We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pretty grounds”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here for a week with girlfriends and we were in a two bedroom one bath in the H building. Liked the location though no lanai. We did use the pool patio seating and tables to enjoy our dinner outside though. Good Grills available. Pools are very nice, hot tub is clean. You can definitely park in the neighborhood though I think the hotel should not be charging $17.50/day for parking. Trick in to get back to the hotel a bit early to find parking. Never once had trouble though some residents were angry with me parking in front of their house. The hotel definitely needs to rethink the parking fees. First night in go to the Safeway and get the local poke, cook up some rice (rice cooker in the room) and enjoy. Had all the amenities in the kitchen. Also if you are dying for a little beach the first day you get there walk down to front street and turn left and walk to the little beach where all the outriggers are. Walk down and just float in the water. Awesome after a long flight. If you smoke DO NOT smoke in your room, there are designated smoking areas. The guy ahead of me got slapped a hefty smoking fee. Two separate security guards saw them smoking in their room.

Room Tip: If you stay in the H building which is only 2 bd 1 ba units try to get the top floor, vaulted ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryMc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Aloha MaryMc1973,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for noting some helpful tips for other guests. The beach area you suggested is a very convenient walk from the property.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We hope you will come back again soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed in Maui for eight nights and spent first four at Aina Nalu in Lahaina. We were aware of resort fees and the fact you have to pay a fee if your require daily service etc etc so had no issues with these fees. The location for staying in Lahaina is great and is easy walk to attractions and restaurants. The resort has two great pools and we were more than happy with our room. All in all hard to fathom some of the negative reviews but if you wan't to look for faults your will no doubt find faults. Highly recommend Outrigger Aina Nalu.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Aloha richo21282,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable and honest review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

the reception of this hotel is awesome, some of the reception staff were pretty hard faced but others were extremely friendly and helpful.
the hotel rooms themselves look very ordinary like temporary accommodation for evacuees, but internally the accommodation had all we required and were lovely and cool. the rooms were very well equipped. we were lucky enough to have ground floor rooms.
the pool and cabana's were lovely and very relaxing.
there was limited wifi available, ie not in our rooms, and even the kids didn't complain too much about that.

it was an excellent central location for this interesting tourist town. we were only a short walk to the huge banyan tree and the main street, but far enough away that you didn't hear any of the noise.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms while having cars right at your balcony door, were cooler than upstairs. however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Aloha Roslyn R,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy your stay with us. The property is very convenient in terms of location and it's great you were able to take advantage of that.

Please let me know if you need any assistance with a future stay.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Great service!
we were supposed to get only one room but when we arrived they gave us a huge two rooms with kitchen with no extra charge!!!
The pool was clean and nice!
You can get information for all activities on the island, we actually won a scuba diving with 50 % off.
Amazing stay with no issues! I would come back there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoraN_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Aloha LoraN_87,

thank you for posting your fantastic review! Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I had read so many poor reviews on this hotel. So when we bid on Priceline and this was what we got, I was disappointed to say the least. BUT when we got there, got in our room and checked out the property, I was in love! I have no idea what other people saw that was so bad! We Loved it and we would absolutely stay there again! Their fresh water pool area is so relaxing! I could have slept on those lounge chairs for years! The room was nice, especially for the price! It was super close to the downtown area, which meant we could walk and avoid the parking hassle! I'm ready to go back!

The only downfall I saw is they do sneak in a $19/day fee for parking which is annoying. However, there is street parking so you don't necessarily have to buy it but street parking is hit or miss.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kknichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Aloha Kknichols,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience of the property. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Outrigger Aina Nalu appears to be very nice. Unfortunately their upgrades, which you see on their website (like granite countertops in the bathroom), doesn’t matter if the overall room isn’t clean. Specifically, their baseboards and moldy AC unit.

We also went to the front desk, the night we checked in, and requested an extra pillow. They weren’t very friendly and said that we needed to come back in the morning to get one. Defeats the purpose, right?

Overall cleanliness and hospitality were lacking. We would not stay here again.

They did have a very nice pool/spa.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Aloha Katie N,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that the customer service was lacking. After 10:00 pm we have an attendant at the Front Desk who is able to provide keys and directions to the unit but is not able to provide other Front Desk services.

When you have cleanliness issues in the unit please bring them to our attention right away so we can have housekeeping correct them or possibly find you another unit. Unfortunately we are not able to correct the situation if it is not brought to our attention until check out.

Please let me know if you would like to discuss your stay further.
Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is your basic condo. rental with no frills provided. Since there are few places to stay adjacent to Lahaina, this location is in demand. I rented a two bedroom, two bath unit with a full kitchen and washer & dryer. The units are dark inside and don't provide any sort of view. Furnishings are comfortable, basic, and clean. Prices are very reasonable. The only things that keep me coming back here are the price and the location. Be aware that they don't clean your room while you are there unless you pay for it. That wasn't always the case.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8,640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Aloha 8640,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
240 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#32 of 32 in Lahaina
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $181 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing