We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front Desk Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Front Desk Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Liz checked us in when we arrived last week Monday for a three-night stay. She provided outstanding hospitality and aloha, went the extra mile so we could check in early, and helped us with whatever we needed. This is our fourth summer in a row staying at Aina Nalu and we're not interested in staying anywhere else in Lahaina. Give her a raise, because people like her are the "something extra" that keeps up coming back.

Our only suggestion would be to make sure that the two bedroom suites have a dining table, because it's hard for six people to eat at a bar with only two stools.

Other than that, the location is conveniently within walking distance of all of Lahaina town, the decor is exquisite, the pools and barbecue area are great, and we JUST LOVE IT. Keep up the great work, Aina Nalu.

Room Tip: Some ground floor suites have direct access to the salt water pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha Stacy R,

thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I have already passed along the kind words you had for "Aunty Liz" at the Front Desk to her manager.

Thank you for your suggestion on the dining table. We do have some tables and chairs on the property for guests to use during their stay. The next time you stay with us please ask the Front Desk about it.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay. Please contact me if you need assistance with booking.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    435
    149
    66
    50
See reviews for
403
409
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LANGDON HILLS ESSEX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at aina nalu during our honeymoon, when we arrived, we received a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful one bed apartment, the rooms were very spacious, the kitchen fully equipped with a large fridge and dishwasher, the bathroom had a lovely walk in shower. The whole apartment was well kept and spotless. The grounds of the hotel were very well kept the large pool was amazing and quiet ( we always managed to get a sun bed or one of the the many cabanas) the smaller pool had two BBQs which the guests could use, on a first come first served basis,again the BBQs were spotless and we would definitely recommend heading up to food land supermarket which is 5 minute walk and buying some steak! The location is central to lahaina's Main Street only a two minute walk thru a small residential street, the staff were all very polite and helpful, I can't recommend this place highly enough, will definitely return to this great hotel

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PALM-TREE-SUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha PALM-TREE-SUE,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. We appreciate you spending such a special occasion with us and are glad you enjoyed your honeymoon stay. Please contact me if you need assistance in booking your 1st Anniversary stay with us (or any other stay).

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Aina Nalu. The location was central, the estate was well manicured and distinctively Hawaiian... But best of all, it was quiet and relaxing during the night. Usually, rooms don't look as nice as the pictures, but I found this to be the opposite here. The room was well layed out with relatively new finishes. Laundry and kitchen were an asset though we ate out at one of Front street's many restaurants everyday! All in all, it's not a hotel so do t expect to be waited on hand and foot, but the staff was polite and helpful through and through!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellec2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha Daniellec2013,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm glad the property was what you expected and more. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking another stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. Just a short walk to Front St, which gave us access to shopping, restaurants, the Warren & Annabelle Magic Show, beach, etc. You could also easily drive to other towns from here. The bedrooms were very comfortable. We loved being able to have our own kitchen and laundry. The pools were great, and never overcrowded. The grills by the pools were nice touch. We met many great people from all over the world while sharing the grills. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. There were timeshare people on the property, but we never talked to them and they never hassled us. The offered a free breakfast but it was optional, and they didn't push it.

Cons: There was a small couch and a chair in the living room. So not really enough seating for 4 people. One more chair would do it. You have to pay $15 a day if you want to park on the resort. They only offered wired internet in the rooms. Who has devices that even plug into a wired internet any more? The had WiFi by the pools, but often times it was really slow. Guess it's a good reason to enjoy your vacation and not worry about the rest of the world.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo is really nice for two couple who are traveling together. That way you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aka_Margo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha Aka_Margo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you were able to see so many positives in staying at the property. It's always exciting to meet new people while on vacation. And I'm glad you were able to take the time to "unplug" and relax while on vacation even though it wasn't planned. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This resort is an interesting one to try and write a review for.... The positives are that it is in a fantastic location, is reasonably priced, the shared areas (pool, etc) really are more ice those you would find in a top end resort and the rooms are generally well appointed.

But then there are a few items which run counter to this.... There is no outdoor elements in the rooms, the mattress was awful and in need of replacing and there was no wifi....

Overall though a good stay in a nice resort in a great location....

Room Tip: Rooms on the western side are closest to the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha paulmac44,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our pool areas and most elements of the unit.

Please contact me about the unit you stayed in as I would like to have our staff check on the bed. Please let me know if you have any other concerns you would like to discuss.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent from the 4-10th June 2013 in a 1 bedroom apartment.
Besides the room being very dark, and not much clothes storage place the facilities were fantastic.
The apartment kitchen was great; the bathroom laundry excellent and the comfort of the bed wonderful.
Position wise in Wainee Street is the best ever. The property outside is heaven; both pools and areas beautifully manicured, staff so divine and definitely a property we would return to or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha WendyF62,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy the kitchen and washer and dryer. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The location was perfect for us...walk to town for dinner and shopping or catch a movie at the theater after being tourist or beach bums all day.
We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath - separated by living room and kitchen. We were on the first floor so the ceilings are not as tall as the 2nd floor units so for taller folks the ceiling fans could be concern...so we just didn't use them. The beds were fine, lots of towels, loved having the washer and dryer and each room had a TV.
The only issue was the unit needs a good spring cleaning...the thick layer of dust caused us sneezing fits.

Room Tip: the kitchen is stocked with all the small appliances like toaster, coffee maker and blender.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliej2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha juliej2013,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. You also have provided other guests with some ideas for their next stays with us. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking another stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
8.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing