We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahana Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Views Amenities”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for a week and booked 3 different rooms for our family. We stayed in the upper rooms which we requested. Only 1 had been renovated. We all had ocean front views and saw turtles go by every morning and then back again in the evening. We also saw many great sunsets. We could see Lana'i and Moloka'i from our balcony. It was great listening to the ocean waves crashing into the shore.
The staff were very friendly and they seemed to have plenty of parking spaces for their guests.
We were close to restaurants and other beaches.
They were doing some renovations during the day which did not bother any of the guests.
The only thing negative I have to say about this property are the murphy beds. I would have hoped they would have been more comfortable, but everyone in our group thought this was the only thing negative about the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach. We are happy that you enjoyed our ocean front accommodations with the view of turtles and stunning sunsets. We appreciate your compliments about our staff as well as your feedback. We hope that you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    128
    45
    24
    12
See reviews for
77
170
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Don't know where to start other than to say the Front Desk Agent by the name of (April)was beyond words can ever explain.She welcomed us with her heart the minute we walked to the desk.My husband and I traveled around the world and been to many hotels and resorts but never experienced the love and sweet spirit this front desk agent has.She took the time to ask us where we were from and helped us with our luggage because there were no housemen on property and refused a big tip we offered to give her.Almost everyday when we walked pass the lobby she greeting almost every guest that passed her desk and knew almost ever persons names.Its just the Love that we felt that really makes us wanted to go back.We also had the chance to go to one of the activities and a lot of owners mentioned her name of how sweet and caring she is.I even offered her a job because I do own a business company and we need people like her but she refused.April is definitely a keeper for your company and May God Bless her with all of her hard work!Way to go April!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your stay at Kahana Beach. We are thrilled that you had such a great experience with our staff from the moment you walked in. I will certainly be passing your compliments along to April. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great place to stay for a weeklong trip. Beautiful ocean view, close to lots of restaurants and stores. Go to the supermarket and stock up on breakfast foods and snacks; many of the restaurants on Front Street (tourist trap)are pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cswiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views. We hope you will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We own a biannual week in a studio here but have always traded it... this year we decided to enjoy a week of whale watching in late March. I was nervous about the murphy bed but it was as comfortable as any bed we have enjoyed. Our 8th floor balcony gave us a front row seat to amazing sunsets, whale activity views from Lanai to Molokai and frequent pods not far off shore directly in front of us, and the most amazing ocean sounds 24/7! I got up once in the middle of the night to sit on the balcony and gaze at the full moon reflected on the ocean as it sank below the waves. Mornings were a treat with views of the sea turtles that would swim northward, parallel to the beach about 30 feet offshore... paddle boards are available to rent next door and the swimming is wonderful right here. Snorkling is not the best, but there are patches of reef/rock and fish to see. The kitchen was small but we bought fresh fish up the street and barbequed most nights. The fruit at the farmers market was delicious and we walked to Maui Brewery for happy hour - Coconut Porter is my favorite brew ever! And ... the property lei making activity was a treat... first time I've been invited to make my own beautiful, full lei for free! Thank you for a wonderful week on Maui... we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for beach facing and as high as possible... the 8th floor was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cllecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
192 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As mentioned in our 4 star review of Kahana Villas, we had 2 units there and 1 unit at Kahana Beach. The room at Kahana Beach was booked though bookit.com. Room was on the 8th floor with beautiful view. When staying at Kahana Beach, it is about the view! A view you would pay at least twice as much for elsewhere!

Room was a studio with a Murphy style bed (pulls out of wall to give you more space). Had a 2 plate cook top, glasses, plates, refrigerator, and all the usual amenities. Nicely furnished.

Check in was quick, and staff were courteous. We would watch the sunrise from balcony, have a cup of coffee and then head over to one of the larger units at Kahana Villas for breakfast with friends. Katana Villas has the comfort of easily accommodating 6 people for get togethers, while Kahana Beach has the view! So we were fortunate to have the best that both Kahana Beach and Kahana Villas had to offer.

Kahana Beach has its own private beach, and is right next door to a very nice snorkel spot. Kahana Sands is right next door with a nice bar and restaurant. Between the three locations you have everything you could possibly want without spending a fortunate.

In reading the various reviews, we can understand why some folks were disappointed that they did not get the view they expected. However, as best as we were able to tell, every unit had a view of the ocean. Some more, some less, but all with views. Level of satisfaction depends on your expectations. We had no expectations, and we were pleasantly surprised.

The Kahana Beach is exactly as advertised and you will not or should not be disappointed. Trip Advisor rating is accurate. I am giving it 4 stars plus based on price, view and amenities, and would have given it 5 stars if I was not trying to compare it to the more expensive resort destinations.

One more important thing I forgot to mention in my Kahana Villa review. I do not know why Trip Advisor has a picture of an Econolodge Motel for the Kahana Villa. No such picture or facility exists. Compared to an Econolodge Motel, Kahana Villas is a 5 star resort. Having this photo does a disservice to the property and the Hardworking staff at Kahana Villas, and Trip Advisor should correct this. There is no Econolodge Motel, and that photo has absolutely nothing to do with Kahana Villas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Critics_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

When the big bird touches down at the Kahului airport , and we’ve collected our bags, and completed all the paperwork for our rental car, we find our favorite island radio stations and let the warm, gentle sounds of Hawaiian music wash over us. Now, it feels like home.

Our experience of the passage of time in the islands has always had that element of commonality over several dozen visits. What time is it? What day is it? Both questions are irrelevant.

We have been staying at the Kahana Beach Resort for several weeks, for a number of years. It remains a favorite of ours to this day, throughout its various iterations of existence and ownership. Our most recent stay was in November of 2012 in a very clean, well-maintained southwest corner studio apartment on about the eighth floor. It is a perfect ocean front room with a sweeping ocean view; one that allowed us to keep an eye on various sea creatures from our patio while sipping a leisurely cup of coffee or the odd snifter of Grand Marnier.

We enjoy the breath taking view. Molokai and Lanai appear in the distance. Life cannot get any better than this. It is difficult to sympathize with those who complain about not enough beachfront, or that the ocean is too close or too loud. It is true that the beach in front of the hotel is not very wide, but there is ample space to place your towel and celebrate the view as the sun sinks slowly into the Pacific.

The staff is always friendly and the people at the excursion desk are always available, and both are as close as the lobby. Swimming right in front of the hotel is great and excellent snorkeling and peering at neighboring fish and turtles is available a few paces from your doorstep. Life is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for this complimentary review of your stay at Kahana Beach Resort. We are thrilled to remain your favorite resort in Hawaii. We are happy that on your most recent experience your unit was clean, well-maintained and featured a perfect view of the ocean. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After reading these reviews, I knew to request an ocean front room. We arrived at the airport way before check-in (around 11am, check-in is at 4pm) and called the front desk to see if we could check in early and to request an ocean front room. They didn't have anything available at that time but said they would call us as soon as a room became available. About an hour later (just as we were leaving the airport in our rental car), the front desk called us back and said our room was ready - an ocean front room on the 2nd floor, room 205. We were thrilled. The room exceeded expectations. The view, I can't say enough about the view. I don't understand anyone who complains that there isn't enough beach or that the ocean's too close. The view is amazing. The beach is shallow, but there's plenty of room to lay out a towel and enjoy the view. There's great snorkeling just of the coast, and there are sea turtles just down the beach. The concierge at the hotel is extremely helpful. Tiffany helped us book all of our tours today. She is so knowledgeable and was able to give us details about differences between tours and luaus so that we could easily pick the ones we'd enjoy the most. I love this place. So far, this is the best vacation ever. If you love the beach, you won't regret staying here!

Room Tip: Request an ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Kahana Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at Kahana Beach. We are glad that you enjoyed fantastic views of the turtles and whales right from your room! Your description of the patio feeling like you were right on the water sounds truly breathtaking. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
3.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,941 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
1.4 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
1.9 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
1.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahana Beach Resort

Property: Kahana Beach Resort
Address: 4221 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9399
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kahana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahana Beach Hotel Lahaina
Kahana Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing