We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Awesome value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed at the Aina Nalu Nov 13 - 21 with a group and all of our rooms were great. The complex is nice and modern and there is a lot of room. I noticed some rooms have better TVs than others, some have 50" flat screens while others have 32" screens. The only thing I didn't like is the $15 a day parking fee for the resort but all things considered, I know I'll be back. Our two bedroom two bathroom unit was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the new TVs added. Some ground level units have great access to the saltwater p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Formiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    435
    149
    66
    50
See reviews for
403
409
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in Nov of 2011 and it was great. We rented a 1 bedroom apartment and was upgraded to a 2 bedroom. Our room is bigger and nicer than any apartment I used to live in when I was younger. The kitchen was big and included a dish washer. The living room included internet and a big tv. Our bedroom was nice and also included a big tv. I liked the bathroom because the shower was huge and nice and also included a washer and dryer.
The grounds are nice. They have a couple of nice pools and cabanas to hang out in. We used the grills a couple of times and they kept the Webbers nice and clean.
They don't charge you for internet, but you have to go to the pool areas to use wifi. They are also a non-smoking grounds. I wish they would have had a spot to smoke a cigar though. I had to go for a walk to enjoy one. The things I wish they had were; grilling utensils, beach chairs and umbrella, free parking, smoking area.
Don't expect great customer service or amenities like you may get a mega resort. It's closer to using someone's apartment for a week.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoser_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just returned from our first visit to Maui ever. Stumbled upon this place while researching where to stay. The price was excellent, half to a third of many places on the island, so with the excellent review this place got on Tripadvisor we went ahead and booked. We were over and above happy with our stay. Traveling with two teenagers we chose a 2 bedroom, 2 batch condon. Lots of space for everybody, modern furniture, kitchen with just about everything, flat screen tvs in every room, celing fans and aircondition in each room, beatiful bath rooms with slate tile showers. The pool areas are wonderful with lots of sun.

Another wonderful thing about this place is it's location. 3 minute walk away from Front Street Lahaina with all it's wonderful restaurants, ice cream shops, souvenier shops, etc. Foodland grocery store is about a 5 minute walk away.

This place truly deserves a 5 star rating, the only reason I am giving it 4 is the fact that the daily cleaning is rather sloppy. Counters in both bathroom and kitchen did not seem to be wiped clean, and whether we got clean towels was a hit and miss even when we followed the rule about putting dirty towels on floor if you wanted new ones. Also a parking fee of $15 per day was an unpleasant surprise.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely.
What would I do different next time? I would pack a soft collapsable cooler bag, so we could take cold drinks and snacks with us from our appartment. The kitchen comes with tupperware, so it is easy to bring along cut up fruit and other snacks for the beach. I would also pack a small bottle of olive oil and a bit of spices, since the kitchen does not contain any of that stuff other than salt and pepper. So if you like to take advantage of the appartment's kitchen for making dinner think ahead and bring a bit of that kind of stuff. The kitchen truly has just about everything for cooking, and there are great gas BBQs by the pools. Costco by the airport has great prices on steak and seafood, so keep that in mind before you head from the airport to Lahaina.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaneinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
430 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I love Aina Nalu. I have stayed here many times even back in the day when it was the Maui Islander. It has been updated quite nicely and the pool area is the perfect place to relax. I love the location for its walkability to dining and shopping. Nearby are many restaurants and there is a grocery store a few blocks away. Each room has a kitchen and washer and dryer which becomes handy. The only thing not in Lahaina are beaches. If that makes or breaks your stay in Hawaii, then do not choose this resort. It has never been an issue for us because you tend to be out and about driving around the islands all day anyways. At night, it is nice to be able to get home, clean up and walk to a place to dine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phoenixroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Have stayed here before mutiple times and never had a problem. I like this place because you can easily walk to downtown Lahaina for shopping or to have "adult beverages" with or without a meal. This is the first time I stayed in a one bedroom unit and found storage space in the bedroom to be non-existent. Both remotes that operated the televisions had no batteries, the toaster caught fire, and there was an infestation of ants in the bathroom upon my arrival just to name a few problems. I must point out that the staff was kind, courteous, and responded to my issues with solutions, but I was more familiar with the route to the front desk then to my room. I am certain this is not normal and I intend to return for another stay, but in a two bedroom unit.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to visit the front desk if you have problems with your room. They will be glad t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Our stay at Aina Nalu was perfect. Our 2BR, 1Bth garden room was a nice size for our family of 5. Their location allowed for fast access to the highway and allowed one to easily walk Front Street.Even able to walk to the Foodland. Beds & furniture were comfy.
Staff was very helpful-special ALOHA & MAHALO again to LaLa and Darin. The only complaint I really have is the $15/day parking rate. Kind of harsh for a place where you know everyone needs to rent a car. But, like others I found street parking nightly without too much fuss.
My only suggestion to them would be to have perhaps security chains on the doors as it is very easy for small keiki to open the door. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Staying in the Fern section gets you easy access to both pools...yet just far enough away from the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with the updated, comfortable room we enjoyed while in Maui. Every employee was pleasant and it was especially nice to have a laundry in the room. The only drawback is the fee to park on the property. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
8.2 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
#10 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Property: Aina Nalu
Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing