We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kahana
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed Jan. 26 - Feb. 2. Booked through Costco, price was great and included a car. Stayed in room 308, very dingy and outdated, but a million dollar view. Only one burner worked on the stove, old linoleum in kitchen and bath looked dirty. They also charge for Wi-Fi per computer, such a rip off. I inquired about changing rooms, but the person at the front desk was less than helpful. I've stayed here 4 times in the last 25 years and won't stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    360
    145
    67
    47
See reviews for
228
435
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our February stay at the Royal Kahana was at the height of the whale season. They were performing all day especially in the late afternoon. They must have known it was Happy Hour! We saw more action from our balcony in one afternoon than on the two whale watch cruises we took. Our home away from home for two weeks was in a corner condo on the 12th floor, which along with the whales, afforded tremendous views of the islands of Lanai and Molokai and north to Kapalua. The condo was close to several restaurants including the Maui Brewing Company and a local place called Dollies. The main highway, route 30, is about 1 1/2 blocks away so there is virtually no road noise. The complex is located close to Kapalua, Kaanapali, and Lahaina. Our condo had a flat screen TV in the main living area and in each bedroom; it was well kept, but needed a "fresh" coat of paint. We did have some rain each day, but it was February! A short drive down the coast to Kaanapali and Lahaina sloved the problem as it is sunny there virtually all the time.The Royal Kahana is a "keeper"!

Room Tip: For better views, book an ocean front room on the 5th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were fortunate enough to get 1211...the top floor, corner condo with a 45 ft wrap around lanai overlooking the beach and ocean. Every morning & late afternoon I would sit and watch the whales do their thing right before my eyes...SOOooo amazing! There are sea turtles right below at the beach edge - 2 seem to be in residence and 6-8 more stop by daily for a little fun in the surf. There is also an occasional monk seal that beaches itself to get a little sun.

Our condo unit was a 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath with a full kitchen, dining room, work area and living room. It was very spacious and comfortable. We also had a washer and dryer in the closet, making it a great place to stay for a few weeks.

The property is very well maintained with lots of parking, a pool, cabana, shuffleboard and newly refurbished tennis courts. There are 4 gas BBQs outside the cabana, making grilling for dinner easy and interesting. The community BBQs are always an interesting place to meet the other guests and learn tips about where to buy fresh fish, the best meat, etc.

There is a small shopping center a block up the road, making it easy to walk for coffee, food, stores. We ate at the Brewery and the Cuban sandwich was delicious. There is a sidewalk that runs along the beach, making it easy to take a morning walk or run while feeling safe (off the road).

This part of the island is a bit wetter so we did get a little rain each day but it's Hawaii...the rain comes and goes and freshens everything up. The sun will be back out in a few minutes and then you will have a glorious rainbow. In the week I was there I saw countless rainbows, including 3 full end-to-end rainbows and 3 double rainbows. Paradise!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean side room for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debdex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo (613) with a beautiful view of the ocean. It was immaculate and very comfortable. We walked the beach below every morning, and enjoyed seeing whales in the distance as we ate breakfast on the terrace. All the comforts of home, and close to Lahaina, and Kapalani Beach. Loved hearing the constant lapping of the waves below. Friendly desk service. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Califbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Royal Kahana room 1009 for 9 nights beginning January 31. The first couple of days were so windy and rainy we were wishing we were back in Kihei, our first stay in Maui two years earlier. However, the remaining days were much better. There is always a breeze in Kahana, and this is ok. I imaging during the summer months this is welcome. We had unobstructed views of the ocean, Moloka'i, and the rocky area below us where turtles hung out a lot. We could see signs of whales if not the actual whales nearly every time we looked out the lanai. One time, a couple hundred yards out, we saw a whale (or whales) breach eight times in a row! Wow! The room was large and roomy making it feel more like a home than a condo rental. Everything we expected was there. We could not get the dishwasher to work, but only needed it once, so not a big deal. Bed was comfortable as was the living room furniture. Washer and dryer is a must whenever we travel to the islands so this was good.

We did have an issue with the door lock and it had to be replaced. They were very quick to respond on our first full day there but had some issues. My wife ended up locked inside while I was locked outside with the maintenance crew. They had to take out the sliders in one window to break in and get the door open. This took over an hour. In the meantime I hung out downstairs. My wife called the front desk to let them know the door was open but they never informed me. The brackets on the window were damaged in the process and it was too late to fix it that day, so they taped cardboard over the window. They came early (9am) the next day and had everything fixed in less than an hour. I door worked fine the rest of the days. This was a rest afternoon for us anyway, so no harm done, but if we had had plans, it might have ruined things. Overall, it was not a big deal and we did appreciate having the door fixed.

We were concerned about the location as it is an hour from the airport (and therefore an hour to get started on the road to Hana), nearly an hour to Kihei, and other places we were familiar with. However, by the end as we were more comfortable with the area, we liked it a lot. Being just 15 minutes from Lahaina is great. You have everything the big resort area of Kaanapali without the crowds. The big grocery store is just 5 minutes away, and their is a small store across the street. Plenty of restaurants around as well. We did explore Napili much, but definitely will next time.

I would definitely recommend a higher floor, and numbers that end in 09 to 12 are the ocean front and best view rooms. 09 is more on the north side and did not get any sun, so we missed the actual sunsets and warmth. The lanai and room were usually pretty cool. I might try for a 12 room next time, but it might depend on the summer/winter time frame. I can imagine a better sunset in the summer from 10 without the heat a 12 might have, but the warmth and sunset might be better in a 12 in the winter months. The only noise (other than the wind the first two nights) was the sound of the beach. We ran into the couple in the room directly below us on a boat trip and they said they never heard a sound from us. We never heard anything from our neighbors as well.

Only real complaint - the parking spots are very narrow. We had a Chrysler 200 so not a large car, and often had to try twice to fit in. Often had two spaces taken by one inconsiderate person. One late night (got back about 10:30 after the Slack Key Show in Napili) and could find only one parking spot we could fit into. (I might also agree with many reviewers about the reception people being unfriendly, but we only interacted with them three times in nine days, so not a big deal. But they could be more friendly.)

At the beginning I thought I would never stay here again, but now that we are home, we think we definitely will. We like the room of a 1 bedroom and the overall location. Highly recommend. We booked through Costco (room and car) and it worked out well.

Room Tip: See review - rooms 9 through 12 and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZlovesHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just spent 5 nights at the Royal Kahana. We had a great time and a lot of it was due to a comfy bed. I was really pleased when we went to bed the first night and didn't wake up with my hips hurting (there is nothing worse than trying to sleep on a too hard bed). Our studio was very effiecent with a nice oceanview from our lanai. The only thing that would have made it better is if there was a resturant on the property (the poolside snack shack doesn't count).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and could not have been more happy. We were in a 1 bedroom oceanfront condo on the 12th floor. We spent a lot of time on the lanai enjoying the views of the whales and sea turtles down below. The staff at the front desk was very nice. The pool area was small but plenty of chairs there were also chairs on the grass area facing the ocean which we spent time enjoying. There were 3 or 4 grills available for cooking. This is a condo not a hotel so be advised of that when you stay here. Maid service is 2 times a week if you stay more than a week which was fine with us. Also each condo is individually owned so they vary in decor. While we stayed there it did appear that several of the units were being updated. The one we stayed in was very nice. Many people I noticed in reviews were complaining of no view or the view of a burnt building. The only way to ensure a good view in Hawaii is to book an oceanfront room. Ocean view simply means you can view the ocean even if its just a sliver. Also be advised it is in a quieter area so if your younger and looking for a party hotel you may not enjoy this place. We however loved how quiet it was! There is no restraunt on site but the cabana next to the pool does serve a few dishes however the condos have everything you need to cook so do as we did stop by Costco or Walmart and bring your own food to cook. We did not use the amenities desk as we knew it was a time share publicity stint so we booked our own excursions. For great whale watching we recommend pacific whale foundation. They have a 30 person raft that was amazing. They also have larger boats as well. We very much enjoyed our stay here and can't wait to return next year!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank flyin4free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#15 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,408 reviews
1.6 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
7.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Property: Royal Kahana
Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Kahana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui’s high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won’t find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners – although that’s only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Welcome the sun on a morning stroll chasing waves along the sand. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing