We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Condo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice Condo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked a 1-bedroom condo on the 10th floor through VRBO. It had a full kitchen so we were able to prepare some meals as well as a stackable washer and dryer. We were in Maui for six nights, so this was a better option than a standard hotel room. The Royal Kahana is located within a short drive from Ka'anapali Beach and Front Street in Lahaina. We were able to do some whale watching from the lanai, and when we opened the windows and sliding glass door, we got a wonderful breeze and the sound of the ocean. There was a nice pool on the property. Although located right on the beach, there was a lot of coral in the sand so not too comfortable to walk on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmbrown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha cmbrown88,

thank you for posting your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the property.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    389
    166
    83
    53
See reviews for
263
481
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howard Beach, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for a week. Location was alright but you won't find good local restaurants nearby, for that you'll have to drive to Lahaina (about 10 min drive). The staff was courteous and accommodating. With a cleaning fee upon check-out they should clean their rooms a little more thoroughly. Free parking but you'll pay for wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha Marherman,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad to see your comments about our staff and I will be sure to pass this along to management. Please contact me directly in regard to the unit you stayed in so I can be sure to pass along to housekeeping about that particular unit. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrose, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom ocean front room on the 8th floor. We were given an upgrade from our 1 bedroom ocean front on arrival. Accommodation was booked via Hawaiian Airlines as a package with our inter-island flights.

The resort is just north of Lahaina. There is no restaurant and shops are about 2 kms away. They do have a poolside cafe but closes mid afternoon. This section of coast is a line of resort after resort. You need a car here.

Our room was sensational!!!!!

The ocean front room is well worth the extra money over the other room types available. The views could not be better. In our first hour we saw 2 turtles swimming in the surf just metres from shore and one on the beach having a sun bake! Then whale sightings that continued right throughout our stay. Magic.

The two bedrooms were massive, 2 ensuites plus a powder room with a flash bidet toilet (which was a novelty for us: first time!!!!). 3 TVs, full kitchen, laundry, lounge room, dining room, huge balcony with heaps of outdoor furniture.

Good size pool and deck, lovely and well maintained grounds. A very relaxing place to stay. Staff friendly enough.

We would definately stay here again. Lahaina is the action centre in Maui but nice to visit and then get back here for real R and R.

In Lahaina you can sign up for a "Timeshare Hard Sell" invite: for 2 hours of your time you receive a discount card which gives you about 50% off all activities and a $100 credit. We did not as it is a waste of our time and not the way we want to spend our time on holiday.

Dinner cruises too expensive but whale sightings were good. Go to Bubba Gumps: great night out!

Room Tip: If you have been to the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, avoid all reef tours/glass bottom boats in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha Bleask2871,

Thank you for taking the time to post your most favorable review. I'm so pleased our staff was able to provide you with an upgrade to the 2 bedroom Ocean Front. I'm glad you were able to have a fantastic stay with us.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next whale season!

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Rooms were clean, staff helpful and our ocean view so nice. Relatives had 2 bedroom ocean front that was where we spent every night. Watching the sunset and whales everywhere, looking down on the sea turtles. It's in a good location. We can't wait to go back and take our children. We will definitely spend the extra money for the ocean front and go when the whales are there in Feb. and March. Couldn't have been a better trip!

Room Tip: You want the ocean front and as high as you can get. if you can't afford the ocean front get an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StepperIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha StepperIowa,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. How fantastic you were able to see the whales and turtles from the comfort of your unit. I'm glad you wnjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Please contact me directly if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I needed a last minute room for two nights. I picked up #217 on priceline for $114, the OutRigger site had it listed fro $145. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. The cleaning staff had done their best to clean the room. The furniture was in good shape, but the carpet had seen better days and all the electronics and appliances were well dated. The room had a VCR.
Many of these rooms appear to be owner condos, end result some rooms are better than others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha Delbert B,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. You are correct that each of the condos are individually owned. I will pass along your comments in regard to the staff and I'm glad they were able and willing to help you.

Thank you for your comments about the unit as guest feedback is passed along to the owner.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

It was okay. Construction outside. Lots of coral right off the beach which made swimming difficult. No beach bar. The bed was very comfortable. Dated decor. 75.00 cleaning fee upon checkout. About 15 min drive to front street in Lahaina. Stop by the fish taco food truck off the main road. It's good.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank awagner655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha awagner655,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry the Outrigger Royal Kahana was not the place for you. Please let me know if you would like to book another stay here and give the property another chance.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Thank you Royal Kahana! You exceeded all of our expectations! We have found our home away from home! We were late in booking our holiday this year , so didn't have too many choices to pick from. We settled on the royal kahana, even after reading some not so positive reviews. I'm so glad we did. Dont believe the negative reviews. They are just not true. Although it is an older building, many of the rooms have been updated with more modern appliances, furniture, flooring etc. Rooms were very clean, as were the hallways and lobby, appliances all in working order, all the dishes you need, very comfy beds, beautiful grounds, flowers and trees, heated pool and area is awesome and the view is spectacular! Watch the whales right from the lanai, huge sea turtles right up on the beach. It just doesn't get any better than that. So quiet and relaxing. Restaurants and bars within walking distance, whalers village and lahaina just a short drive away. Front desk staff was excellent! Tim and the ladies(sorry, I can't remember all of your names) were all so helpful. Before we left, we booked our holiday for next year! Can't say enough good about the royal kahana! See you soon!

Room Tip: The building is shaped in a V. The point being closest to the ocean. All floors have the same layou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OmaDarSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha OmaDarSmith,

thank you for taking the time to post your fabulous review. I'm so pleased you were able to enjoy your stay with us. I will definitely pass along your comments about the Front Desk staff.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Property: Royal Kahana
Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing