We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful "Home" away from Home”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool and lanai with  of lounge chairs and two dining tables; BBQ area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and lanai with  of lounge chairs and two dining tables; BBQ area.
Beautiful pool view. Front view from Ilikahi Street with gate open.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Pool and lanai with  of lounge chairs and two dining tables; BBQ area.
Beautiful pool view.
Front view from Ilikahi Street with gate open.
Entryway pond and waterfall.
Side yard.
Side yard and outdoor shower.
Living area.
Vaulted ceiling.
Large open space.
Full kitchen.
Bay window.
Antique Chinese Altar table.
Extra seating.
Archway to dining room and sofa sleeper location.
Sofa sleeper area.
Dining room.
Lower full bathroom.
Lower bathroom with bathtub and shower.
Lower level bedroom with two twin beds.  These can be made into one king upon request.
Bedroom 1.
Lower level bedroom with twin beds, TV and mirrored closet doors.
2, Lower bedroom with king bed and ensuite half bath and private access.  Access to covered lanai.
Half bath en suite of Pool bedroom.
Stairs leading to upper floor.
Upper master with private entrance.  Bedroom 3.
Master suite with king bed and Flat screen.
Flat screen and walk in closet.
Upper suite with king bed.
Bedroom 4.
Very local style bikes to cruise around town.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
V2279EYan...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful "Home" away from Home”
Reviewed February 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Lahaina Gate House is bright, clean, warm and welcoming. It was the perfect space for our family holiday gathering. Everything was in fabulous order when we arrived - we simply unpacked our clothes and made ourselves at home. The house is very well-equipped with everything that you could possibly need including many extras such as bikes, surfboards, etc. - Doris had even loaned us her Christmas tree for our stay. The couple who live onsite, Doris & Troy are exceptionally kind and helpful - after only 10 days, our family considers them friends. We never had the pleasure of meeting Susan but her sincerity during our correspondence made our planning a pleasure. About location: we walked almost daily, either to the beach or into town - was perfect. The garden around the house is beautiful and the pool clean and refreshing. Overall, best stated, we would not hesitate even for a moment to go back "home" next time we are in Maui!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vintner25
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deceiving and Tone Deaf”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely home and convenient to Lahaina. The pool house in the pictures is reserved for the onsite property managers, so you will see them traverse past your kitchen window, or at the grill near the pool. While the house wasn't quite ready for awhile when we arrived, it was most unfortunate they decided to resolve a long-standing issue while we there. All three toilets were slow draining, so they decided to replace them - all at once (not one at a time), on our time.
The pool and pond did not appear to have been cleaned before we arrived, though the pool was soon cleaned. Those lush plumeria trees in the pictures and video - they were all whacked back to stumps, in July, in the middle of our week, starting at 7:30 am. The property manager said it was "too much of a jungle."
The mattress in one room was a disaster and the box spring was extremely squeeky, so they bought a mattress topper. Hmmm. They promised a replacement mattress but that never showed.
Maybe it was just our luck, but I will try somewhere else next time.
The offer of a $250 refund, if we signed a NDA, left a sour taste.
Review is the experience of Robert Pope.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
There are several misunderstandings and inaccuracies in this review:
We visit the house 4-5 times per year, and were just at the property one month prior. There is no deferred maintenance, however things sometimes break and when they do we fix them ASAP.
The day the guests arrived the cleaners noticed one of the toilets had cracked and was leaking. It had to be replaced immediately, and so we decided it was better to replace all 3 at once.
No trees were cut down while the guests were there. Our gardeners come once per week to do yard maintenance for about 2 hours.
It's true the house was not ready by 3:00pm, however it was ready at 3:40pm. This rarely happens.
We are always striving to better our home and take pride in our Vacation Rental. Our guests will be welcomed and well cared for during their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lu W
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lahaina Gate House
Just stayed at the Lahaina Gate house for 7 days with my family, we were a party of 6 and there was plenty of space for everyone. The house is nice but for me the salt water pool was the crowning glory. I spent more of my time on the beach or in the pool than in the house. The biggest drawback was that I couldn’t convince my kids to climb the mango tree so I could have fresh mangos for breakfast. And yes there is a mango tree right on the property and a banana tree also.
You are a short walk from the local beach and downtown Lahaina. There are plenty of places to eat, shops to spend hours in and the Art shops are outstanding. The house has a beautiful patio with a BBQ pit and chairs so you could eat outside or inside. There is a very nice dining room that we never used because the weather was so beautiful we didn’t spend much time inside. Breakfast and lunch were usually by the pool and dinner we ate out.
There were plenty of pool toys on the property plus snorkeling gear, body boards and surf boards. Also bikes were there if you didn’t want to walk the short distance downtown.
The house is so centrally located that you only had to drive short distances to enjoy yourself; I highly recommend D.T. Fleming beach, beautiful sand and small waves for the kids to boogie board surf on, never too crowded. Kaanapali Beach is great for snorkeling; you don’t have to go very far out to see all kinds of sea life. I took my 7 year old granddaughter out with a mask on the boogie board and she was fascinated.
If you want to relax and enjoy Maui I would highly recommend staying at the Gate house, any minor issues were quickly addressed by the on property caretakers, Troy and Doris. Susan is very nice to work with and will do everything she can to make sure your stay is wonderful. There is so much more I could say but these are the highlights of a wonderful vacation that I will never forget. Thank you Lahaina Gate House!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommaperr...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
“Perfect size for our anniversary celebration.”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great location. Easy walking distance to Lahaina. Pool was a hit with the grandkids, however, no skimmer net was available to keep it free of bugs and vegetation. Very comfortable beds. Sometimes had difficulty contacting the caretaker for help with missing supplies and technical problems with the AC and video setup. Kitchen was well-equipped. Washer & dryer was a real plus. Plenty of patio furniture, pool toys and snorkeling gear.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joewallac...
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
“Better than we ever dreamed it would be.”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This house was amazing. Susan was wonderful to work with and I definitely will come back to stay at this house. The care takers are so nice of people and simply said...One cannot find a better suited home to stay at on vacation. The pool was like a bit of heaven on earth. So glad to have had the opportunity to stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G
1 review
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Amazing property, perfect for friends and family. Big enough to sleep 8 people with a gorgeous master suite. The property is close to everything including beaches, restaurants and shopping. If you want to stay in and relax the pool and patio are fantastic. They also have great cooking utensils which you don't always see in a rental property.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kshep2121
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
“Great Stay in Maui!”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The property was great for our group of 8 people ranging in ages from 6-71. The location, amenities, and supplies were all appreciated and made it easy to feel at home. The pool was also a hit and not just with the kids. The on site property managers were a great resource for us while we were there. The house was well maintained and very clean. We would definitely recommend this property.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing