We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, central location”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Aina Nalu. The location was central, the estate was well manicured and distinctively Hawaiian... But best of all, it was quiet and relaxing during the night. Usually, rooms don't look as nice as the pictures, but I found this to be the opposite here. The room was well layed out with relatively new finishes. Laundry and kitchen were an asset though we ate out at one of Front street's many restaurants everyday! All in all, it's not a hotel so do t expect to be waited on hand and foot, but the staff was polite and helpful through and through!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniellec2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Aloha Daniellec2013,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm glad the property was what you expected and more. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking another stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
There are newer reviews for Aina Nalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. Just a short walk to Front St, which gave us access to shopping, restaurants, the Warren & Annabelle Magic Show, beach, etc. You could also easily drive to other towns from here. The bedrooms were very comfortable. We loved being able to have our own kitchen and laundry. The pools were great, and never overcrowded. The grills by the pools were nice touch. We met many great people from all over the world while sharing the grills. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. There were timeshare people on the property, but we never talked to them and they never hassled us. The offered a free breakfast but it was optional, and they didn't push it.

Cons: There was a small couch and a chair in the living room. So not really enough seating for 4 people. One more chair would do it. You have to pay $15 a day if you want to park on the resort. They only offered wired internet in the rooms. Who has devices that even plug into a wired internet any more? The had WiFi by the pools, but often times it was really slow. Guess it's a good reason to enjoy your vacation and not worry about the rest of the world.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo is really nice for two couple who are traveling together. That way you...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aka_Margo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Aloha Aka_Margo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you were able to see so many positives in staying at the property. It's always exciting to meet new people while on vacation. And I'm glad you were able to take the time to "unplug" and relax while on vacation even though it wasn't planned. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This resort is an interesting one to try and write a review for.... The positives are that it is in a fantastic location, is reasonably priced, the shared areas (pool, etc) really are more ice those you would find in a top end resort and the rooms are generally well appointed.

But then there are a few items which run counter to this.... There is no outdoor elements in the rooms, the mattress was awful and in need of replacing and there was no wifi....

Overall though a good stay in a nice resort in a great location....

Room Tip: Rooms on the western side are closest to the pools
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Aloha paulmac44,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our pool areas and most elements of the unit.

Please contact me about the unit you stayed in as I would like to have our staff check on the bed. Please let me know if you have any other concerns you would like to discuss.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent from the 4-10th June 2013 in a 1 bedroom apartment.
Besides the room being very dark, and not much clothes storage place the facilities were fantastic.
The apartment kitchen was great; the bathroom laundry excellent and the comfort of the bed wonderful.
Position wise in Wainee Street is the best ever. The property outside is heaven; both pools and areas beautifully manicured, staff so divine and definitely a property we would return to or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Aloha WendyF62,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm pleased you were able to enjoy the kitchen and washer and dryer. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The location was perfect for us...walk to town for dinner and shopping or catch a movie at the theater after being tourist or beach bums all day.
We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath - separated by living room and kitchen. We were on the first floor so the ceilings are not as tall as the 2nd floor units so for taller folks the ceiling fans could be concern...so we just didn't use them. The beds were fine, lots of towels, loved having the washer and dryer and each room had a TV.
The only issue was the unit needs a good spring cleaning...the thick layer of dust caused us sneezing fits.

Room Tip: the kitchen is stocked with all the small appliances like toaster, coffee maker and blender.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliej2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Aloha juliej2013,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. You also have provided other guests with some ideas for their next stays with us. Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking another stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

pros: we loved the location of this place. everything on front street was literally 5 mins away. made cruise trips and finding food and groceries very easy. we could just park at the location and walk everywhere (which is great cos parking is difficult to find). Pool was also very nice. they had grills out by the pool for ppl to grill their own food which is great if you want to do that. we were in a 2 bed 1 bath. the kitchen was a nice size and lots of utensils were provided.

cons: the place has no wireless internet in the room. It does at hotspots near the pool and there is wired internet in the room. we couldnt use our tablet or comp who's wire we hadn't brought. They should upgrade on that. only one of the 2 bedrooms had AC and the living room had it too. those of our party in the second room were a little uncomfortable. the agent who sells timeshare vacations was a little agressive. i preferred to just walk down to the harbor and get brochures of all options available.

Room Tip: the 2 bed 1 bath has a bigger kitchen and living space than the 2 bed 2 bath which is convenient if...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portlander123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Aloha portlander123,

thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. I'm glad to see you were able to enjoy your stay with us. And we agree that the property is a great home base for guests who enjoy exploring the island.

I would enjoy hearing back from you in regard to the internet in the unit and why you were not able to plug your computer into the ethernet port. I will also pass along your comments in regard to the agent you were speaking about.

Please contact me if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. And I look forward to hearing from you soon about the internet.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We rented through an owner on another website and loved our unit. It was modern and extremely comfortable. The grounds are very well kept but you have to pay if you want to park your car in their lot. We were fortunate enough to easily find free street parking everyday of our stay. Loved the pool, it was a great place to hang out when we were sick of dealing with sand. The location is perfect, walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Lahaina. It was also a convenient place to use as a base to explore the rest of the island without feeling like you've been in a car forever. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
232 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
3.8 mi away
Maui Eldorado
Maui Eldorado
#21 of 32 in Lahaina
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $183 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing