We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth visiting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Jack's Island Grill

Captain Jack's Island Grill
Ranked #27 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Captain should be happy. We found the food to be excellent, the service good and the prices normal. This is a fun place to go to listen to good music and have a good meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    384
    92
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food - Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Right on Front Street in Lahaina. Overlooks Front Street and the Banyan Tree. Good food and drinks. Reasonable prices. Fun Atmosphere. Also, a nice bar, and big screen TVs if you want to keep up with a game.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJFHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So good we went back twice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our party of 9 was having difficulty finding reservations one evening in Lahaina. A Trip Advisor search brought up Captain Jack's. On a whim we called and they said they were busy but would get us a seat somehow. They had us set up before we even got there! Megan, our server, is hands down the best one we've ever had. She handled out tough group with grace, humor and just the right amount of sass. Please ask for and you will be glad you did. The food: Absolutely excellent for the price in a pricey and competitive beach town. The Philly cheese steak, the Rueben sandwich, the burger were fantastic. The fish tacos were made with fresh Ono and were to die for. We highly recommend Captain Jack's when you need a relaxing, excellent meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SDTNAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasco, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

I loved the blue cheese wedge salad with blackened fish...so good! Their service and staff do a great job—super friendly. You can watch the world go by listening to "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" or whatever other good music there is.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathymcc613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Big Messy Cheesesteaks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

After doing some shopping one night, we went with our friends for a late night dinner at Captain Jacks. My buddy and I were craving cheesesteaks after hearing about them. Good menu of various tropical drinks and some live music playing, followed by a couple big sandwiches. Really tasty and the wives were also able to find some healthier salad options. Overall, enjoyed the food at some decent proces.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SilkyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Jack's Island Grill also viewed

 

Been to Captain Jack's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing