We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Retreat”
Review of Aina Nalu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aina Nalu
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This remodeled resort is right in the heart of Lahaina. The rooms are airy and the bathrooms to die for. There are two pools, one is huge and for the more socially outgoing, the smaller one is great for quiet reading or restful floating. The property has no restaurants or bars but they are all just a short walk away. Each unit has a kitchen but mainly I use it for morning coffee and late night drinks. The weather in Lahaina is the driest of any on Maui. You are guaranteed sunshine except for an occasional rainy day or two in winter.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for a week recently, and the longer we stayed, the more convenient and home-like it seemed to be.

The town of Lahaina is within walking distance, as is the water. This place is not on the beach, but it has two swimming pools, places to barbeque, and well equipped suite type rooms. We had two bedrooms, each with separate bathrooms and a full kitchen, sitting room, and washer and dryer.

It's very 'tropical,' and the flowers are beautiful. It seemed to draw a nice crowd of people too, which is always a plus. There is security on the grounds and that also meant a lot. I miss it there!

Room Tip: not sure how the accommodation varies from one room to another, but we were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzycaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

very difficult to understand all the positive reviews. I was very disapointed not so much by the hotel in general but by the room we got. Somebody said that the room you get depends on luck.. Well, I understand what he meant and we were not very lucky. The room was minuscule, dark, close to the highway and the bed was so small, it could not fit in the normal position (it was placed along side the wall). The larger pool opens only at 9:00 and is quickly filled with lots of kids. But the worst, we were badly bitten by bed bugs. There was a pest control operation when we were there (nothing wrong with that we are in the tropics) but it does not eliminate the bed bugs.
I do not recommend this hotel and will not go back there.

Room Tip: ensure the room is free of bed bugs and make reservation for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marienat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We just got back from 9 nights at this property and were very pleasantly surprised by all aspects of our stay. This property was an incredible value in our view and based on our extensive research before booking this trip. We booked early and would advise that you do the same. The place was fully booked when we arrived. Close to Front Street so our teens could go out on their own. Two great pools, especially the larger one - perfect temp and always clean. We had a 2 bed/2bath unit and had no complaints at all. Very clean and freshly updated with AC and ceiling fans in bedrooms and living room. Small but well equipped kitchen and washer/dryer really came in handy. Daily maid service was fantastic and not something you typically get with a condo. All staff were professional and very, very nice, including the security guards that seem to constantly be making the rounds. And it was really nice to stay in a property with plenty of Hawaiians staying there also. As noted, it was sold out but certainly did not feel packed at all. If there are any drawbacks here they would include the $15/day parking fee (we had little choice as street parking filled up quickly) and the lack of a beach next to the property, but we'd definitely stay here again for a family getaway. Much cheaper and nicer than some beach-front options in/around Kaanapali.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinCounty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We loved staying at the Aina Nalu. Our one bedroom condo was beautiful, and the location was amazing.

On our 10 days in Maui, we found ourselves driving all of the island, kiteboarding, surfing, and sight seeing. It was always great to come back to the Aina Nalu at night and have a so many options for dining and entertainment in walking distance. We would definately recommend to those who are planning on exploring. We did do one day at the pool, which was very nice as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiter_Tyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I loved the 2 pools and so did my kids. The 2 bedroom was perfect for our family. The only bad thing about the trip was the rooster outside our window crowing like crazy early in the morning! My husband had to go outside and chase it to get it away. The other bad thing is the air conditioning units, they are loud. The rooms are wonderful. The bathrooms are very updated and nice tile showers. My kids want to go back. The parking was $15 but we easily found a spot on the street and walked to all the shopping and dinner very easily. Internet was free!!!! It was very nice. No lanai and you have to walk about 1 mile to the beach but the pools and lounge chairs were to die for. We stayed two nights and will probably return for the value and the location.

Room Tip: Don't get one the is next to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauilovermomoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Great place to stay! Family was very happy here and the place is so conveniently located! Beautiful grounds that make you feel like you are in Hawaii and not just another large super resort. Staff was very friendly and eager to help in every way. We loved how you are right by the action and all the activities that the city has to offer without being by the noise (just a few blocks off of Front Street). Walked easily to Boss Frogs (see Tara Maui Mick fro all your needs-great guy) to set up excursions, close to great restaurants, and shopping. Perfect place and would stay again for sure!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plbandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
4.3 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
239 reviews
8.3 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pioneer Inn
Best Western Pioneer Inn
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,231 reviews
13.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aina Nalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aina Nalu

Address: 660 Wainee St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1212 (Formerly Aston Maui Islander)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range: $169 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aina Nalu 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aina Nalu(R) Lahaina by Outrigger(R) is a very special Lahaina hotel, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Maui's historic Lahaina Town just a short stroll from the art galleries and bistros on colorful Front Street. The award-winning design of these residential-style Lahaina hotel vacation rentals is reflected in appealing details of Asian-inspired room decor, a sleek infinity pool, an elegant poolside pavilion, and cozy garden gazebos. This private hotel condo tucked away in a quiet neighborhood setting is a serene alternative to the Lahaina hotels on the busy waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aina Nalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Aina Nalu Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Aina Nalu Resort
Aina Nalu Resort
Lahaina Outrigger
Aina Nalu Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing