We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel within walking distance of Front Street!”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Port Moody, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best hotel within walking distance of Front Street!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom unit at Aina Nalu and had a great stay! The renovations that they have done to the rooms are fantastic - very modern and clean. The 2 bedroom units are very spacious and the full kitchens are fully stocked with dishes, appliances & utensils. We were very grateful for the dishwasher and washer & dryer in the unit.
We swam in the chlorine pool near our unit the first day and discovered the fresh water pool & hot tub on the second day - LOVED the salt water pool! It was so tranquil and had the feeling of an infinity pool surrounded by lush green grass. Particularly loved the (free) pool side cabanas! The grounds were very well maintained with a variety of flowers, palm trees & greenery. Our kids especially loved all of the geckos and were very fond of a kitty that was hanging around the property!
It is within very easy walking distance of THE famous Front Street in Lahaina, where you will find restaurants & shops right alongside the ocean. We picked up some groceries at Foodland, which was also within easy walking distance from Aina Nalu (Starbucks is located in the same strip mall : ) We loved that it was within walking distance of the shops and restaurants, but yet found the hotel to be very quiet. There is no restaurant at the hotel, nor is it necessary.
The only downsides that I can think of - Baby Beach was the closest swimming beach from what we understood, which was a bit of a hike, especially with kids in the heat! There are lots of beautiful beaches a short drive away though, so if you have a rental car, it's not a problem. The hotel itself is a bit older so it's not sound proofed. The rooms are a bit on the dark side, but that was fine with us after being in the hot sun all day. The staff overall was friendly and accommodating. There wasn't much in the way of children's programs, but hey, you're in Maui - our kids were thrilled to be at the pool every day and enjoyed hunting for geckos!
We had no problem finding parking on the street (although the hotel was not at full capacity) so this saved us the parking fees. We booked early through the hotel and used an early booking promo code that they were offering which made our stay very affordable and well worth every penny! We'd happily stay at Aina Nalu again.

Room Tip: We opted for a ground floor unit so that we didn't have to tell our kids not to jump around out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Aloha Mandy A,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. You had a lot of great things to say about the property and some helpful information for other guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please contact me if you need any assistance in a future booking.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    439
    152
    68
    49
See reviews for
413
415
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stay at this property a few times a year and always enjoy myself. It is old Hawaiia at it's best. The grounds are full of lush mature vegetation. There are two pools. A smaller intimate one and a more recent large one with a huge pavillion where you can connet to the internet, watch tv on a big screen or just lounge and nap. It is all completed with a hot tub and bar b q areas. Buildings are two story, no elevators and recently remodeled. What I like are the bathrooms. They have huge walk in stone tile showers and louvered floor to ceiling windows. Each unit has a kitchen and washer/dryer. The lobby is small but staff are helpful and everything is kept spotless. There are a multitude of restaurants, bars, galleries and museums withing a short walk. This is the place to stay in Lahaina town. Close to everything and never a dull moment.

Room Tip: the upper floors have vaulted ceilings and feel very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currimao, Ilocos Norte, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Second return to Aina Nalu after a couple of years. Still peaceful; quiet, lush landscaping. Our 1 bedroom, 1 bath was more like a residence with its full-sized kitchen with pots, pans, plates etc. Nice island decor; and the bathrooms look pretty fancy; at least compared to my bathroom at home. Staying there, one can almost feel like a resident of the island because the complex is not a "mega-hotel" or high rise, as one sees in Honolulu or Kaanapali. Location is great; just walking distance from Front Street in Lahaina, but being two blocks (or so) away, you hear no noise or hustle and bustle. The staff is friendly and helpful. Be prepared to carry your bags up stairs to second floor (if you have a second floor unit) because there is no elevator, so pack light (you can bring less and wash your clothes; each room has a washer and dryer with soap provided). Parking is $15 per night which is a relative deal, because as anyone who has stayed in Honolulu knows, parking can be $25+ per night. You can park in another lot close by if you want and it is only $12.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and found it to be very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha James H,

thank you for choosing to stay with us again. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your stay once again. You bring up some very good points in regard to the property which I'm sure will be helpful to other guests.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed May 2013 in the 2 bedroom 1 bath unit (H-205) For the price we payed I was amazed at the unit. Nothing fancy and you don't get any extras, but if you're looking to save some $$ than this is a great place. Close to town so you can just walk there. They do provide you with all the plates, pans, paper towels, laundry detergent and any other basics that you need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha Jenny B,

thank you for posting your positive review. I'm so pleased your were able to not only enjoy your stay but also found great value in it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please contact me if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It should be noted that we did not travel to Maui for the resort life. We were just looking for a place to rest while we did all of our island adventures. This place more than exceeded our expectations. We were originally booked for a studio and were upgraded to a one/one. I was extremely content with the upgrade since it allowed us to wash our clothes and use the kitchenette. The location is optimal; walking distance to Front Street, which is full of restaurants and shops and the Lahaina harbor should you be taking any boats out of this place. The pool and heated pool were a very nice touch. You have the view of the west Maui peaks in the backdrop. Also, we won a sunset cocktail cruise (2 for the price of 1) at the 1st day complimentary breakfast. Okay, to be fair, the complimentary breakfast is a bit pitiful, but I would recommend you go just for the opportunity to win something. The only thing I would advice against is paying for parking. We stayed 8 nights and we found parking on 7 of those 8 nights. The night we didn't, we parked in an overnight lot just down the street for $3.00 less than the hotel's price. When we did find parking, we parked right outside of the hotel. The only thing that was a bit questionable was the cleanliness of the bedsheets heh!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vyakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

i stayed in a 2-br, 2-bath condo with my husband and another couple. the room was very modern with an impressive kitchen and bathrooms.

it is a 2-minute walk into town, which was perfect for a night out after a day on the beach. a 20-minute $2 bus ride will take you to whaler's village and kaanapali beach.

i got to spend a brief morning at the pool but wish i had more time to enjoy the pool and bbq.

i would recommend the condos to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jooliecoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha jooliecoolie,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. You have noted a couple good tips for other guests. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to other guests.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We 've stayed at the Outrigger Aina Nalu for years but this time, it was very disappointing. It was dirty and frankly, we will look for other location next time. Apparently they've been stratified and different owners for the units/buildings and although they offer daily housekeeping, it comes with a $50 charge per day. Consequently, we had finger nail clippings, stained mattress covers, and heavy accumulation of dust on window coverings.

Room Tip: I dont think theres a bad location if they were all clean but not sure what the other buildings were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SierraBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerAinaNalu, Guest Relations Manager at Aina Nalu, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha SierraBc,

thank you for posting your review. I'm sorry the unit did not meet your expectations. I apologize you were not informed of the changes to our housekeeping service prior to your arrival. Please email me as I would like more information on your stay so we can be sure this does not happen again.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
oan@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
894 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing