We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Ranked #12 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Roseville
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you want luxury hotels and crowds, this place is not for you. Building is typical 70's-80's Maui. High rise-12 floors, but it is oceanfront. Booked thru Costco vacations, 1 BR oceanfront (not oceanview) for 2 adults and 2 tweens during Spring Break week. Since each unit is individually owned and appointed, you don't know what you are getting until you check in. Stayed 8 days in unit 309. We were pleasantly surprised. Though the unit needs updating, it has all the usual amenities. King bed is comfortable, sofa sleeper has thin mattress. Unit is clean, carpet in decent shape with no stains. Bathroom clean, and kitchen dated but clean. A one time maid service was included. Nice to be able to have a kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, washer, dryer, etc.

The view is awesome from this unit. Can see Molokai across the channel. We were able to see whales and dolphins in the distance. Bring binoculars. Added bonus: turtles feeding just offshore for hours.

Minimal interaction with staff, but they were friendly. Did not use the concierge desk, but it appears you can book attractions in the lobby. Small fitness room with 5-6 pieces of equipment, and a ping pong table.

There is a snack bar onsite with limited hours and menu. McDonald's and Black Angus just a few hundred yards walk away, along with a dive shop to rent gear. Plenty of free onsite parking. 5 minute drive north of Kaanapali. We like being away from the crowds and hustle and bustle of Lahaina and Kaanapali, but close enough to drive there. If that's what you like, Kahana is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Building is a "V" shape. Rooms x01 and x20 are at either ends, x10 and x11 are in the cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    388
    166
    83
    53
See reviews for
262
481
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here as our second time to Maui for 1 week starting March 16, 2013. Our first initial impression was not that great but later realized many of the great things about our stay here. Since this is a condo, we have to identify we stayed in a studio room 602.

1. Room type determines where you are in the building. The shape of the building is basically arrow head pointed to the ocean. All the studio rooms are furthest away from the water. Then it transitions to 1 bedroom and then 2 bedroom as you get closer to the ocean. So more rooms means closer to the beach, with one exception. There are some multiroom garden views furthest from the beach.

2. Our room 602. When we first walked into our room we thought we were going to be really disappointed. The room was clean, the furnishings were acceptable but we were a long way from the water for an ocean view and we were looking right into the building next door.
- The kitchenet really was dated and has limited functionality. Counter top was all ceramic tile (very old) and some grouting is starting to show it's age.
- Small appliances like toaster didn't work (front desk did send up a replacement). The blender had bearings where were just about to fail and was basically useless.
- Dishes and pots and cutlery were a outfitted for a setting for four. Cutlery and knives and such were like as if they were from the 70's and from the dollar store. There is no dishwasher and the counter top space is very limited for food prep and washing dishes. We found ourselves often moving things around just to accomodate either food prep or cleaning actions.
- There wasn't any sofa or chairs in the room other than the 2 place dinette.
- The bathroom was functional, clean as it could be but age appearance did make it appear less desireable.
- Our room had airconditioning and was totally functional. Air conditioning in this area is not really essential because of the cooler winds in the area. Our previous stay in the area did not have air conditioning. Air conditioner was nice to help reduce the humity in the room for a comfortable night sleep. Air conditioners are however much noiser and we usually only used it in the evening to reduce the humidity before crawling into bed.

What we came to realize was the following. We were on the north side of the building and away from the fire burned out resteraunt from next door. We had a beautiful view of the garden area and could see a nice portion of the ocean. Also being further back we were not subjected to any of the ocean front noise and winds. We could sit on our lanai and enjoy the view without any of the pool noises and winds that blow through this area. The bed was comfortable and not saggy.

This is a condo so you will only get room service once or twice a week depending on length of your stay. Any issue we had were looked after in an efficient and acceptable manner.

3. The property. Yes the property is an older property. It could do with some sprucing up. The lobby and pool areas are kept immaculately clean. The common areas are well looked after.
Some of the rooms were being worked on so one of the elevators did have the blankets installed in it to protect the interior surface from construction materials and activities. It was a bit annoing to hear hammer drills and construction noises while down at the pool area when trying to enjoy our tropical paridise stay. Reality is some of the rooms need updating and this will require construction. Construction will produce noises.

Ammenities: The common areas are very nice, Pool area is not big but then again the property is not that big either. The beach area is actually quite small but at least there is a beach. There are many ocean front properties here that don't have beaches. High tide can really limit the amount of beach sand access area. Wildlife like the whales and turtles are great from this property. There isn't any resteraunt (that I know of) on the property other than the pool side service nook. Parking is abundant either underground, outside or below the double tennis courts. Ammenities like grocery shopping or resteraunts are typically just a short drive away. There is local convience stores but times grocery, ABC store and farmers market is just a short drive south. Excellent places to eat are available like the Seahouse and the Gazebo in Napili.

In summary, we would rate the property as average. The age and appearance of things are dated and show their age. The rooms and the property are actually very clean. We do recognize that it is hard to make tile countertops and aged and faded bathroom sinks appear clean but they were. We were initially disappointed with our room location but later realized it was actually very very good. It was nice and quiet, protected from the wind and we could sit on the lanai and enjoy any of our meals we made and watch the whales. The on-site concierge was really helpful in providing advice and making arrangements when required. In the end I would say we received decent value for our accomodations. We are fairly active people and really only used the facilities as a place to sleep. We didn't even make use of the pool. I probably will not come back to this property in the future but we did have an enjoyable stay. I have no problem recommending a stay at the property as long as you realize it's not perfect. We've been in worse places than this, as far as condo's go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TiddlerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Kahana again (#1012) it was Fabulous !! Spectacular Ocean views from your condo . You can see Turtles, Whales and Breath taking Sunsets right out your front window.
All units are individually owned so there not all the same. Many owners a have updated their units (Including #1012) so don't settle for a run down, outdated unit. I'd be surprised if you weren't satisfied with your stay at this complex... Also check out Dollies and the China Boat, both in walking distance.. Great food !!!
Aloha and have fun...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for a week at Honua Kai w/our children & several other family members had units there as well as we were on Maui for our Wedding. The second week after kids & family went home we decided we would move to a less expensive property- Royal Kahana, and found a decent deal through Costco. We knew it was not going to be as nice as Honua Kai, we knew it was an older property, but we did not expect it to be so run down! As soon as we drove up to the property we knew we were in trouble. There is a burned down building right next to the property, the buildings look dirty & unkempt. We decided that didn't matter & maybe inside would be better.... but that wasn't the case. We checked in w/the guy behind a glass window-- got our keys & went up to our room. The elevator had these big heavy sheets hanging over the walls..... not sure what the deal was there .I opened the door and an overwhelming smell overtook me. I can only describe it as febreeze covering some other smell. The kitchenette looked like it might have been updated recently, but the bedding was hideous & furnishings old. The walls on the way to the room & the doors were are scratched up & in need of paint. I might have been able to overlook many of the issues if the room hadn't have stunk on top of everything else. We promptly sat down & started calling Costco & other resorts looking for another room for the week. Because it was after hours w/Costco we were unable to resolve the issue through them on the same day, but I will give kudos to Costco for refunding us the money for the other nights! They were very prombt & attentive. We returned to Honua Kai & had to move around to a few different rooms, but it was totally worth the extra money.
If Outrigger, Royal Kahana, & various owners of this property would invest a little elbow grease, paint & updated bedding/furnishings, it would go a long way to making a budget property a great deal. The view was the only thing it had going for it... and that was as long as you weren't looking at the burnt building next door.

Room Tip: Understand that this is a budget property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We had an ocean view unit on the 7th floor. The room was clean and well-appointed, although not luxurious by any means. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is teeny-tiny, but adequate. The ocean view was limited, as the view was blocked partially by the rest of our building, and by the building next door. But we could see the ocean - one night at sunset we could see 6 different pods of whales at one time.

The building next door was destroyed by fire and had not been torn down, and the condos past that were mostly boarded up - not sure why. So that did take away from the "ambience" a little bit.

You may want to consider skipping the free continental breakfast put on by the concierge desk. They ran out of food, the goal is to sell tours, so if you're not interested in a tour skip it. We did get some info on weather which was helpful.

Our shower head leaked, we called the front desk, and they sent someone up to fix it right away.

Pool was nice. We didn't use the beach here at all, except for watching the sunsets. Good snorkeling sites are a short drive away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky9345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We recently stayed here for our Anniversary, apart from the wild windy weather , we enjoyed our stay, the room was great , huge big comfortable bed, massive fridge with ice maker in freezer, lovely balcony with view ( of whales aswell ) ,lovley beach, great swimming pool area, wish we stayed here for another week

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinky66pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went on a girls trip and stayed in unit 510 in March 2012. It was a corner unit with a wrap-around lanai. It was a clean and spacious 2 bedroom, 2.5 bathroom (an on-suite bathroom in each room) with very comfy beds. The building was quiet and well-appointed, across from a small store, and in walking to a few restaurants. The beach was also right there. The unit itself had everything you'd need for comfort and utility in terms of a stocked kitchen (minus food but plus spices), washer-dryer, plenty of towels, including beach towels, etc...There is no view from the second bedroom and the bathroom there could use a definite upgrade in terms of shower head and toilet seat, etc...

The kicker for this spot was definitely the view...it was perfect. We watched gorgeous sunsets right from the lanai, no obstruction to the view at all. We were able to see whales in the distance, turtles right below and two other islands not far off on each side. The condo was always bright and sunny...quiet evenings with the waves crashing below.

The on-site restaurant was just...well i don't know. It closed early the first time we tried to go in because business was slow ("sorry, we're not serving food anymore today" at 2pm). The second time, in spite of a sign displaying credit cards logos, we were told it was cash only and were sent away. Luckily, as mentioned, there are other places nearby.

Room Tip: 510 (and I'm sure other corner units) has a fantastic view and is bright, airy and sunny. The L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,463 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
1,060 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Property: Royal Kahana
Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing