We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - great value”
Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Loved this location. Not on the strip but off a nice beach, excellent staff. Two people i worked with at the "concierge" travel planner were really nice and informative. Great to be able to get a condo with better than double the largest hotel rooms around - and at less than the cost of a hotel on the Kaanapali strip. I'd do it again!

Room Tip: If you have a choice - get a hgher number room or higher floor. I was in 301 and we heard the garba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this property twice now and are planning on making this our official place to stay everytime we come to Maui. We love everything about it. The location is great. The view from our lanai was wonderful. The rooms are nice and clean. We had a washer and dryer in both the rooms we stayed in plus a full size kitchen. The staff is very friendly and quick to help. We wish we could live here!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JulieM655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel more than most I’ve stayed in needs to be reviewed in context. If you are on honeymoon or coming for that once in a lifetime holiday and you can afford to push the boat out, then you may want to upgrade from this hotel. If on the other hand you’re like us and wanted to stay in a comfortable hotel in a good location but aren’t bothered about a lack of 4* services then this is a great choice. Be prepared when you arrive at the Royal Kahana as the hotel looks dated and you may feel disappointed. However, things improve once inside and yes the staff are all very friendly.

We had booked directly with Outrigger in the quiet season and found a great deal at $1000 for a weeks stay. We chose an ocean view studio, which offered a pretty decent view and the studio was well equipped, clean and boasted a king size bed. The studio is great if you want to make your own breakfast and like having a fridge and coffee machine when required.

They only service your room once midway through the week though, so again, if this bothers you upgrade.

The pool area is pleasant and you’re only a stones throw from the beach. The views of the neighboring islands are a welcoming sight each morning. While Kahana itself has a few restaurants and bars the real action is 5 miles down the road on Front Street in Lahaina. While the hotel address may say Lahaina its really in Kahana.

Depending on what your needs are we thought the Royal Kahana was great value and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Anything with a ocean view or ocean front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I booked my vacation at Outrigger Royal Kahana through Costco, I have used Costco before and had wonderful luck, this time was very different. The 1 bedroom condo had a very bad musty smell in the living room area, the carpet was a dark color and had a smell trapped in it. I can assume most condo's were not in the shape this one was in, so it is the luck of the draw I guess. My extreme disappointment is that the management would think this condo was ok to rent out with the extreme odor. On the last day I did not wear shoes after getting out of the shower, walked around the room for about an hour after getting out of the shower and my feet felt dirty, I looked at my feet and the bottoms of my feet were black from the gross carpet...need I say more? The dishes were so dusty upon arrival that we had to wash them before we could use them. The corners of the bathroom floor had sand and dirty. I would discourage anyone from staying here, if they allowed this condo #1013 to be rented out, then what else is ok to the management?

Room Tip: I saw reviews on Trip Advisor about the rooms being dirty and I should have realized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank balaine14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Thank you so much for a beautiful stay at the Royal Kahana Resort on Maui!! My daughter and I just returned from the trip I won last year and were so very impressed with our ocean view condo!! Our room was fantastic and the staff and amenities were perfect, did I mention we were right on the beach?? We were also able to attend my daughter that lives on Maui's wedding and spend a lot of time with my Grandson!! I would highly recommend the Royal Kahana because it combines a hotel and condo together. For example, you could get housekeeping or just opt to have fresh towels and shampoo and lotion brought in, unlike some I have stayed at where you do all the laundry yourself:) The shower was large and nice as was the bedroom and bed. Mahalo

Room Tip: We really enjoyed having an ocean view. We were on the third floor and right above the pool in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelodeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were booked into this condo by AAA travel agent. When we checked in, they offered to upgrade to a better room for $20 p/ night. Gave us a key to check out the room. Well worth it.
Top floor(12th), wonderful view of the ocean from the nice balcony. Large bedroom & living room & full kitchen & washer/dryer.
All the staff were very nice. 5 minute walk to Maui brewing company.
The facility was not fancy but comfortable. I wish we had a week to stay instead of only 4 nights

Room Tip: Upgrade to higher floors for view of sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ohio_Sun_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just returned from a 10 vacation in Maui. I have to say that I was very pleased with the room that we were given. Our room #907 has a most wonderful veiw and it is fully updated. My husband purchased our trip through Costco and after seeing the resort he chose I was too very nervous about the dated rooms. The ladies at the front desk were more then wonderful to us making sure that we were happy with the room choice we were given before checking in and because it also is a down time in Maui you do have other rooms to look at. The room was perfect! Lot's of things are in walking distance. The beach was nice as we were entertained all day long by the many turtles in the water:) I would definitly be coming back and recomending the Royal Kahana. If your looking for condo choose here prices are good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laura w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,333 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
1.7 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 31 in Lahaina
1,123 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $128 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kahana 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing