We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Kahana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kahana Falls(Lahaina)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napili Point Resort(Lahaina)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveler rating
342
436
180
92
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
436
180
92
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryerocean viewfull kitchenmaui brewing companybedroom oceanfrontheated poolcondo hotelshort drivesmall beachfirst morningtennis courtsgeneral storegreat condoliving roomnice poolsee whalesdaily maid service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for a week. Location was alright but you won't find good local restaurants nearby, for that you'll have to drive to Lahaina (about 10 min drive). The staff was courteous and accommodating. With a cleaning fee upon check-out they should clean their rooms a little more thoroughly. Free parking but you'll pay for wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Aloha Marherman,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad to see your comments about our staff and I will be sure to pass this along to management. Please contact me directly in regard to the unit you stayed in so I can be sure to pass along to housekeeping about that particular unit. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom ocean front room on the 8th floor. We were given an upgrade from our 1 bedroom ocean front on arrival. Accommodation was booked via Hawaiian Airlines as a package with our inter-island flights.

The resort is just north of Lahaina. There is no restaurant and shops are about 2 kms away. They do have a poolside cafe but closes mid afternoon. This section of coast is a line of resort after resort. You need a car here.

Our room was sensational!!!!!

The ocean front room is well worth the extra money over the other room types available. The views could not be better. In our first hour we saw 2 turtles swimming in the surf just metres from shore and one on the beach having a sun bake! Then whale sightings that continued right throughout our stay. Magic.

The two bedrooms were massive, 2 ensuites plus a powder room with a flash bidet toilet (which was a novelty for us: first time!!!!). 3 TVs, full kitchen, laundry, lounge room, dining room, huge balcony with heaps of outdoor furniture.

Good size pool and deck, lovely and well maintained grounds. A very relaxing place to stay. Staff friendly enough.

We would definately stay here again. Lahaina is the action centre in Maui but nice to visit and then get back here for real R and R.

In Lahaina you can sign up for a "Timeshare Hard Sell" invite: for 2 hours of your time you receive a discount card which gives you about 50% off all activities and a $100 credit. We did not as it is a waste of our time and not the way we want to spend our time on holiday.

Dinner cruises too expensive but whale sightings were good. Go to Bubba Gumps: great night out!

Room Tip: If you have been to the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, avoid all reef tours/glass bottom boats in Hawaii. You will be very disappointed!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Aloha Bleask2871,

Thank you for taking the time to post your most favorable review. I'm so pleased our staff was able to provide you with an upgrade to the 2 bedroom Ocean Front. I'm glad you were able to have a fantastic stay with us.

Please let me know if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next whale season!

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Rooms were clean, staff helpful and our ocean view so nice. Relatives had 2 bedroom ocean front that was where we spent every night. Watching the sunset and whales everywhere, looking down on the sea turtles. It's in a good location. We can't wait to go back and take our children. We will definitely spend the extra money for the ocean front and go when the whales are there in Feb. and March. Couldn't have been a better trip!

Room Tip: You want the ocean front and as high as you can get. if you can't afford the ocean front get an ocean view as close to the beach side as you can, look at a map of the rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StepperIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Aloha StepperIowa,

thank you for taking the time to post your favorable review. How fantastic you were able to see the whales and turtles from the comfort of your unit. I'm glad you wnjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Please contact me directly if you need any assistance in booking your next stay with us.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I needed a last minute room for two nights. I picked up #217 on priceline for $114, the OutRigger site had it listed fro $145. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. The cleaning staff had done their best to clean the room. The furniture was in good shape, but the carpet had seen better days and all the electronics and appliances were well dated. The room had a VCR.
Many of these rooms appear to be owner condos, end result some rooms are better than others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Aloha Delbert B,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. You are correct that each of the condos are individually owned. I will pass along your comments in regard to the staff and I'm glad they were able and willing to help you.

Thank you for your comments about the unit as guest feedback is passed along to the owner.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

It was okay. Construction outside. Lots of coral right off the beach which made swimming difficult. No beach bar. The bed was very comfortable. Dated decor. 75.00 cleaning fee upon checkout. About 15 min drive to front street in Lahaina. Stop by the fish taco food truck off the main road. It's good.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank awagner655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerRoyal K, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Aloha awagner655,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry the Outrigger Royal Kahana was not the place for you. Please let me know if you would like to book another stay here and give the property another chance.

Aloha,

Michelle Finn
Guest Relations
rkr@outrigger.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews