We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahana Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is my second stay at Kahana Beach and this review reflects two very good experiences. KB is a small property with only around 80 rooms. Every one has an ocean view, and it's a great one. The resort is right on Kahana beach, which is pretty but narrow. KB has the basic amenities- pool, jacuzzi (which hasn't worked since 2006, as best I can tell), barbecues, pool, chairs, etc. All of which are small but well kept. Always was able to get a chaise when looking for one. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. If you're looking for a great home base, convenient to Kaanapali, Kapalua and outside of the rush, this is it. If you need to be in a megaresort, or in the middle of the nightlife, probably not your best choice.
The rooms are mostly studios, which are hotel rooms on steroids. The 1BRs are few but enormous. You could sleep 20 people in here (but don't). Kitchens in both are well appointed, and beds are perfectly comfortable. Decor is timeshare-tiki, but you're not here for the furniture, right?
Overall, highly recommended for families and those seeking a laid back experience.

Room Tip: They're all good, but the 03+ room numbers have the most direct views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred_moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had an amazing ocean view from our studio room. The concierge staff were great! The murphy bed was ok, about what I expected from a murphy bed. Loved being right on the beach and the view was so spectacular! Even saw sea turtles every day! The hot tub didn't work but only tried to use it once. The property was very clean and updated.

Room Tip: I would choose a room away from the pool on an upper level. Our room was on the second floor right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We are thrilled you were impressed with the ocean view from your room at Kahana Beach Resort. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and location. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I read all the reviews and viewed the pictures of this "resort". My wife and I stayed 13 nights in room 305, ocean front, studio. We LOVED every minute, every day. This is not the traditional resort with flowery grounds and fiery lanterns, it is a simple place with minimal frills. Pool, BBQs hot tub, yes. Everything else is very close by. We had a studio room with a kitchenette which we used a lot and loved. Though the Murphy bed was not great it was more than adequate. I would stay here again in a heart beat. The staff was friendly and helpful. They did not force any timeshare presentation, was brought up but not pushed. I have stayed in much more lavish resorts and not enjoyed it as much as this. I wish I could convey how much we enjoyed our visit.
We watched daily as a large turtle ( at least 3 feet across) traveled across our ocean view, the funny thing was it would pass within 10 feet of people in the water and they would not even notice! My wife and I woul be yelling "TURTLE" from our balcony but they couldn't hear us. The first 3 nights we left the balcony door open, but after that we had to close it because the WAVES WERE TO LOUD! That is how close these wonderful rooms are to the water.
Thank you Kahana Beach Resort for an awesome vacation. Usually after 13 nights we would be more than ready to come home, even at the best resorts, but Kahana Beach became our home and we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Request ocean view prior to check in, it is only a request but if you are lucky enough to get it you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We are delighted that you loved every minute of your 13 night stay at Kahana Beach! We are glad our condo style accommodations were convenient and that our staff was friendly and helpful. Watching turtles travel across the ocean view right from your room sounds like a breathtaking experience. We greatly appreciate your compliments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for a week and booked 3 different rooms for our family. We stayed in the upper rooms which we requested. Only 1 had been renovated. We all had ocean front views and saw turtles go by every morning and then back again in the evening. We also saw many great sunsets. We could see Lana'i and Moloka'i from our balcony. It was great listening to the ocean waves crashing into the shore.
The staff were very friendly and they seemed to have plenty of parking spaces for their guests.
We were close to restaurants and other beaches.
They were doing some renovations during the day which did not bother any of the guests.
The only thing negative I have to say about this property are the murphy beds. I would have hoped they would have been more comfortable, but everyone in our group thought this was the only thing negative about the property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach. We are happy that you enjoyed our ocean front accommodations with the view of turtles and stunning sunsets. We appreciate your compliments about our staff as well as your feedback. We hope that you will consider returning soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Don't know where to start other than to say the Front Desk Agent by the name of (April)was beyond words can ever explain.She welcomed us with her heart the minute we walked to the desk.My husband and I traveled around the world and been to many hotels and resorts but never experienced the love and sweet spirit this front desk agent has.She took the time to ask us where we were from and helped us with our luggage because there were no housemen on property and refused a big tip we offered to give her.Almost everyday when we walked pass the lobby she greeting almost every guest that passed her desk and knew almost ever persons names.Its just the Love that we felt that really makes us wanted to go back.We also had the chance to go to one of the activities and a lot of owners mentioned her name of how sweet and caring she is.I even offered her a job because I do own a business company and we need people like her but she refused.April is definitely a keeper for your company and May God Bless her with all of her hard work!Way to go April!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your stay at Kahana Beach. We are thrilled that you had such a great experience with our staff from the moment you walked in. I will certainly be passing your compliments along to April. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great place to stay for a weeklong trip. Beautiful ocean view, close to lots of restaurants and stores. Go to the supermarket and stock up on breakfast foods and snacks; many of the restaurants on Front Street (tourist trap)are pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cswiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views. We hope you will return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We own a biannual week in a studio here but have always traded it... this year we decided to enjoy a week of whale watching in late March. I was nervous about the murphy bed but it was as comfortable as any bed we have enjoyed. Our 8th floor balcony gave us a front row seat to amazing sunsets, whale activity views from Lanai to Molokai and frequent pods not far off shore directly in front of us, and the most amazing ocean sounds 24/7! I got up once in the middle of the night to sit on the balcony and gaze at the full moon reflected on the ocean as it sank below the waves. Mornings were a treat with views of the sea turtles that would swim northward, parallel to the beach about 30 feet offshore... paddle boards are available to rent next door and the swimming is wonderful right here. Snorkling is not the best, but there are patches of reef/rock and fish to see. The kitchen was small but we bought fresh fish up the street and barbequed most nights. The fruit at the farmers market was delicious and we walked to Maui Brewery for happy hour - Coconut Porter is my favorite brew ever! And ... the property lei making activity was a treat... first time I've been invited to make my own beautiful, full lei for free! Thank you for a wonderful week on Maui... we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for beach facing and as high as possible... the 8th floor was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cllecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,607 reviews
1.9 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#14 of 43 in Lahaina
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range: $213 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing