We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Golf course”

Kaanapali Golf Courses
Ranked #57 of 147 Outdoor Activities in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World-class golfing at the heart of Kaanapali Beach Resort, is home to the Senior PGA Tour EMC Kaanapali Classic.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Golf course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

It was a nice course, not too fancy, but the price was ok
we were hoping to find a better rate, but on the average it was usually around the $100.00

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    102
    44
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Give these a miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Well located courses with good views. Quite expensive and sadly they seem to just push people out there with little thought. We played both courses and saw at least 1x 5 ball each day. Play was extremely slow. It took us 5 hours for each round. The T's are in poor repair. It is the first golf course we have played in the USA (and we have played extensively over the years) that charges you for water. Lunch finishes at 2pm with only a snack menu at the bar until 5-30. We will not be returning.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichardPrice64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice course, great views and plenty of wind and slow play.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Royal Course at Ka'anapali is a really nice course. It's well groomed, nicely designed and has great ocean views (although you never get right next to the ocean). Rate of play is pretty slow. One round took me nearly 4:45. So, smile and remember you're playing golf in Maui and there's a good chance there's snow at home.

Besides the slow rate of play, the biggest other negative is that the beverage cart is almost non-existent. You may see it twice, but count on only once.

What's good? Lots. The views are fantastic. I particularly like the 13th green and 14th tee box. The greens are challenging with tough putts everywhere. The fairways and greens are in great shape - no dry grass or bald spots. If there's one bad place it's the tee boxes, which were hacked up pretty badly.

The cost is high for this course, but it's pretty expensive almost everywhere on Maui. Of the four courses I've played, I would definitely recommend the Royal Course.

I also played the Kai Course. It's easier than the Royal and I don't think that the views are as good, but the upkeep of the grounds is just as good. If you're a 20 handicapper or above, you may want to try the Kai Course first. The wind often comes into play - especially in the afternoons, so play early to avoid it. Greens are nice and not quite as difficult as the Royal.

Staff here is friendly and they have their act together. From the pro shop to the starter and employees helping with the carts, all are professional and easy to work with.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1960Corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My Favorite Maui Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

My favorite Maui course is the Kai course at Kaanapali. I've golfed it on two different visits. First it is in excellent condition, with emerald fairways. Second, most of the holes are across the street going up the mountain slightly, so you get great ocean views on several of the holes. This trip, I also golfed the Wailea Blue course, which was nice but had many brown patches on the fairways.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
“Well Run Courses and What A View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you like to golf, Kaanapali Golf Courses are great when it comes to views as well as being well run by all of their staff. The Kei course is challenging but the Royal course is more challenging. There is a good mix of holes on both courses, some with water and sand and some with just topographical challenges. The staff and starters are very helpful and friendly and if you need to be paired with other golfers they do a nice job of pairing folks up. They have various packages for multiple rounds and twilight rates are good, too. Want to play 36? The second 18 was only $39.00 when we visited. The views of Molokai and Lanai islands are worth the rounds.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaanapali Golf Courses also viewed

 

Been to Kaanapali Golf Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing