We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Kept Secret in Lahaina!”

Ono Kau Kau Mixed Plate
Ranked #86 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a new restaurant that just opened on September 24, 2010
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Lahaina!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've spent the past five weeks on Maui, enjoying all the island has to offer, including at least a dozen different restaurants. We have come to realize that this tiny, unassuming restaurant has some of the best Schezwan Chinese food we've eaten anywhere in the country! The Kungpao Scallops at $13.95 were out of this world! And there was more than enough for two adults to share. Service was excellent. There is no alcohol served, and no desserts offered, however the menu is quite varied. Ono Kau Kau offers everything from breakfasts, hamburger and fries lunch, Hawaiian Mixed Plate, as well as an extensive array of traditional Chinese food. Highly recommended, especially if you are vacationing on a budget.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    87
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Get the french fries”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The mixed plates were delicious, but the fries were worth going back for over and over. This place is just two blocks from Makani Sands, where we stayed, so it was very convenient. There is also a nice little park between the condo and the Ono Kau Kau, which is a nice place to sit and eat. Also seating inside at the restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jj4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't see the appeal”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thought we might get a decent local experience. Instead we just had some really bad food. Sadly, there is not much I can say good about the food but the service was good and it was prepared quickly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kikitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“salty but tasty”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We enjoyed a mixed plate that featured the curry, bbq shortribs and bbq chicken. The bbq chicken was the same chicken that was in my kids' plate of chicken chow mein. Both the chicken and the shortribs seemed to have been marinated similarly (soy sauce, sugar, plenty o garlic). Salty but tasty! My favorite was the curry, which i probably would have missed out on if my husband had not ordered. My husband and i split the mixed plate and we were both stuffed. The plate of chow mein was huge for 2 toddlers so we had plenty leftover. I enjoyed the meal but if you are sensitive to salt (as my husband is) then this might not be for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ells449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Almost walked past...glad we didn't”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very small, but clean and the food was great. We all had plate meals and all were great. Large portions and would have to rank within top three resturants we've tried...and by far the least expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ono Kau Kau Mixed Plate also viewed

 

Been to Ono Kau Kau Mixed Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing