We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget-friendly & Comfortable”
Review of Paki Maui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paki Maui Resort
Ranked #29 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Budget-friendly & Comfortable”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I recommend the top floor - the breeze is constant and view (if applicable) is lovely. Our room was spacious and had a fully stocked kitchenette. The beds were comfortable, as was the sitting area. Loved having laundry facilities in the room as we used them daily due to the many beach trips. We utilized the shared grills in the pool area on several occasions. As beach lovers, I didn't expect that we would use the pool at all but it was so inviting that we made several trips down for a dip.

Tip: For the same Maui Gold pineapples you'll pay $6 across the street at the farmers market - grab a bunch for $2 from Costco on your way in. Also, the Times supermarket prices are comparable to Walmart therefore definitely not worth the trip to Kahalui for groceries, contrary to the advise from the front desk.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FabFamofFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha!

Thank you for sharing your comments! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    151
    73
    47
    67
See reviews for
161
174
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Cross the lawn that fronts the property, take ten steps down, and you are in the waters of the Pacific! True this is not Mile Marker 13, with its wide beach and gentle waves. But, there are two small natural break waters running parallel to the shore, and that creates small areas protected from the fury of the ocean.


The building is arranged around a quadrangle, with wonderful greenery and the sound of running water in the courtyard. Our room faced the courtyard, with a glimpse of the ocean from the lanai (guess the bigger resorts would call it a partial ocean view room)! The front door opens onto a view of the distant mountains. We were there in the mango season (May 2014), and the mango tree almost within reach if we leaned out was such a temptation.

The resort is very clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked, the internet is free. As the other reviewers have pointed out, the essential stores and restaurants are walkable. The property has a heated pool, spa and a barbecue area. Parking is plentiful, the staff friendly.

Definitely a place where you can relax and truly enjoy Maui.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1flytheskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha!

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay here at the Paki Maui. We appreciate it as we know that trips to Maui are very special. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

First I would like to say I traveled with my family including my husband and two children (son is 16, daughter is 11). This was our kid's first time to Hawaii but our second trip (however first trip was in 1997). The office staff were very friendly and accomodating. The propery location was beach front with double balcanies. We had two large bedrooms, two full bathrooms, dining room, large living room, and fully equiped kitchen (full size sink, stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender and all kitchen dishes and utensils). We also had a washer/dryer in our unit which was very convenient. There were plenty of cabinet and storage space throughout. We had easy access to the beach and to the pool/spa. The pool/spa area also had access to gas grills and outdoor seating/eating area. The decor was very modern, pleasant, and clean. There was a lot of natural light except in the one bedroom. We had daily light maid server also which was nice.It was very easy for our entire family to feel at home during our entire vacation.

The location was in Lahina and very close to several grocery stores and scheduled activites. Easy access to many public beaches with some walking distance. There was a dive shop directly accross the street where we could rent our snorkles and other equipment.

We particularly liked the large well-lit rooms in this rental with two balcanies. There was plenty of comfortable seating and nice decor. The fully equiped kitchen was a huge plus. We were able to save so much money by eating-in most of the time. The outdoor grills were huge plus also. We enjoyed several grilled meals eating-in. The view from our balcany was spectacular. We had many mornings viewing beatiful rainbow.

Our room was very close to the pool which resulted in some noisy conditions (kids playing in pool). It would have been nice to be farther from that noise. Although that was only an issue mostly at night. The mornings were very pleasant, peaceful and quiet off our balcany. Another downside is there was no A/C. It was quite cool in the evenings so opening doors helped. It would have been nice to have A/C to escape the high humidity at times. This was only a small negative for us. Although the TV's were high quality, it was somewhat small for the size of the living room. This is only small negative since we really didn't spend much time watching TV anyway. The Wifi didn't work initially, my husband disconnected and connected the router that was on our balcany then it worked fine the entire time.

All in all, we absolutely loved our rental and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Large rooms and fully equiped kitchen, view from balcanies
  • Disliked — noisy by pool and no A/C
  • Stayed June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha!

It was our pleasure to have you here at the Paki Maui. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was very pleased with the location of the complex and the staff was very friendly. They keep the site very clean, but the unit I stayed in could use an update. That being said it was still kept clean and well stocked. I'm also very happy I decided to go with the ocean front studio. The view is awesome from the bedroom/living area, as well as the lanai. For me there's really nothing like falling asleep to the sound of the ocean.

The properties location is great for days that you don't feel like driving anywhere. You have the properties pool and grass area overlooking the ocean, as well as a park/beach right next door. There's also good casual restaurants within a short walk and a nice local market across the street that has outdoor farmers markets in their parking lot, I think it was daily. Of course you do also have a few options for rental gear very close as well. The area is a bit north of the big hotels, but not too far for walking to the Kaanapali Ocean Walk for me (some may want to take the very short drive or cab ride). This gives a little bit more of a local feel to the area that I enjoy.

Overall I would recommend this to property to pretty much anyone, whether you're on a family or romantic getaway, younger or older. I think the Paki Maui, and location, has a little something for everyone. For the price that I stayed, compared to the others options in the area at the time, it was a very good deal.

I should note that although I loved the sounds of the ocean, which is why I went with the ocean front *studio*, you are close to the water at this location. So if you're a really light sleeper you may want to see if the 1 bedroom units have the bedroom toward the inside of the complex or bring ear plugs, the view is worth it.

Room Tip: All I can really say is go for the ocean front room. Mine was second floor, towards the middle of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha!

Thank you for taking the time to express your comments. We know that trips to Maui are very special and we look forward to your return back here at the Paki Maui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
177 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I had a difficult time picking a rating for this unit. The complex is decent sized and comes with a gated pool, covered lounge area and two grills. Also a number of lounge chairs on the lawn under the palms were nice. The ocean is accessible and there is some nice swimming and snorkeling areas, but no beach out front. But there is a beach in the park next door.

We had a room with a partial ocean view also near the street that caused some issues early on. The noise with the windows open was a bit unnerving but for a beach town its probably expected. Got used to it but also found that closing the windows helped the sound quite a bit and didn't seem to affect the cool air in the room. Beds were comfortable, sofa was OK and the sofa bed worked well too. Chairs where functional but not particularly comfortable.

Nice farmers market store and coffee shop across the street, also a few other restaurants. Plus an ABC store just down the street.

So in summary it worked out fine and provided what we needed. It's not a timeshare but could have been in the past. It's better than a hotel, hence the rating.

Room Tip: Rooms with a full ocean view also don't have a street exposure. The partial view will have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On_the_go_with_joe_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay and we are happy that you enjoyed yourself while you were here. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Warmest Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The only bad thing about this place is no AC. Other than that it was perfect. Gorgeous views, tons of parking. Two minute walk to ABC store, coffee shop across the street, everything is nice and close. Not a resort so it was very laid back. I would recommend this place to anyone, and will be back next time.

Room Tip: All have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Aloha!
Thank you for posting your wonderful comments about Paki Maui. My staff and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome you back to stay with us in the near future!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The rooms, property and staff are awesome! The condos are comfortable and roomy, the kitchen is stocked with everything you need, and the views are to die for. This is the only condo we stay at when we visit Maui.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaK808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Aloha!

My staff and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
0.3 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,073 reviews
14.5 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
531 reviews
14.7 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
1.4 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paki Maui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paki Maui Resort

Property: Paki Maui Resort
Address: 3615 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8996 (Formerly ResortQuest Paki Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paki Maui Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best oceanfront value on the Kaanapali Coast. Spacious suites, breathtaking views and an ideal location between the exclusive Kaanapali and Kapalua resort areas. Located next to the beach with guest suites encircling the interior garden atrium's soothing waterfall, this resort is a perfect place to relax and make new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paki Maui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Paki Maui Hotel Lahaina
Paki Maui Resort Lahaina
Resortquest Paki Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing