We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOCAL & WONDERFUL”

Ono Kau Kau Mixed Plate
Ranked #87 of 262 Restaurants in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a new restaurant that just opened on September 24, 2010
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LOCAL & WONDERFUL”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ate there 3 or 4 meals this last trip to Maui. It's the taste of Hawaii that all must experience. It's location on the beach with the ocean singing is our favorite!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crisjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    87
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best coffee on Maui!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place was truly eclectic and the people who worked there were very friendly and accommodating. The coffee was delicious and the food was prepared by their own chef and awesome!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ivab312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mixed Plate Hurray”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Love the mixed plates in Maui. This was our first experience and we are not disappointed. There is a lot of food involved, and it is not too expensive. Had pork wrapped in taro leaves, fish in seaweed, and one other sweet pork dish. Comes with rice and macaroni salad. Delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
230 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“not good.. kalua pork or ono garlic fish”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Looking for a fast take out in the neighborhood. The reviews were good, so thought we would try it. ugh.. we threw our food out and tried another local spot. Pork had lots of fat.. the fish was tough.. rice no flavor..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank daffofils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average food...pushy, rude help”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Being an above average visitor to the islands, I think I'm a pretty good judge of local food. This place is so-so, not bad but definitely not the best. If you're looking for a quick, cheap bite to eat and your standards are not very high, then eat here. Otherwise, I can think of better places to get some good grinds. But what really stands out about this place are the rude ladies behind the counter. I don't think they really know what customer service means...they are pushy and think they know what you like. Go down the street to Honokowai Okazuya

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surferboyLaHabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ono Kau Kau Mixed Plate also viewed

 

Been to Ono Kau Kau Mixed Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing