We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient location to Lahaina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very convenient location to Lahaina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Outrigger's best point is its location. Within 10 min walking distance to restaurants & few beaches within 20-30 min walking distance. Unit includes AC unit in den & bedroom. Full furnished kitchen. Towels & beach towels furnished. Maid service available with additional charge. 2 salt water pools. Good lounge chairs by pools, some uncovered and some covered. Great concierge that can explain and pre-book areas sights. We booked a helicopter ride, horseback riding, snorkeling, and an Elvis show (very entertaining). Will definitely return to this property. Very, very convenient and also very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coconut wing and found it to be fine. Was out first visit. We actually connected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Aloha Cindy H,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm glad you enjoyed your first stay at the Outrigger Aina Nalu. You are correct, the property is in a very convenient location. I'm glad you were able to find your way around Lahaina town. For the pools though, the smaller pool which is located near the lobby is actually a chlorinated pool.

Your review was very helpful and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    435
    149
    66
    50
See reviews for
403
409
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cergy, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed there for 6 nights with my wife and it was just perfect. Apartment was comfortable and sell equipped. We liked decoration and style.
Pools are very nice and not so much crowded giving number of units.
Lahaina is a small town so everything is easily available by walking.
From our trip in 3 islands, this was the best hotel we had. Would gladly come back. Nothing to criticize except one tiny thing...

It is unfortunate that there is a parking fee. With so many places available... as others said, there are some free parking places around so it was ok but still. Paying 17$ a day, not possible for us.
A part from that, everything was great.

Room Tip: Ask for units on first floor to have some light (if you like it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Aloha Guelson,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the property and also enjoyed the convenient location. After realizing how centrally located the Outrigger Aina Nalu is, some guests prefer not to rent a car. It looks as though that may better suit you next time.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great place to stay! My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We had a one bedroom and it was unbelievable! Clean, spacious, full kitchen (great for making meals), quiet, great place and the staff were nice and helpful. The only thing is there was only wifi in the lobby but direct plug-in in the bedroom so if you need internet in your room, plan on bringing a laptop. Overall great place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPFournier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Aloha MPFournier,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon stay. It seems as though staying in a condo is perfect for your travel style.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We hope you will return very soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our unit was clean and tidy and had everything we needed (except a can opener - but neighbours were so friendly and let us borrow theirs). Pools were lovely. Nice shady cabanas and trees so we had respite from the sun. So close to everything you need to do in town. Grocery store a couple blocks walk. After seeing the alternative places to stay on Maui this place was by far the one that suited us the best. My only complaint would be the ridiculously expensive parking. But we made a game of it, parking on the street after our daily excursions. Feel management needs to address this issue. Loved our stay at Aina Nalu. Would definitely choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: There are only two levels. We liked being on the ground floor for easy access to pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arotahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Aloha Arotahi,

thank you for taking the time to post your mainly favorable review. I'm glad you enjoyed the convenient location of the property.

In regard to the parking fee guests are welcome to attempt street parking or parking in another paid lot. The parking lot at the Aina Nalu allows guests to park only steps from their unit and offers unlimited in and out privileges. Many guests choose not to rent a car due to the convenient location of the property or choose to only rent a car for a few nights. This property does not require guests to pay a resort fee in which all guests would have to pay regardless of whether they have a car rental or not. I apologize you felt the parking charge was too high.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I came here for a wedding and stayed at the Aina Nalu for 5 nights. We really enjoyed it and found that the unit we were in was very good and met all our needs. It was clean and tidy and everything functioned very well. It was very hot when we were there (July 2014) so we really made full use of the air conditioner and the fan. As there was thick bamboo outside our window it nicely shaded the unit all day. It was in a great location close to Front Street and an easy walk to restaurants and activities. My only negative was that I couldn't see why they needed to charge for the parking. There were acres of of parking plenty for everyone and I think it should be included in the price. One thing I thought was really good was having a washer and dryer in the unit though I would have liked a clothes rack so I didn't have to use the dryer, it was so hot everything would have dried quickly. There were 2 lovely pool though they weren't fenced so I would not take small children there as they could easily wander off into the pool area. All in all though it was a great place to stay, check in was quick our room was ready when we arrived and the staff were pleasant knowledgeable and helpful. Thanks Aina Nalu staff!

Room Tip: We were in D 106 or 8 from memory, it was close to the car park so easy to get to car with luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 610Margaretd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Aloha 610Margaretd,

Thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed the unit and the surrounding area. I will be sure to pass along your comments in regard to the drying rack and the the staff.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent 3 nights in a garden room. Location was excellent, but the rooms very basic. Not enough room to move about and the air conditioner far too noisy. One pool was closed, making the other rather cramped. Parking fee too expensive, seeing as how you are paying to stay there. Internet only worked at office or one pool area. Would have been nice to have a comfortable chair to sit it, and a kettle to boil water. Rooms clean, but would up grade room type before staying again

Room Tip: Up grade from basic room if you need comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milkman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Milkman2014,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the location of the property. I do agree that perhaps a larger unit may be a better choice for you next time.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in Room C103 (Hibiscus Building) which had our back door facing the back pool area. The back pool area is heaven on earth! Our kids loved it! (Ages 15, 12, 8, & 6) You know you choose the right place to stay when the kids cannot wait to get back to the condo to swim! Our 2 bedroom/2 bath room was perfect, clean and nicely decorated. The showers were delightful, but no tub if you are tub person. We are not, so it worked great for us! The location is perfect, within walking distance of everything you need. Easy drive to Kaanapali Beach for snorkeling and beach fun. The concierge service was right outside our door when we wanted to plan an activity. We ate in quite a bit to save money and the kitchen was great. Refrigerator, stove/oven, and dishwasher. It had everything you needed to cook and eat. The beds were comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a pool facing room on the 1st floor if you want access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crkuffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha crkuffner,

thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the Outrigger Aina Nalu. It seems that staying in a condo was the right choice for your family. Thank you for also offering some helpful tips for other guests.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
8.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#11 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing