We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Relaxing Environment, but so much for "Aloha"!”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value and Relaxing Environment, but so much for "Aloha"!”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Easy to find just behind the main through road, I arrived on Sunday afternoon for a week's stay on Maui, but as for 'Aloha" ....... ?! I was confronted by the most unwelcoming welcome I have had at any hotel, ever – xyz the Sunday receptionist at the Outrigger Aina Nalu, had clearly graduated with honours from charm-removal school. She was disinterested, unhelpful and unfriendly. On the map of the complex she rapidly circled various facilities and services, of which I missed a couple, on asking her to repeat the last two, she folded the map, passed it over with a scowl and told me all I needed to know was on the back. I then had the temerity to enquire whether my room was a Garden View room as booked – “All our rooms are Garden View rooms!” she spat. When I returned to ask, as instructed on the back of ‘the map’, for the access codes for the complementary WiFi at the Pool Area, her response was a staccato “What WiFi?”. When I explained, she stated that there was only WiFi at the pool area - not so, also at reception - and there were no access codes. I’m so glad that I asked!

Although the garden view consisted of a row of palms separating the sitting and bedrooms from a courtyard, and the rooms were a little dark, the place was enormous and fully kitted – the kitchen/diner, sitting room, bedroom, utility and shower-room were clean and well appointed. The complex is set in large well kept gardens with two pools, barbecuing facilities and has three free WiFi hotspots. It is towards the back of Lahaina, which means that it is away from the hustle and bustle of the main drag, but it is only a three minute walk to Front Street and the harbour. As for the parking charges, yes they are steep and irritating, but parking isn't always easy on the very busy and narrow streets, so it is a small price to pay. If they didn't charge, no doubt the rates would rise!

All in all, it was a great place to stay and explore Maui, I would certainly go again, but my rating reflects the intermittent quality of reception, they were generally better than xyz, but not always and she was there to see me off the premises when I left, her usual surly and 'irritated at the inconvenience of it all' self. Pity really, it took the edge of an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    439
    152
    68
    49
See reviews for
414
415
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This location is perfect for anyone looking to enjoy all the great "feel" that the town of Lahaina has to offer. It's close to all the shopping centers and more importantly close to Front Street and the beach / waterfront.

A very clean place with great layouts in the rooms with lots of living space and kitchen space with beautiful bathrooms and a very functional washer and dryer unit.

The pools were well placed and nicely decorated.

Perfect location for a couple, a single or a family
A great choice

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanikFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Was everything my family was looking for. We stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom unit and the washer/dryer came in handy. Kitchen was perfect and was more then adequate. All rooms were air conditioned and the location to Front Street was very convienient. Only complaint is the same as all others, the price to pay for parking. There is little to no parking on the street and Aina Nalu will not allow you to park/pay per day. It would be better for Aina Nalu to just add this price into the cost of the room so you don't feel like you are getting ripped off. This was a small issue that did not take away from the resort or trip. Pools are both great and uncrowded and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL USA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Except for the fact that my wife got lost on the grounds at night and the lack of free Internet in the rooms, this was an excellent value. Free wireless Internet is available in the lobby and by the pool. The buildings and pools are spread out over low-lit grounds, attractive but can be confusing. There's not much beach at Lahaina, but the town is neat-funky and we enjoyed walking around. These condos are in an excellent location for doing that. It's a short drive to the beaches further up the coast, but a much longer drive to the airport at Kahului (40 minutes) and even further to the road to Hana or to the Haleakala volcano or to the better beaches along the Wailea coast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmccaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, WA
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We had a wonderful time in maui and the rooms were amazing for the money. Location was perfect, within walking distance to town and the harbor. The bummer part of the hotel was the parking situation. They charge you $15 PER DAY to park in their lot, and there is tons of space!! Luckily we found a parking space on the street every day for 2 weeks. The housekeepers were really nice but they would knock every day around 830am! Too early! We asked for a King but were given a Queen sized bed. Other than that, we will probably stay in an Outrigger again. For our 2 week stay it was very nice to have a full kitchen and a washer and dryer in the room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillydown27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I stayed at this hotel last week, we had originally booked for 2 days, but ended up returning for 4 more. The condition of the rooms is excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful and the pools and grounds are beautiful. The hotel is located only 2 blocks from all of the shops and the ocean and it is easy to walk to everything. We stayed at a different Outrigger hotel for 1 night, and this hotel was 100 times better. We stayed in both 2 bedroom and 1 bedroom units.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Our stay was great! It's in a great location on a quiet street in Lahaina and walking distance to a lot of great restaurants. The rooms were clean and brightly lit with sunlight. The pools were very relaxing with great views of the west Maui mountains. If you're looking to be on the beach, this is not the place to stay. If you're looking for something likr the Ritz, this is not it. However, If you're looking for a high quality place to lay your head at night with a great price and a convenient location, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atate1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
231 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
3.9 mi away
Maui Eldorado
Maui Eldorado
#20 of 32 in Lahaina
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing