We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner cruise on the Maui Princess” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lahaina Cruise Company

Lahaina Cruise Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.74*
and up
Maui Whale Watch Cruise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaii Ocean Project hosts whale watches and other exciting excursions aboard the Maui Princess, the Molokai Princess, the Lahaina Princess, the Prince Kuhio, and the Kaulana. Our vessels are large, stable, and comfortable, and they offer the best viewing available. Trained naturalists on board share their knowledge of the West Maui marine environment. Whether you prefer a guided day trip around the exotic island of Molokai, A snorkel tour of Molokini, following a pod of Dolphins around Lanai, or a sunset dinner cruise of the coast of West Maui, Hawaii Ocean Project can accommodate you with your Maui Ocean Activity. Our Mission is to provide you with the finest Maui Ocean Activities available. Not only do we offer the finest Dinner cruises on Maui and ocean tours off the coast of West Maui, as well as excursions to Maui's neighboring islands, we are proud our services promote and support marine research and promote the education of Hawaii's marine eco system.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner cruise on the Maui Princess”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Unfortunately, this was a disappointing experience. I took two friends, one who was on her first trip to Maui. The boat was a mess, nothing like the photo on the brochure. Old and well-used, and going through the lower deck to access the head was an experience I don't care to repeat. The food and service were okay, the crew worked hard, but that couldn't make up for the negatives. Each passenger was given 2 drink tickets, plus received a free Mai tai upon boarding. The Mai tais were not good, very weak and sour. Entertainment (music) was also just OK. Very disappointing for the price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mlwheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    11
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Pricey Molokai Trip; Depends on Your Interests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our third trip to Maui, and we had often been intrigued by the island of Molokai which stands prominently about 15 miles to the west. So, we decided to throw our budget to the winds and book the 1-day tour package. Our reactions were mixed. First of all, it needs to be said that the service all along the tour was excellent both on the boat and then, especially, during the 5-6 hour guided van tour. The tour-van driver/conductor, Rudy, was really superb. He kept up a non-stop banter of information, jokes, songs, insights, and anecdotes that kept us informed and entertained throughout. If one's objective is to learn about Molokai in all of its unique facets, then the tour will be a very valuable experience.
Many had commented to us on the beauties of the island. The most beautiful part of the tour was a visit to an overlook of Father Damien's leper colony. The viewpoint is a couple of thousand feet high and one can see not only the "colony" but the beautiful cliffs that surround it. Otherwise, the drive/tour was pretty much along the south side of the island, which does not differ much from the west side of Maui in its dryness and topography. The main town in Molokai, around which the tour is centered - 10- 20 miles each way - is relatively non-descript. People may be aware of the impressive cliffs that characterize the northern side of Molokai, but there are no developed roads in this beautiful area and this tour does not go there. So, there may be disappointment -- especially for those who have paid the $560/couple fee (all inclusive including boat transportation and lunch). One caution: when the wind is up in the channel between Maui and Molokai, which happens often in the late afternoon in September/October, the seas are very rough -- be forewarned if you are prone to sea sickness. Our crossing back from Molokai to Maui was very rough and bouncy for the 1:45 minute boat ride (it's a large boat) and there was some serious queasiness on board.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SenorGregorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Molokai Alii Tour from Lahaina Cruise Company, Hawaii Ocean Project”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have read nearly all of the reviews on the Molokai Alii Tour and this one is the most accurate:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60634-d1997539-r130069724-Lahaina_Cruise_Company-Lahaina_Maui_Hawaii.html

Thank you LarryandBettyM from Dallas for allowing my wife and I to laugh like hyenas at your perfectly apt description of the tour. Most of us would rather laugh than cry and now that our vacation is a mostly pleasant memory, we can laugh at the wasted day.

During our lovely week and a half on the Hawaiian Islands, we took six tours/activities ranging from Kayaking to Biking down Waimea Canyon in Kauaii (you can see my reviews of all of our activities on Trip Advisor). Speaking of Trip Advisor, I wish we had known about the review feature before we took our vacation. It would have allowed us to use this day to better advantage.

In conclusion, essentially because there is nothing there, there (on Molokai) - we recommend that you remain on Maui, save your $400, and enjoy any number of things the island has to offer (including reading a book or drinking Mai Tais by the hotel pool).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lincoln2douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun morning snorkeling - and we swam w/turtles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Captain Dave and crew were terrific. They were patient with us first-timers. Two stops (#2 was better). Saw turtles! They grilled lunch on the boat. All in all, a worthwhile time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karenbrown21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“First timer...most amazing sights!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Anyone complaining about this cruise just plain needs to learn to appreciate the amazing art God has created! Wonderful food and super funny Captain. Their crew is beyond helpful and I couldnt ask for a better experience!!! I will go each time we come back to Maui!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsnimako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahaina Cruise Company also viewed

 

Been to Lahaina Cruise Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing