affogato, a generous double shot of espresso over vanilla ice cream. My wife ordered the dessert special which was a delicious fruit tart with a buttery shortbread-like crust and local Hawaiian fruits with guava and mango sauces. Yummy! We liked Honu so much we returned a few days later after hiking the 8 mile Sliding Sands trail in the Haleakala crater. The second visit was just as enjoyable as the first.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steverino27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honu Seafood and Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Honu Seafood and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing