We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is no better location on Maui!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kahana Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“There is no better location on Maui!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

We were able to do a time share swap into Kahana Beach Resort. We stayed here in 2006 so knew we wanted to return. The location right on the beach looking out between Lanai and Molokai is spectacular. The lobby is small as others have pointed out, but I would rather have this spectacular location than an elegant lobby! We have never minded the lack of staff after hours. The staff is friendly and always willing to help. We like the Murphy bed and find it to be comfortable. We are moving to the Westin for 2 weeks but only because that is where our time share swap put us, otherwise, we would be happy to remain at the Kahana Beach Resort - a small gem.

  • Liked — Location on great beach
  • Disliked — We can't think of anything. This is a no-frills great hotel.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank emacv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    124
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
73
168
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

Booked through timeshare trading company: Interval International. Was fortunate to get top floor, oceanview.
Had kitchenette and porch. Heard someone complain about having first floor unit near pool. Note: pool is small. Hallways on each floor are not enclosed meaning they are open to outside air. Maui seems overrated in general. Asked to see a STUDIO room at the Marriot and was pleased that our room at Kahana Beach was definitely larger with more amenities although Marriott's pool was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank integrity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

We exchanged a timeshare in Branson for two weeks at Kahana Falls. We exchanged a really nice three bedroom unit for a hotel type room but hey, this is Maui. It was clean, the staff was helpful, and it worked nicely as a place to come back to at nite. We actually spent relatively little time at the resort, being gone almost every day. But for us it worked well. It's not a destination resort but that wasn't what we expected. After seeing other reviews and seeing its ranking, we were apprehensive at first, but wound up being pleasantly surprised.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — no room, no beach
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jackpinesavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

We have stayed the last three years at Kahana Beach and are very pleased with the facilities. The view has always been fabulous! We have ALWAYS seen whales from the lanai. The sunsets are magnificent. The pool is adequate. The beach is fun. Like the bar-b-que area. The hot tub is not hot but comfortable. The staff have always been GREAT with us. Parking can at times be variable. My only real complaint would be the hard bed! I usually sleep on the couch. Several places within walking distance to eat.

  • Liked — The ocean front view, lania to whale watch,kitchenette,
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sh2moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

ok ok a lot of people are either too petty or really upset. If you want the truth hear me out. My husband and I stayed at Kahana and this was our 1st trip to Maui. The view was Awesome. The one pregnant chick seemed angry but i figure its just hormones and she was really nice once you spoke to her. Denelle was the Best!! She was the activities coordinator, even though you can get cheaper deals right down the street at Boss Frogs. The rooms were not bad. We had the Murphy Bed and it was ok not great but comfortable. The pull out bed was HORRIBLE. If you are going to share the room dont unless you dont mind feeling springs in your back all night. The houskeepers dont clean your room unless you're there for longer than a week, and there was a foul smell in the bathroom all the time. It was our honeymoon and it was great for us because we dont know any better but there are definately better places. Parking is horrible and theres not enough so you might have to park across the street. Overall out of 10 i would give the place a 6. Not great but not horrible. After all you're in Hawaii. One tip: if you dont have at least a thousand for food for a week, your out of luck or eating at McDonalds everyday. The place is beautiful but expensive! We averaged about 100 doallrs a night for dinner. (thats if you want to go to nice places) ex. hula grill, roy's, you know, romantic stuff.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolioPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

My husband and I really enjoyed our honeymoon here. We got the studio suite but it was a perfect size for us. It does have a Murphy bed, which was suprisingly comfortable. The kitchens are stocked with everything you need, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The ocean view was gorgeous and we woke up every morning to waves crashing on the beach.

  • Liked — The proximity of the beach and the oceanview
  • Disliked — You had to pay $10/day for internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wrongwayec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

After reading some very negative reviews about this hotel, my wife and I tried desperatly to change hotels at the last minute to no avail. We were afterall on our honeymoon! We arrived at the hotel shortly after 7pm on Sunday July 20th just in time to walk into our room and watch the last 2 minutes of the sunset from our balcony. We were worried about the murphey bed but found it to be comfortable. Check in and check out was very fast and easy. Parking is very limited, but we only had to park across the street one night. There is no food at the hotel but I reccomend you dont bother going to the Sands of Kahana restaurant, the food is very greasy. There are plenty of little restaurants and convinient stores in the vicinity and a Star Market about a mile away. If you want good pizza go to Pizza Paradiso in the Star Market plaza, slices are $4 on average but well worth it. Overall we had a good time at Kahana Beach Club. The pool left more to be desired, but the hotel is in a quiet location and the view of Moloke'i and Lana'i are spectacular.

  • Liked — Amazing oceanfront view
  • Disliked — the pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC071208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Property: Kahana Beach Resort
Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9399
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing