We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, Clean but not that Handy”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Neat, Clean but not that Handy”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

These condos are spacious and clean, but really quite far from the water (3 blocks), I suppose they are fine depending on what youe expectations might be for a holiday.

The two pools are beautiful and the grounds are very nicely kept. It is a short 3 block walk to Front Street where all the shops and restaurants are located. I suppose I might stay here again as it is a reasonable hotel/condo. I really have no negative comments, but there is no WOW comments either

Room Tip: May want to request a ground level room so you do not have to carry luggage and groceries up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Aloha RickSandra,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at the property. I apologize you were not aware ahead of time where the beach is located. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    435
    151
    68
    49
See reviews for
411
413
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We recently stayed in unit A-102 for six nights. The unit was clean and well stocked with the necessities we needed. No extras like beach equipment, though. We did not mind that there was no maid service during our stay, we are quite self-sufficient and do not like being disturbed during our stay. We did not shell out for the on-site parking and were able to find street parking within a block or so, every night. The check-out housekeeping cost was less than the website stated, so if that is a concern, you might want to look into that beforehand. The property is two blocks from the main strip in Lahaina, so it was nice to leave our car behind and go walking or to catch a whale watching cruise from the harbor.

The cons were that the walls were very thin. We immediately noticed when people checked in next door during our stay. They were not noisy and we could tell it was a regular conversation volume, but we could hear everything. And because of the layout, we had to keep our blinds and doors closed for privacy. Also, it would have been nice to have a lanai, to be able to eat outdoors, but none were available and there wasn't enough privacy anyways.

That being said, the few staff we dealt with were all very nice and we were comfortable staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Aloha NVanFamily,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass along your comments about the staff to management. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Aina Nalu complex is a pleasant retreat with its own amenities, but it is also within a couple of blocks of the banyan park, the waterfront, the sights, and the shops. You can eat in one of the many restaurants looking out toward the sunset, and be back in your own quiet condo within minutes. We chose to pay for the rather expensive overnight parking because our unit was one of the furthest from the main road and also because the walk from the car to our doors was just a few feet after a busy day with tired young children. Others might prefer to use the less expensive and slightly less convenient parking across the street from the complex. They only enforce at night, so you can drive in to unload your luggage and load up when you leave even if you opt for the offsite parking. They also have an understandable restriction for use of the beautiful pools by residents, but are very relaxed and pleasant in enforcing it. We used the larger pool with its hot tub and attractive well kept lounging and picnic shelters. We enjoyed our stay at Aina Nalu and would recommend it to others.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Aloha James S,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. I'm pleased you and your family were able to enjoy your stay at the property. You have brought up a couple of points that are helpful to future guests.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our room smelled musty and mildewed. There is no longer daily cleaning service, there is NO cleaning service until you vacate the unit and then you're charged! It costs $15 per day for parking. Apparently there is a problem with private owners and Outrigger over rental policies and if you call housekeeping to get a towel or for a repair they ask if you rented through Outrigger. The staff seemed unhappy and not at all friendly. No smiles, no warm welcome. This was our sixth time staying here and after this experience it was our last. Don't know what's happened in the last couple of years but they need to fix it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janp0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Aloha janp0122,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us. We actually stopped daily housekeeping service in March of 2012 and our check out cleaning cost started this summer.

Please contact me in regard to staff as I would like to pass along specific comments to management.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Prior to arriving at the hotel we upgraded from a Studio to a One Bedroom, the upgrade fee was minimal and well worth it. The extra living space that you get is nice, the kitchen was very useful and it also came with the washer and dryer. The hotel has two pools, the salt water pool has a very nice and scenic view of the valley. The restaurants and stores are all in walking distance, the hotel itself is a good 45 min drive from the airport, but it feels secluded yet close to everything.

Room Tip: One bedroom with one bath, can accommodate 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasyed786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Aloha tasyed786,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your 1 bedroom accommodation. It's great you enjoyed the convenience of the location.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel looks great in photos but once we got here, we were immediately disappointed by the obvious dirtiness and wear and tear of the place. Oven had food remnants. Backsplash was covered in stains. All the faucets had months worth of hard water stains (the kitchen faucet was so gross, we spent at least half an hour scraping off black gunk just so we could touch it). Counter is granite but hasn't been polished in a while so it is very dull with lots of stainage. Counters and coffee table were also covered in a light slick of grease. Walls had lipstick, fingerprints, scuff marks, animal scratches. Closet had kibble on the floor. Couch was sunken and looked like it came off the curb.

I talked to front desk about it and she mentioned some rooms were being re-painted. I think this hotel would have been better if they had a team to deep clean rooms. I'm sure this place must have been nice when it was new but now... I know why it was the most affordable condo on Maui. I'm not surprised that some of the rooms have ant problems (luckily, ours didn't).

Typically, I'm not super picky about hotels. I just like a clean place to stay and this place is probably one of the dirtiest places I have stayed besides Che Telmo in Argentina. However, the hotel itself is in a great location (walking distance to everything) and the complex is nice enough.

Rooms don't have wifi access so remember to bring your own device. So 1990's!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank froggybrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha froggybrain,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that the room did not meet your needs. Unfortunately it is difficult for us to correct a problem in regard to cleanliness of the unit if we are not told until the day before you are scheduled to check out. Please be advised that is not normal for the property and we have taken your concerns to the Housekeeping manager.
I’m pleased you were able to enjoy the convenience of the property. Please let me know if you need assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

When we checked in, the lady at the front desk told us that if we wanted our room cleaned it would be $50.00 each time. She went on to mention that we could call the front desk for complimentary amenities (shampoo/conditioner); but, if we wanted extra towels or our room cleaned we would have to call house-keeping for a $50 fee. I was confused until I got into the room and realized that this was a time share. If I had stayed past a week, I would have wanted the room cleaned w/ fresh towels. So, not knowing this wasn't a "hotel" upfront would have been an issue for me.

However, as it turns out, since we stayed < 1 week, we didn't run out of towels or shampoo. The rooms were clean and had a complete kitchen (fridge, stove, microwave, sink, dishes); there were also a stacked washer and dryer w/ two packages of laundry detergent (so, we could have washed towels (and clothes) if we had the need).

The location of this condo was perfect. It is one block from the waterfront and Front Street where there are restaurants and shopping. The area seemed very safe, we walked every night w/ absolutely no problems. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMROX69CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Aloha JAMROX69CA,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy your stay with us. You are correct that we no longer offer daily housekeeping service and there is a fee. However the 1 and 2 bedroom units offer a washer and dryer so guests are able to wash their own sheets and towels as needed. The Aina Nalu is actually not a time share (although the units are condominium accommodations) but a vacation rental property managed by Outrigger Hotels Hawaii.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the property. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
5.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aina Nalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing