We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Run Down - Needs Renovation”
Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Northeast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Slightly Run Down - Needs Renovation”
Reviewed August 24, 2006

Property needs a renovation:
- Air conditioning could barely keep the rooms cool
- Carpets worn
- Elevators dirty
- Rust in many locations within the condo unit

Be careful of "Ocean View" description
- Yes, you can see the ocean, but in many units, you mostly see another nearby condo building

On the positive side:
- The check-in staff was friendly
- The 2 bedroom condo was spacious

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank MoreVacationsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    396
    168
    85
    54
See reviews for
270
489
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2006

This was my second time at The Royal Kahana, August 2006. This stay started off in unit 1001, which is considered a two bedroom, two-bath ocean view room. DO NOT RENT THIS UNIT until it is updated or remodeled. It is a step below a Motel 6. I think the towels were extra large dishtowels.

I wouldn’t even was my dog in the master bath. Two holes in the bathtub along with large cracks that were rusted and a showerhead that was full of mildew. The bathroom sink had a large rust ring around the cold-water handle. Along with that, the king bed was so uncomfortable; there was no way to get a good night sleep. The kitchen was a walk in pantry and I could touch both walls with my arms reached out at the same time. The washer handle was broken off and you had to have super human strength to open the sliding doors on all the closets. The sofa and carpet were damp and the room smelled like a gym locker. I think you get the picture.

How a name like Outrigger can associate and rent out this unit is beyond me. As we told the manager of Royal Kahana, don’t rent the unit and the owner will be forced to fix the problems. We were finally able to move to another room 220 which was a garden view room. So much for my ocean. This move was equal to a Holiday Inn. At least it was clean and felt much more comfortable. Outdated TV in the master bedroom. Still not up to my experience of the first time I stayed at this property.

The first time at this property was in unit 110, which is the only unit I would stay in. All the modern comforts of home, well furnished and appointed. Clean and upscale. Excellent beds, TVs and great kitchen.

If you are going with families, the property itself is average and works well with children/teenagers. The pool is not crowded and the beach works even as small as it is. It is an easy drive to the other west areas of Maui.

I doubt I’ll stay there again. This experience really did put a damper on our trip and we did not get fully settled into the new room until our 3rd day. Trying to move 2 adults and 3 teenagers along with the food we purchased is not an easy task.

Our friends were at the Westin Villas, which were lovely. I’ve also stayed at the Hyatt Regency. Resort over condo…hmmmmmm! Not a hard choice if I had to pick this property again.

As far as activities, the Old Lahaina Luau is the best. Also the full day hike by Hike Maui was wonderful. Our guide Helga was full of great facts about Maui and extremely knowledgeable. Pacific O is great for dinner and very romantic. We walked to the Ritz Carlton for breakfast. Worth the 8 mile roundtrip walk. We purchased our fruit at the Famer’s Market, it was fresh and worth the extra money. I prefer shopping a the Safeway in Lahaina versus the Star Market. Costco by the airport is always good.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at a 4 star or better location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank charonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2006

A group of us booked four 2-bedroom oceanview condos at this hotel and each one of us loved our rooms! It was so nice having our own fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer to wash sand out of our suits. The only negative thing I would have to mention is that if your room is below the 9th floor, you won't have the best view of the ocean. We had a room on the 4th floor, the 7th floor, 10th floor and the 11th floor. The 4th floor barely had a view and the 7th floor wasn't much bettter. However the rooms on the 10th and 11th floor were beautiful! You have to look off to the side to see the ocean but it was still nice. The location was perfect. The hotel is right on the beach so you just walk straight out of the lobby and turn and your right on the beach. Staff was nice and maid service was a nice bonus. Would reccomend this hotel to families.

Helpful?
5 Thank Cinnie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

My hubby and I stayed at the Royal Kahana 7/31-8/05/06. We were celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary and it was just the two of us. We had studio unit 305. It had an ocean view! It had everything we needed! What was great was that we could go down to the pool mid afternoon and find 2 lounge chairs with no problem, unlike alot of the large hotels, where people put towels on chairs at 7 AM to reserve them. We really enjoyed laying on the chaise lounges on the grass right by the beach. It was nice and quiet. Go to the market up the road toward Napili to stock up the fridge. There is shuffleboard and ping pong available around the pool area, another great surprise. Our unit had a washer/dryer too. I would love to stay in a 2 bedroom next time when we bring our kids.

We'll definately be back!!!!

  • Liked — Location, quiet, pool area, beach area
  • Disliked — Pool got too warm on several days.
  • Tips/Secrets — Great place!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Maui4EverWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

The Royal Kahana was the perfect place for us to spend our honeymoon in - away from all the crowds at Kaanapali, yet close enough (5 miles) to Lahaina, where we ate fabulous dinners every night. The Royal Kahana is not a deluxe hotel, it is a clean, quiet, family-oriented beachfront condo / hotel, so if you are expecting otherwise, you should investigate staying in Kaanapali's resort hotels or in Kihei / Wailea. For our money, it was fabulous - room 402 has a breathtaking view of the ocean and the island of Molokai from the private lanai, which also overlooks the landscaped courtyard. The pool is very nice with plenty of chairs, and the hotel staff were great and very helpful. We liked having a washer/dryer in the room, and the small kitchenette helped us save tons of money on breakfast / lunches. Daily maid service is a huge plus - they even did our dishes! We would absolutely recommend the Royal Kahana to anyone looking for a relaxing, clean, budget-friendly place to stay on the beautiful westside of Maui - we will be back very soon!!
P.S. Get up early and take the road to Hana - Wainapanapa's black sand beaches are a must-see. Also, the Old Lahaina Luau is the best on the island, backdropped by gorgeous sunsets over the ocean. And, last but not least, splurge for dinner at Pacific'o - the best meal we have ever had, hands down. Hope this review is helpful to you! Aloha!
Janda & Christian, Los Angeles

Helpful?
36 Thank Janda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We visited the Royal Kahana week of 5/20 - 5/28 - it was wonderful! We had a condo on the 11th floor and the view was spectacular - wasn't sure what to expect as we hadn't ever rented a condo before - the rooms were large and well appointed. The king bed was firm and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. It wasn't the fanciest place you've ever seen but it was clean and quiet. Glad we didn't pay big bucks for someplace we weren't in that much. The Molokini snorkel & Hana trip were highlights. Roy's is great as usual (this is our 5th trip to the islands) and we found Dollies for sandwiches and pizza. Would stay there again if we go back to Maui - K.C.

Helpful?
18 Thank ShawneeKansasGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2006

Just returned from our 30th anniversary trip and stayed at the Royal Kahana Outrigger.

Our large and clean condo was like a penthouse with a wrap around balcony overlooking the ocean. We sat out there on the rockers every night watching the sun set and listening to the waves crash over the reefs about 50 yards out. Specacular view from the top floor!

While its true that their beach isn't in the best shape, we walked it often and there are plenty of other sandy beaches nearby. The weather was perfect with a few days of trade winds keeping everything nice and cool. Best place I've ever stayed.

I loved the area, no crowds and quiet refreshing relaxation. We will stay there again.
I've read the reviews about the slow elevators, but they must have fixed them because
they were very fast. Their free Thursday night Mai Tai party at the Cabana by the pool
was most excellent. Good Mai tai and plenty for everyone. Really nice.

Pool was clean and lovely. Great place, no complaints at all. Good maid service too.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank LindaLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,995 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,491 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,072 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,963 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Property: Royal Kahana
Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing