We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Japengo

Japengo
Reserve with OpenTable
Japengo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 263 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kaanapali Parkway
Transit: Take the Maui Public Bus to Whaler's Village and then a short walk along the boardwalk, to the Hyatt Regency Maui.
Description: Japengo is sophisticated dining destination on Maui, featuring world-class steaks, seafood, and sushi. Japengo blends fresh locally-grown ingredients with the exotic flavors of the Pacific Rim. Enjoy indoor and outdoor patio seating, a chic sushi lounge, and an indoor/outdoor lounge area. Happy hour daily and live entertainment every night. Free parking is available.Japengo has earned numerous awards including the 2013 Gold 'Aipono Award for Best Pacific Rim Restaurant on Maui, and 2013 Silver 'Aipono Awards for Best Seafood and Best Asian Restaurant on Maui.Every 2nd and 4th Saturday, Chef Jay shares his secrets in Japengo's Saturday Sushi School, an hands-on culinary class in the Sushi Lounge.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We ate here several times. The food was always great! Even without a reservation we always had great table with a spectacular view!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    244
    93
    40
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, New York
Level Contributor
242 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good place for a happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed the special lower prices on wine during happy hour and really enjoyed the appetizers that are offered during happy hour. It's like a tapas restaurant in that way. The bar and tables are in the open air. The actual restaurant is inside and beautifully decorated although we did not eat there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dancer735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Good But Not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a decent meal here. Got the seared ahi and spicy tuna/papaya rolls, as well as half an order of the salmon with miso sauce and the fried rice. The so-called half-portions would be a full entree at many other places....so we ended up not being able to finish everything. Everything was tasty but lacked the extra creative finish to make the entrees great. Service was good and the sunset breath-taking.

Helpful?
Thank Westcoastboy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thoroughly excellent pacific cusine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location overlooking the beach on Ka'anapuli (sp). My mother loved her food as did I. She was very happy and I found the steak, lamb and fish to be superb in every way. One does not usually expect such an outstanding experience in a resort hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant is a gem! The ambiance is incredible. The views are spectacular no matter where you sit. The food is incredible. And the service was outstanding! Kathleen was very welcoming and recommended nothing but the best. Bobby was our server and he made us feel so welcome. Very friendly! And Delfino was very attentive and professional. We will definitely be back and recommend this place to all our friends and family!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexraevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japengo also viewed

 

Been to Japengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing